We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great standard, nice staff”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great standard, nice staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel is less than 5min-walk from Gautrain station Sandton which only takes about 15mins to get here from the airport. Both the hotel and staff were very nice, I had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and was very happy with a wide range of breakfast options. The bar downstairs has a nice ambience with a fish pond right next to it. I have also used the Business Centre which was available 24h and hasn't required any passwords, there's also a printer available if needed. I'd recommend staying here on business as it can be a bit 'stuffy' if you're here with friends on a 'fun holiday'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear JustaPL
Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    233
    85
    27
    20
See reviews for
103
280
59
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent two nights here introducing my newest kiddo to his Johannesburg family. It is perfectly located for everyone to come to us to meet the bub. At first they put us in a room that was small and overlooking the taxi rank but we complained and then they moved us to a lovely room overlooking the square. the wonderful Bell boy, Patrick, went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel is really luxurious and the staff is fantastic, making our short JHB stay a really relaxing and easy one with our baby.

Room Tip: if you are not 100% happy with your room, ask for a better one. you won't get if you don't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dallia B
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your stay was a memorable one and that Patrick in particular made your stay extra special.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here in March of this year and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel. As someone who has visited over 30 countries this means something to me. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. The ensured that we were comfortable and went above and beyond what was expected. I swear this is the last hotel in the world that still puts chocolate on your pillow. Even though breakfast was a buffet the staff served you. I have never been treated so well. Buto n top of that the location is spectacular. You are right at a great mall with lots of shopping ofr all people and as a plus sized girl I know how hard it is to find my size. I also think the price on this place was more than fair. People you have got to stay here

Room Tip: All of them seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelergirl998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Travelergirl998
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
It truly is wonderful to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. As a guest who has stayed in over 30 hotels, your comments serve to further motivate our team to continue delivering service which meets and exceeds guests expectations and your review is a testament to this.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here, as my partner was on business. Staff are all extremely friendly, well presented and helpful. Room was on the small side, but had everything we needed, with a nice balcony view of the city. Bathroom very nice. Common areas very clean, quiet and posh. Spa had a good selection of treatments, and is within the hotel. Hotel is located right inside Nelson Mandela's square, and in the Sandton city mall - both great places to visit. Plenty of places to eat around you, you certainly don't have to have a car to stay here! I hope to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sarah14387
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled your stay was a memorable one and that you found our staff to be "extremely friendly, well presented and helpful"
We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Michelangelo Hotel in Santon is by far the best city hotel I ever stayed in. If I could I would gave them 7 stars. Their service and attention to detail is unbeatable. I found all staff extreamly friendly, helpfull and very well trained. The food is of outstanding quality. It is ideal for business meetings and is very well situated and just a 5 min walk from Stanton Gautrain station. If you can afford to stay there you will not be dissapointed!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hannes N
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and will be sure to share these with the entire Michelangelo Hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location in Johannesburg could not be better , overlooking Nelson Mandela Square whilst having breakfast was ideal . Being on top of the best shopping mall in town was a nice plus as well and a dozen good restaurants were within a couple of minutes walk .
The rooms were spacious enough but the furnishings looked a little tired . I do not recall seeing an iron in the room , which I thought unusual for a hotel of this standard . Overall , though , it was an enjoyable experience and all the staff were helpful and friendly .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Frank R
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo. From the friendly staff to the best breakfast we've ever had, it was truly a memorable experience. The ambience throughout the hotel was lovely. The rooms are elegant but do need a bit of refurbishment. Other than that it was a great stay overall. Thanks for taking such great care of us...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kubashni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Kubashni07
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your experience was a memorable one and that you enjoyed our breakfast in particular.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing