We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A South African Experience”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A South African Experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

While the hotel location, decor & facilities where of highest quality, what really made this business stay a memorable experience was the very friendliness and willing to have a talk nature of all the the staff. It just felt that that you were surrounded by friends and not 10,000km from home in a hotel never visited before. Highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The only difference would be rooms with a view particularly overlooking Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ian R
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. My team and I are absolutely delighted that you were made to feel welcome and at home in our beautiful Hotel as well as enjoying the decor, location and facilities.
We hope you will make the 10 000km journey to us soon where we can once again share our genuine hospitality with you.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    236
    88
    27
    20
See reviews for
109
284
59
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

i`m staying at the Michelangelo at the recommendation of a workmate who has stayed here before. I was keen on experiencing how staying in a hotel within the proximity of a busy business district would feel like and the experience has been rich and intense. Room 2010 overlooks the foodcourt yard cum entrance to Sandton`s shopping mall and every evening has been a breathe of fresh air walking up and down people within the mall and its environs

If anyone is reading this from the management, kindly change the hotel`s policy and provide FREE internet like other hotels with the same day rate for a 5 star hotel- example -Peermont Dorieale where ive previously stayed on similar visits

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are stationed on the lower floors; I stayed in room 2010 which overlooks the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Awori Y
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled your experience has been rich and intense and we have sent you a letter in connection with the wifi.
Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to ensure a more comfortable and memorable stay with us.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was my first trip to South Africa and I was invited out by a work colleague to enjoy a typical South African fine dining experience. As the trip coincided with my birthday, the colleague asked the staff in the restaurant to present her birthday gift to me and welcome me to SA. I was delighted and surprised by the effort they made in the presentation of the gift and the very warm welcome they extended to me. It certainly got my South African trip off to an exciting start! Between the amazing food and the outstanding service, I would most certainly make a point of returning to this restaurant on my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Midgie T
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful birthday with us.
We hope to see you in the near future again.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the one of the best hotels I have seen in South Africa,
it is perfectly located in the city and stunningly beautiful inside

The staff is professional and very helpful, the place is clean, neat and beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the most important its quite when you need to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franscois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Franscois N
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hello,
Reception: Excellent
Hotel: internal view gives you the impression that you are inside a palace. It is an outstanding design.
Room service: Outstanding (the room is cleaned up twice a day)
Gym: lovely staff
Swimming pool: heated which suitable for any wheather which is changing in South Africa
Room: the internal design is a mix between historical and new fashion style. You can only enjoy it. Ask for a room with a view on Mandella square. Early in the morning, just open your window and get fresh air which you can enjoy with free Tea/Cookies.
Food (Piccolo Mondo Restaurant): Excellent. I also got a take away pack for my work ( free before 6h30am) with a nice pack. You can also ask waiter to pack stuff for you while having breakfast. Try to dine close to the wondow with a view on Mandella Square. There is another excellent restaurant next to the Hotel's Reception named "Boukhara" where you can eat excellent meals (Butter Chicken Mild, ....).
Transport Services: Lovely drivers. Do not miss the opportunity to get Dave and Loliwe as drivers. Eith Dave (David), you learn the art of life.

Room Tip: My quote: if you want to refresh yourself, live as king with your life partner, or be well treated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mounire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mounire B
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments posted on Trip Advisor. Your review inculcates in my team and I great pride and serves to further motivate us all to continue sharing our genuine hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have eaten in the restaurant before, so as we were flying out the next morning we decided to stay at the hotel rather than at the airport. The hotel is lovely the staff really can't do enough for you and you can go shopping and walk around the square it's really nice.

The restaurant unfortunately messed up my steak twice, which was a let down, but the hotel is in a great location and 10 minutes by train to the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a suite that doesn't look out onto ugly buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JillyB371
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and will certainly ensure that where necessary we improve on our overall product.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here as part of a conference. Old world service and charm. Great location right onto Mandela Square near exceptional restaurants. Also, very secure and safe.

Rooms large with split level from bed area to sitting area. Decor very colonial and bathroom classical. Overall great place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Dean D
Thank you for your kind feedback posted on Trip Advisor. It's wonderful to see you appreciated our service, location and decor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing