We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The newly renovated Hotel in Sandton is the place to stay when traveling to the area. The shuttle transfer from/to the Gautrain and to Mandela Square was perfectly organised. When arriving early the hotel offers a lounge where you can have drinks, food and even take a shower.
The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. I am traveling a lot on business worldwide and have never experienced a faster WIFI in any other hotel. The restaurant is fantastic, service very friendly and great variety of food and wine. No question was unanswered and no wish not fulfilled. I wish i could find more hotels like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenhelga71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that we meet all your expectations. The Maslow team appreciates your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    273
    71
    23
    14
See reviews for
66
166
34
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was pretty impressed by the Maslow. The service is efficient. The rooms are really neat, modern, with a lot of amenities (the coffee machine and coffee capsules are a nice gesture).
Excellent Bfast, great gym and all around professional staff as well. The free shuttle to the convention center or the shopping centers is an added bonus. Will definitely stay there again at my next visit in Joburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for making time to review our hotel. Our staff are delighted to hear that they helped in making your stay a pleasant one, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found this hotel to be very good and was very trendy. The hotel only opened in November 2012. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Although the staff at breakfast were a tad disorganised.
The free shuttle to the Gautrain was excellent and they also picked up up from the Hilton Hotel as we dropped our car rental off there.

Our room was really good with a coffee machine and the designs of the rooms were very trendy. Not sure about the shower if sharing with a friend or someone you are not intimate with as you can see straight through the glass.

My only complaint is the hotel fills up with the hip crowd on Firday nights and the bar and restaurant is busy. As our room looked over the carpark on the 2nd floor we were woken in the earlier hours by people leaving to go home.

Otherwise I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Also they provide and area for late checkout and you can have a shower to freshen up

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower rooms overlooking carpark, especially on Fridays nights and weekends. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on your stay with us, we are always delighted to hear that a guest had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. Management is currently putting processes in place to control access into our bar and also the noise levels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow soon.

Kind Regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trezzo sull'Adda, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I lodged here in September and I was really surprised about the quality of this hotel. Service is really good, staff is friendly and very collaborative, especially the managers, Miss Lynn on top of all, she's always friendly, smiling and always at your fingertips. The breakfast is good and you can find really what you need for your breakfast. Rooms are nice, full equipped, with a wonderful bathroom, the only complaint is about the toilet brush, it was missing in my room and also in the room of my colleague. When I asked about, they told me that the are not putting toilet brush in the rooms!!! and I didn't get it during all my stay, really strange!!! but apart of this, I will suggest to lodge at The Maslow, during your stay in Joburg. The atmosphere is really good and during my next trip to Joburg, I will definitively lodge there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your valuable comments. I have passed on your comment to Lynn and she really appreciates it. We have noted your comment about the toilet brush and our Housekeeper is looking into the issue. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maslow in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visiting on business, this hotel was chosen for me by someone else.

When I arrived, I was very pleasantly surprised. I was able to check in very early (appreciated after a 12 hour flight) and I had breakfast at the hotel.

I have four main things to comment on:

Design - the hotel is very new and cool. It looks amazing now, but I wonder if this means it will look dated in 5-10 years time. Who cares though, looks great now!

Rooms - mine was not big by any standards, but was VERY comfortable. Shower was amazing and complimentary Molton Brown toiletries is always a nice touch.

Staff - this was the best bit. All the staff I came across were absolutely first-rate, especially those in the restaurant. They were smiley, friendly, polite and helpful.

Food - breakfast was brilliant. Menu at other times of day was limited in choices but what I did have was excellent. The fried squid was as good as I've ever had.

So if you need somewhere to stay in Sandton, you can do a lot worse than this place. In fact, I would look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased to hear that our team met your expectations during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Africology Spa at the Maslow Hotel bang in the middle of the Sandton business and retail district is a sexy gem of a Spa and rightly deserves the accolades received at the 2013 World Luxury Spa Awards.

Located on the First Floor of the Maslow hotel and accessible without having to throng through the Public areas of the hotel. On entry one immediately feels cocooned in a luxurious space that is light filled and decorated in elegant subdued grey and silver hues. The furnishings are lush, comfortable and inviting, the product displays sophisticated and alluring. The entire Spa is filled with appropriately positioned crystals ranging in size and shape from round palm sized to robust stand-up rock formations and also mounted versions in magnificent hues making discreet but effective statements.

Service and attention at the Reception area headed up by the highly capable Mellisa is warm, efficient and professional. Despite being an in-house hotel guest they were not able to grant me an appointment due to my last minute booking but they rapidly compensated by offering me a Rasul treatment on the house so that I could at least sample the service levels and get a feel for the overall atmosphere of the Spa.

The Spa is extensive with good flow and also included is a large outside terrace for relaxation and taking in the Highveld sunshine. I generally seek out the relaxation room of a Spa as this space is normally where décor expression can take free run. This Spa did not disappoint, loungers were long and deep, reading material prolific, up to date and diverse and the individual bespoke beverage service presented with great style. Combined these two areas will lend themselves fittingly for Corporate Wellness Days or small tailor made functions.

I did not have a treatment so cannot comment on personalised service delivery by the therapists. However, given the level of unobtrusive but dutiful attention delivered by these “health care consultants” as they are referred to I have no doubt there would be no shortcomings what so ever.

This is a Top Class Spa with a unique stamp of individuality. There are diverse offerings including a Rasul Chamber, a sizeable bubbling multi-seater Jacuzzi, a dry Sauna as well as a Steam Room and expansive Hydrotherapy areas offering hot cold therapies. This includes a unique pebble infused chilled foot bath acting as a relaxer/massager challenging the innate healing ability of the body but beware this is not for the faint-hearted. Manicure and Pedicure stations boast state of the art seating and soak arrangements.

Prices are competitive and given the extremely professional service and stylish space one can be assured of a pampering and blissful experience. This Africology Spa is well worth a visit. Be warned though as you enter this Spa time melts away with such ease that it is worth booking at least half a day slot to enjoy this sexy haven to the fullest.

Room Tip: Be warned as you enter this Spa time melts away with such ease that it is worth booking at least a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review on our spa. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Your review has been shared with all the team members and we look forward to welcoming you back for a pampering experience.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked this as we had an early arrival from the UK and were off on safari the next day, so just needed a pit stop and a rest.

We took the train from Jo'burg airport - which is cheap, very safe and super fast - traffic at that time of day can be horrendous so recommended. There is then a courtesy transfer or you could take a taxi. We decided to walk which isn't a great idea with cases!!

They didn't have a room ready straight away but we used the lounge whilst housekeeping rushed us a room. This was no problem for reception even though we were way before check in! If not then there are showers available in the lounge which is a huge bonus - we could have showered and headed out if an early check in wasn't possible.

The room was spotless and well appointed with a good shower and bed.

We then took the Gautrain to Park and did the City Sightseeing tour - recommended to get a quick flavour of the city if you're just in transit like we were.

In the evening we had a couple of cocktails in the bar which were well made and reasonably priced.

Sadly there was a last minute change to our pick up time in the morning so we couldn't have breakfast but that looked great too.

A very good if short stay for us and I'd not hesitate to return to the Maslow should I be in SA again.

Room Tip: Our room had a glass shower so no privacy from the bedroom - so check about this if you're trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyg901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay at our hotel. We do hope that you can have a longer stay on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.5 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing