We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket Italian food”

Verdicchio Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 225 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upmarket Italian food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently dined in the wine cellar at Verdicchio in Monte Casino. It has a pleasant, peaceful ambience and the waiters were attentive and pleasant. The food was good (duck Picasso, steak with green pepper sauce) and we enjoyed the novelty of being presented with an ipad menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31Tobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great ambience,expensive wine”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had dinner for 4 at Verdicchio on 28/8/13. The food was fairly priced and very good. Not one complaint between the four of us. Our food was prawns, calamari, rump steak and the Kleftiko. The menu is mediterranean and combines Italian and Greek by the look of it. Unfortunately they had no gluten free options available.The wine is another story though- It is definitely meant for the connoisseur and not the everyday man on the street- very expensive- I don't know if it is also very good as I simply could not afford to buy a bottle for R400 upwards.We stuck to a cheapy at R165 which was not too bad. They also allow corkage at R75. Two great things about this restaurant:- 1. The menus are on ipads; 2. The place is lovely- dont sit outside- you will miss out on the great space downstairs.All in all a perfectly enjoyable experience.I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor Management Responses”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Verdicchio has always been our restaurant of choice at Monte Casino. Unfortunately this will no longer be the case due to a very poor management response to unsatisfactory food. It is always possible that, in a busy restaurant, there will be glitches in food quality. As long as this is not the norm and that, when it does happen, one gets a fair response from management, one forgives and forgets. We ate at Verdicchio last night. My Salmon was raw and still ice cold in the middle. On drawing this to the waiters attention he removed the food to the kitchen. Then the Manager arrived making excuses that that " is how our chef prefers it." Well, underdone is fine but cold and raw is sushi! Asked what consideration I would receive he responded "we'll see". Low and behold NOTHING,! So, no further visits to a good restaurant due to a managers attitude. Nothing else but rudeness.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadforitalyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My fiance' took me to Verddicchi for my birthday the ambiance was awesome. The presentation of the food was amazing. Service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to any couple.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley_Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verdicchio Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Verdicchio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing