We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I took part in a conference being hosted at the Maslow. Apart from the conference rooms themselves being too small for the number of people (not the hotel's fault) I was very impressed by my stay. The Bar / Pool area is very nice and an under advertised feature on the website. Internet connection was good throughout the hotel and they have a nice lounge for early arrivals such as myself. Happily stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide the utmost in customer service and we are pleased to hear that we did just that. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back this way.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Maslow is up to the task, delivering a great experience.
Professional staff, good rooms, a very fair breakfast.

Restaurant has room to improvement, but ther service pack from entire staff is there.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us, I have since shared your feedback with the staff and they appreciate it. I have also passed on your feedback regarding the restaurant service to the Food and Beverage Manager and he has assured me that he has noted your feedback and is working on improving the service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow hotel.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The service was good. Unfortunately the room windows are not double glassed and therefore they do not offer sound insulation. As it happened, with lots of people around the pool and the bars till late, it was a little more noisy,than easily accepted, in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you by the noise from the bar. Your feedback has been passed on to the Maslow Management team who will be addressing this. The team looks forward to your next visit which we hope will be soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I found almost everything about this hotel exceptionally well done. The room, the service and the breakfast were excellent and showed a great attention to detail. The price was also more than reasonable given the standards on offer. If I wanted to try and find some fault it would be that the entrance to the hotel, through the parking lot, was far from inspiring. Therefore I wouldn't like it for a honeymoon but as a business or transit hotel I doubt you could do better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 619mlg619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Our team is pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our service, your room and the breakfast. We are also pleased to hear that you found the price more than reasonable. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I booked a table for 8 people on a Saturday afternoon, to entertain some out of town guests over drinks. Having heard a lot of great things about the Maslow on social media, and because it's just down the road, I was very excited to give it a try. The vibe was exactly what I'd been told: buzzy, fun, bright and stylish. The setting is also really pretty ('tho the birds can get quite loud and the constant looping of Fashion TV on the flat screens can get tiresome. I asked a passing manager to change it; he said they didn't have remotes for that TV). We ordered drinks and two platters (one Lacuna and one Cheese). The drinks arrived with reasonable speed but the first platter - with very nice snacks on it - took around 45 minutes to come and the second never did. The waiter had forgotten. We re-ordered it and it eventually appeared, but it was small and disappointing. In short, we had a nice evening, but I wasn't wowed by the service, which seemed to trickle in, on and off, from different servers throughout the night. Is this going to be my regular Sandton spot, like the Hyde Park Hotel terrace was when I lived nearby? Not sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

I appreciate you sharing your feedback, we welcome constructive comments as an opportunity to improve our facility and services. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel, please may you contact me directly on anita.munetsi@suninternational.com.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A special weekend Birthday treat in Modern Based Hotel in heart of Sandton. We were welcomed with Service and friendliness. Hotel is stunning , modern and well presented. Pool area is beautiful, flowing from Bar Area. Rooms are modern and showers romantically shared with Bedroom through visible glass. We stayed on 5th floor facing Main rd and carpark. Bit noisy for weekend. I was spoilt with Virgin Bubbly and snacks for my Birthday, really appreciated attention. Complimentary shuttle to Sandton shopping centre and Gautrain is added bonus. Late checkout time was appreciated. Took advantage of famous Africology Spa for days treat for a couple to relax mood with excellent service and attention to detail with crystals and serenity.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Maslow hotel for your weekend of celebration. It gives us great pleasure to hear that we helped in making your day special. We do apologise about the noise inconvenience, for your next visit, please contact me directly on anita.munetsi@suninternational.com and I will make arrangements to get you a garden facing room. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. We travelled with a baby and a cot was provided for us. The food are very good, but the service in the morning was very slow and had to wait forever for coffee. The only big let down was, that every time I enter or exit the hotel my hands were full with the baby and the porters (altough there were 5 of them) were more interested in talking to each other than opening a door for guest. Overall, a good experience and will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneke880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, except for the breakfast service and the porters. We are currently revising our breakfast service so as to make it faster and more efficient. Our Front Office Manager has since taken corrective action regarding the porters and we can assure you of an improved service at your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £96 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing