We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our kids had organised a party with friends and we were evicted for the night. We spent the night at the Michelangelo Hotel and it was great. Everything in the room was perfect,The linen was the best.best. Mbali served us breakfast the next morning and it was one of the best breakfast in Gauteng and her service was impeccable.I can certainly recommend the hotel for your next stay in Sandton.

Room Tip: the rooms are all great but the passage is long so it depends on your preference.We liked the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bredenoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Bredenoord
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review. We are delighted that your stay was a memorable one and that your kids managed to have a successful party in the process! We will certainly share your comments with the team in general and Mbali in particular.
We hope your kids have another party soon and look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    233
    87
    27
    20
See reviews for
107
284
59
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have now stayed in this hotel for 1 week and have another week to go. I normally write the reviews near the end of my stay or after I have left. This hotel is just disappointing in so many ways, however its just not bad enough to change hotels.

The rooms are OK looking dated and tired they are in need of a refresh.

The Bare Minimum seems to sum up this hotel very well. It seems all the staff do the Bare Minimum to keep their jobs. From housekeeping with their quick refresh of the room each day, to the breakfast restaurant staff that just want to present a receipt to be signed for ZERO rand just to get a tip when it is a help yourself buffet service mostly.

To reception staff that even once told there is a guest waiting to talk to one, are still hiding out the back for 10 more minutes (I walked away after the 10 min).

The good thing about the hotel is the location, however there are other hotels in the same area which are similarly priced (or cheaper) where the service is better. I would suggest the Intercontinental or the Sandton Sun. Or the DaVinchi. Use the Michelangelo as your last resort if you cannot get into the others. I would change but things are not quite at the state where the hassle in changing hotels would be worth it.

Room Tip: The room walls are very thin, so any near a heavily traffic inside the hotels is to be avoided. I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feanorq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Feanorq8
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our apologies for the service deficiencies you have thus far encountered. I assure you this is not our usual standard and these issues have been addressed.

However we must reiterate that the signing of the breakfast bill is a procedural standard for us to keep track of all guests who have had breakfast with us.

Our management team and reception staff are available via telephone and all the relevant extensions are presented in our in room Guest Directory located on your desk. We invite you to contact a member of our team in order to assist you and immediately rectify concerns that you may have.

We wish you a pleasant stay for the remainder of your time with us and please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Desk on extension 7064 or myself directly should you require any further assistance.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed here on a number of occasions in recent years and quality of services is very good. The staff have always been attentive and friendly, especially the concierge. will definitely return when i next back in the country

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gary T
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your feedback in particular your comment regarding our Concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights for business. I don't often review hotels unless they really make an impression - I really loved this hotel in every way. It is attached to a large mall, and surrounded by terrific restaurants and other entertainment is you need/ want it ( like casino, cinema). The hotel can arrange transport that is safe and very comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel are very attentive, friendly and approachable. Rooms are very comfortable and luxurious and the gym and pool were really good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonikins81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Toni T
Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and staff and are delighted your stay was a pleasant one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A huge hotel right on Mandela square. With it's old charm, it's comfortable and luxurious. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. The wifi is just ok, you have to constantly reconnect. No irons in the room, but the staff will press your clothes upon request. Great bar downstairs and good breakfast. Overall great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Branchlikeatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Branchlikeatree
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for your comment regarding our staff and rooms. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the Michelangelo. Amazing rooms and very central to everything. Would recommend it to business people as it is within walking distance of the Gautrain and the ICC in sandton JHB

Room Tip: Rooms have mini bar that is very expensive . Rather walk down to the square and enjoy the vibe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcSizeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear MarcSizeland
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Thank you for a ensuring our recent stay in Joburg was a memorable one.
What made the stay so comfortable apart from the obvious luxurious surrounds and amenities was most definitely the level of service shown to us by the staff.
Every point of contact with the staff at the Michelangelo exceeded our expectations.
From Elmarie in reservations to the team in valet, Ashley, Doreen and the team on the front desk to the attentive housekeeping staff who could not do enough to ensure we had a truly special stay.
If only all hotels not only in Joburg but worldwide could have such genuinely friendly, attentive and professionally trained staff.
We thank you and will continue to recommend this property to anyone who needs to stay in Joburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITNyathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear T T
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the entire team, I extend our gratitude for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that your overall experience was a positive and memorable one and that your expectations were exceeded. Furthermore thank you for mentioning our staff in general and in particular Elmarie, Doreen and Ashley.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to again sharing our genuine hospitality with you.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing