We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move in--and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This beautiful property is located fairly close to the Johannesburg airport, and what a pleasant surprise@ Each room is decorated differently - I had the pleasure of staying in the Miami which was decorated in Art Deco. Extremely spacious room, wet bar gratis, fresh fruit, good WiFi - everything my heart desired! Our group had cocktails on the pool patio then a private room for a lecture. Dinner followed and was absolutely superb. When I could not eat the dairy dessert, they swiftly produced an enormous plate of exotic fruits. The staff was magically at one's elbow to accompany this single traveler to dinner and all service was low key and completely efficient. I only wish I had been able to stay longer and can't wait to return to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeGee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your visit to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted to hear that you were well looked after by our efficient and friendly staff and that you thoroughly enjoyed our Miami Suite as it is one of my personal favourites.

I am especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and specifically the restaurant and that our staff went the extra mile to guarantee you the best possible guest experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Michael Kewley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

You will never want to check out. Fairlawns is a luxurious hotel with attentive and well-selected staff, luxurious suites, and a restaurant worth travelling to in and of itself. I can't wait to return to stay as a private guest next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests - the comment of "genteel luxury in Johannesburg" is indeed appreciated.

It is really all with our “pleasure” and will ensure that I share these wonderful comments with all staff members. We are always looking at exceeding every single guest's expectations and very proud that we were able to provide such a phenomenal experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Fairlawn Boutique Hotel in Sandton, just outside of Johannesburg on our last day of a tour. What a beautiful small boutique hotel converted from a mansion. Everything about the hotel oozes class from the owner designed suites to the poolside cabana dining and full service spa and gym. The hotel has a shuttle to the Sandton Mall, the largest in South Africa and it is only 30 minutes from the airport. On your next necessary stop in Johannesburg you must stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

One of our biggest advantages is our wonderful location, close enough to the Sandton CBD with our complimentary shuttle, but yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre with our manicured gardens and tranquil birdlife that offers the ultimate urban luxury retreat in Sandton.

Our wonderful staff including the concierge, who can just about arrange anything in Johannesburg, is another reason why guests fall in love with our property. I am very pleased that you were able to experience our warm and genuinely friendly service as well as our award winning spa. The recently newly refurbished gym offers guilt-free pleasures in our award winning restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I get to the Fairlawns often for business. This was my first test of their hospitality and service for a personal occasion - I was not disappointed. The attentiveness of all staff and the genuine personal touch is what makes the difference between just 'very good' and 'great'.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GertdeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Wonderful to read that you rate us as world class and as your favourite hotel in Sandton! We are especially proud of our wonderful staff and they are the people responsible for the warmth that you experienced.

We have a number of hidden gems in and around the hotel which is very unique for a Sandton hotel that indeed sets us apart and is ideally suited for the discerning business or leisure guest. We realise that guests really like to feel that they have their own private spaces and we have plenty to offer on the property in the beautifully manicured gardens. This is not to mention the pools, restaurants and bar and of course our award winning spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

An absolute spoil. Magnificent garden, food and service. I just love the pool area. Will have to go back mid summer. I have no idea who the chef is but each plate looks fantastic. Signage from main roads could be better. Parking area ... Expectation was that their would at least be car ports. Love the friendliness of the staff and security staff. I felt like a VIP

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa.

I am thrilled to hear that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them and made you feel like a VIP. From the warm and friendly service, through to the delicious food, relaxed pool area, luxurious accommodation and manicured gardens.

We are currently in process with replacing all existing road signage as well as adding new signage to further assist guests. This should all be completed in the next two weeks.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Madrid Suite in the chateau has no view at all but was huge with a great bathroom and spotlessly clean. Service top, food top, spa top, garden and pool top, should have been here longer. This place is stress - releving. Tip : ask for an explanation of the coffe-mashine in your suite. Not straight forward. Fruit and port in the room is an extra touch, and to keep the room until 4.30 pm was offered without us even asking. This is 5 star service !

Room Tip: Upstairs may get some view, but I am sure it is great all around. Good AC in the bathroom, no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AinaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your stay with us at Fairlwans.

It is wonderful to hear that you were blown away with the tranquil setting of the hotel, our spa, delicious food and pool.

I am absolutely delighted that you found the attentive service to be exceptional and your kind words will be shared with the relevant staff who will be most grateful.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My son and and stayed here for one night on our way to Vic Falls. My son said it was the nicest hotel he had ever stayed. The staff is extremely helpful and gave us good information. We received a free ride to the mall and called for pick up. If you like older, clean and good hotels this is one to experience. The Wifi was a bit difficult and didn't reach everywhere. We ate at the restaurant for dinner which was above average but not superior. The free breakfast was good and appreciated. Your stay includes a free short message so don't forget to schedule it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MfBuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the incredible review about your stay with us and expecially for naming Fairlawns to be the best hotel in Johannesburg!

It was great to read that you loved the charm of the Hotel, but even better that you found the food and service outstanding!

I have made a note regarding the Wi-Fi and rest assured that this will be attended to.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us and hope that the rest of your African adventure was as impressive.

Kind regards

Neilen Tolmay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £209 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing