We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite us”
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maslow
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not quite us”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is a bit different - a lot of glass and a grey/black decor.
Were given room cards but they did not work. Fortunately a member of housekeeping helped us out.
Rooms are spacious with all mod cons. Fridge with complimentary water. Large walk in shower with just one square overhead shower head. Take care with wash basin as force of water from tap can easily spill over.
Toilet and shower are see through so might not suit everyone - especially older people.
Huge TV with audio, usb and mp3 inputs. Free wifi (limited)
Lovely patio and pool area.
Hotel provides cars or shuttle bus every half hour to take you to the Nelson Mandela Centre. This is a huge shopping complex with bars and restaurants. About ten minute drive.
Staff were extremely courteous and informative. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to glass effect but that is only our opinion. Otherwise the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our rooms spacious and that you liked the patio and pool. Your kind comments on the staff being courteous and informative have been shared with the team.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    289
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
69
172
35
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

So glad we chose the Maslow based on TA reviews and the good price we got - very reasonable for this level of quality.
We stayed 3 nights split up as we journeyed around Africa.
It's new and snappy with sharp and courteous staff, efficient check in/out. Rooms are well appointed and efficient, comfortable. Loved the popular bar open to the outdoor pool, good service, great snack menu and reasonable drinks. Draught Windhoek beer - delicious !
Good restaurant too and spa.
We used their transfer service available via the concierge and this worked very well with beautiful vehicles, proper drivers and fair prices.
The location is in a nice area with a nearby large mall that the Maslow operates a free shuttle to. Also a MacDonalds a 5 min walk.
Next time in Joberg this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your excellent comments that you posted on TripAdvisor. The Maslow team is happy to hear that you loved the rooms, the bar and pool, the spa and the food. It is our goal to be positioned as the hotel of choice in Sandton and we are pleased to hear that you have made us your hotel of choice. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit to the Maslow.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

cant fault it at all. i booked here as part of a conference. its just the right distance from the convention center where you can relax but also get to it if you need quickly. the free car service within a 5km range is a great idea. its very secure and the rooms are great. however the pool is small for the amount of rooms this place has....try the africlology spa! its amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Maslow hotel, we appreciate your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and that you made use of our luxurious spa. Our guests do appreciate the complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

WOW WOW WOW!!! I have no other way to express what a phenomenal weekend my wife and I had at The Maslow this past weekend to celebrate our third wedding anniversary! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, with a notable team member of yours, Lynn the Executive Suites Manageress waiting to greet us, with such a warm and genuine welcome!! She really is an asset to your hotel, nothing was too much effort!!

Of course when we got to our room, which was a suite, we were blown way!! The chilled bottle of sparkling wine, delicious cake with "Happy Anniversary" piped in chocolate on it and rose petals everywhere was an incredibly personal and welcome touch, attention to detail is most evident and a priority at The Maslow! The quality of the room, the fittings,fabrics etc are of the highest quality and is evident wherever you look.

We both had an amazing experience a the Aricology Spa with massages that rate amongst the best we have had!

We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant with the wine pairing for each meal, a really innovative and delicious way in which to dine.

My wife and I had the time of our lives, which we will remember forever!

Thank you again soo much to you and your team for this unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are honoured to have shared your special occasion with you, we are thrilled to hear that we made your stay memorable. Lynn is indeed a great asset to our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the amenities to celebrate your special day. The Africology spa is definitely one of the best in the country. The team is happy that we met all your expectations and we will always strive to do better on your next visit.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The Maslow Hotel is one of the hidden gems amongst the more notorious Sandton City skyscrapers opulent hotels. The Maslow is 1.2km from Sandton City Gautrain station and the Nelson Mandela Square. Hotel grounds are massive and visited conerence centre with comfortable chairs, spaced appropriately forvdelegates to move about as compared to other hotels that accommodate business and conference events. We had access to opulent boardrooms overlooking the gardens with a view! The refreshments and lunches were excellent,different dietary requirements accomodated. The Concierge desk is VERY professional and i did not have to walk or use the Gautrain bus service as the shuttle service was available around the clock! I did not pre-book shuttle service but everytime i phoned from the station,my request was immediately honoured. The Maslow treatsvall its business or holiday guests as "Royals",for me personally client service is top notch and would recommend the Maslow for its proximity,service and hospitality. Maslow is my 1st port of call in Sandton!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are humbled by your great review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that we managed to live up to your expectations. I have shared your review with the concierge team and they are delighted to have played a part in your experience at the Maslow. The gardens and boardrooms are definitely the best in Sandton. We are pleased to hear that you found the food to be excellent. Our guests are definitely treated like royalty at the Maslow. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel was booked for us as part of the Friendly Planet tour. When we arrived our rooms weren't ready yet. They put us into a room - and then called us within the hour saying they would have to move us (as they didn't have the room available for our two night stay?). So okay - but then they didn't come up immediately to do so. We finally called and said we were tired from our international flight and if they were going to move us - they needed to do that now. Finally got to our room. The hotel itself is very pretty - the food was good. Would have been helpful if they told us if we wanted to have dinner that night we needed to book early. When we went down to dinner we were told that they were booked solid. So we had room service. The shuttle to the mall was helpful for the next day. The rooms are nice - the shower is not private so that might bother some people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are thankful for your feedback as we can only learn from this and improve on the service we offer you as one of our valued guests. The Maslow team would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the delay at check in. We are pleased to hear that you found the food and rooms up to standard. We hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I would never usually write a review before I checked out but I cannot fault this hotel.

It is an art-deco style design and is really luxurious. The food is incredible. The staff are wonderful. It really is faultless.

And if you stay here, I definitely recommend reading the spa treatment menu in the room, just for comedy value.

And maybe get a facial that can "eliminate feelings of sadness, rejection or fear."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments on the hotel’s décor and style. The staff is delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found everything perfect. On your next stay with us, please do try the spa, it comes highly recommended. The Maslow team looks forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Property: The Maslow
Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton's business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 30 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow's private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing