We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hyde Park Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyde Park Villas
Ranked #3 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A lovely clean, well maintained and secure home away from home. It's well located near to Sandton, has lush gardens, full-time security guard, lovely gardens, excellent rooms and a delightful breakfast room and breakfast offering. Jackie is a friendly hostess who is very attentive. Another huge bonus for a businessman is free WIFI as part of the room price, brilliant! I certainly will be staying there again when on business again in JHB.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffaguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
31
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hyde park villas is a lovely, very well maintained B&B. The proprietress, Jackie is thoughtful, helpful and all-around charming. The accommodations are beautifully maintained. The breakfast table is well stocked and the kitchen staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hyde Park Villas was a comfortable and trustworthy place to stay in Sandton. My favorite part was the covered outdoor patio which allowed you to read a book without burning in the hot African sun. The staff were very trustworthy and returned items to us that we accidentally left in our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This little peace of heaven just outside Johannesburg Centre is a real recommendation for anyone visiting J'Burg.
If not for the peace and quiet, then surely for the lovely hostess, who makes you feel welcome, true British style.
Next to the excellent breakfast, and the nice rooms, the service was impeccable.
With her extensive knowledge about J'burg, she managed to provide us with a lot of useful things to do, even if we stayed only 1 day.

In short, an excellent place from which to explore Johannesburg, or for business travelers who are staying for their meetings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 193Kathleen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed for one night at Hyde Park Villas and I has a great stay. The employees are very nice and they would help you anytime you need something. I had a problem with my flight ticket to go back to France and the owner helped me 2 minutes after my arrival at this place. She is very nice. She even drove me to the airport the next morning to solve my problem after a very good breakfast. I really recommend this place if you don't know where to stay in Joburg. The room was clean and very confortable. I will go back there for sure ! Perfect location also. One of the best place I stayed during my 3 months stay in South Africa. Thank you for this wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bereng26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Having a Johannesburg wedding and needing to accommodate family and friends from all over, Hyde Park Villas was close and convenient. All those who stay there were we're delighted with the accommodation, friendly service and delicious breakfast. They were helpful And a pleasure to deal with. Many thanks

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hideaway is nestled a stone's throw away from Gibs School of Business in Rosebank, exquisite surroundings and ambience. Location is perfection if you are working or visiting the Sandton or Rosebank area, without being drawn to the city lights and pressures. i was pleasantly surprised by everything great about this establishment, from the room decor to the TV settings and the communal areas. I was allocated Room 5 which had a patio sitting area outside its balcony and the bathroom also had its little space outside, just the sheer size of the room and the couch for you to sit on while you either watch TV or work on something. Ok be careful the fridge is too well stocked for me, but really great and the breakfast and service amazing!! Lovely spot! The honesty bar is next to a cookie jar with some good treats and my room was next to this temptation!! I certainly had wonderful problems!!

Room Tip: I was allocated Room 5, I liked it, I havent seen other rooms, but this was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
2.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Villas

Property: Hyde Park Villas
Address: 28b Third Road | Hyde Park, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyde Park Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyde Park Villas is an exclusive guest house, conveniently situated in the heart of the leafy suburb of Hyde Park, within close proximity to the Central Business District of Johannesburg and on the southern edge of the Sandton CBD. This upmarket guest house caters for corporate guests as well as leisure-seeking tourists who are visiting Johannesburg. Set in peaceful and secure grounds, Hyde Park Villas is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyde Park Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Villas Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing