We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Local Getaway in Modern Hotel for Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Romantic Local Getaway in Modern Hotel for Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A special weekend Birthday treat in Modern Based Hotel in heart of Sandton. We were welcomed with Service and friendliness. Hotel is stunning , modern and well presented. Pool area is beautiful, flowing from Bar Area. Rooms are modern and showers romantically shared with Bedroom through visible glass. We stayed on 5th floor facing Main rd and carpark. Bit noisy for weekend. I was spoilt with Virgin Bubbly and snacks for my Birthday, really appreciated attention. Complimentary shuttle to Sandton shopping centre and Gautrain is added bonus. Late checkout time was appreciated. Took advantage of famous Africology Spa for days treat for a couple to relax mood with excellent service and attention to detail with crystals and serenity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Maslow hotel for your weekend of celebration. It gives us great pleasure to hear that we helped in making your day special. We do apologise about the noise inconvenience, for your next visit, please contact me directly on anita.munetsi@suninternational.com and I will make arrangements to get you a garden facing room. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    285
    71
    23
    14
See reviews for
67
169
35
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. We travelled with a baby and a cot was provided for us. The food are very good, but the service in the morning was very slow and had to wait forever for coffee. The only big let down was, that every time I enter or exit the hotel my hands were full with the baby and the porters (altough there were 5 of them) were more interested in talking to each other than opening a door for guest. Overall, a good experience and will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, except for the breakfast service and the porters. We are currently revising our breakfast service so as to make it faster and more efficient. Our Front Office Manager has since taken corrective action regarding the porters and we can assure you of an improved service at your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

4 star hotel which has been recently refurbished. Shame that they gave me a room close to main road. Arrived very late when it was quiet on the road but since traffic starts early you will only notice the next day. Rooms are spacious and newly decorated. Breakfast is good and outside as well.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dutchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Maslow hotel, we appreciate your positive feedback. For your next booking, please may you contact me directly and I will make sure that you are allocated a garden facing room. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The newly renovated Hotel in Sandton is the place to stay when traveling to the area. The shuttle transfer from/to the Gautrain and to Mandela Square was perfectly organised. When arriving early the hotel offers a lounge where you can have drinks, food and even take a shower.
The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. I am traveling a lot on business worldwide and have never experienced a faster WIFI in any other hotel. The restaurant is fantastic, service very friendly and great variety of food and wine. No question was unanswered and no wish not fulfilled. I wish i could find more hotels like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenhelga71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that we meet all your expectations. The Maslow team appreciates your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was pretty impressed by the Maslow. The service is efficient. The rooms are really neat, modern, with a lot of amenities (the coffee machine and coffee capsules are a nice gesture).
Excellent Bfast, great gym and all around professional staff as well. The free shuttle to the convention center or the shopping centers is an added bonus. Will definitely stay there again at my next visit in Joburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for making time to review our hotel. Our staff are delighted to hear that they helped in making your stay a pleasant one, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found this hotel to be very good and was very trendy. The hotel only opened in November 2012. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Although the staff at breakfast were a tad disorganised.
The free shuttle to the Gautrain was excellent and they also picked up up from the Hilton Hotel as we dropped our car rental off there.

Our room was really good with a coffee machine and the designs of the rooms were very trendy. Not sure about the shower if sharing with a friend or someone you are not intimate with as you can see straight through the glass.

My only complaint is the hotel fills up with the hip crowd on Firday nights and the bar and restaurant is busy. As our room looked over the carpark on the 2nd floor we were woken in the earlier hours by people leaving to go home.

Otherwise I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Also they provide and area for late checkout and you can have a shower to freshen up

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower rooms overlooking carpark, especially on Fridays nights and weekends. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review on your stay with us, we are always delighted to hear that a guest had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. Management is currently putting processes in place to control access into our bar and also the noise levels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow soon.

Kind Regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trezzo sull'Adda, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I lodged here in September and I was really surprised about the quality of this hotel. Service is really good, staff is friendly and very collaborative, especially the managers, Miss Lynn on top of all, she's always friendly, smiling and always at your fingertips. The breakfast is good and you can find really what you need for your breakfast. Rooms are nice, full equipped, with a wonderful bathroom, the only complaint is about the toilet brush, it was missing in my room and also in the room of my colleague. When I asked about, they told me that the are not putting toilet brush in the rooms!!! and I didn't get it during all my stay, really strange!!! but apart of this, I will suggest to lodge at The Maslow, during your stay in Joburg. The atmosphere is really good and during my next trip to Joburg, I will definitively lodge there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your valuable comments. I have passed on your comment to Lynn and she really appreciates it. We have noted your comment about the toilet brush and our Housekeeper is looking into the issue. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maslow in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing