We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zeta Tours reviews Fairlawns Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Zeta Tours reviews Fairlawns Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This is the most magnificent hotel and if there were six stars to award I would give it. An oasis of peace and calm and security in the middle of Johannesburg's northern suburbs. And it is spacious too both the rooms and the grounds. After a two hour traffic jam on the N1 the Irishman helping me to my room immediately knew that I was desperate for tea! Rooms are magnificent Food is good. Staff very welcoming. Would recommend it for all business travellers to Sandton area and it is great for a romantic getaway as well. Easy to find and accessible and not far from the international airport

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest's stay with us truly memorable and nothing is too much for our staff and Management.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward excellence and improve our standards where required. I will certainly share your kind comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    61
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
34
154
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want to celebrate something or do do something romantic & wow for your better half, this would be a good option. This is not your week long sea-side get-away but rather a one or two night get-away to remember.

We stayed in the Villa suites that included a fire place and bubble jet bath.

The hotel upgraded our room and gave us a complementary bottle of champers on arrival.
(The small things that make it even better)

Dinner was great due to the tranquil elegant atmosphere that offered an opportunity for talking and eating for hours.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing due to the limited variety in food but the luxury, service and setting of the restaurant made up for the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward excellence and improve our standards where required. Your kind comments with regards to our efforts to make a special celebration at the Fairlawns more memorable, will be conveyed to all staff.

It is however with great sadness that we acknowledge your comment with regards to our Breakfast selection. Our A la Carte Breakfast is quite extensive, and do apologize if you were not properly informed of the selection by your waiter. Please see our selection below (we would appreciate your feedback):

A la Carte Menu
(Inclusive of Continental Buffet)

Your choice from the Continental Buffet & one of the following:

Apple & Cinnamon Rolled Oats

Old Fashion Pumpkin Fritters
With Vanilla Sugar & Madagascan Vanilla Yoghurt

French Toast
With Baked Grand Brie, Black Forest Ham & Maple Syrup

Sweetcorn Oatmeal Crumpets
With Streaky Bacon, Banana & Lavender & Orange Infused Honey

Soft Scrambled Egg
With Franschoek Smoked Salmon Trout & Lemon Segments

Eggs Benedict
With your choice of Bacon, Hickory Ham, Smoked Salmon or Florentine
Served with a Poached Egg on an English Muffin
With Hollandaise Sauce

Egg Milanese
Poached Egg, Sauteed Spinach, Parma Ham
With Basil & Tomato Relish

Healthy Option
Soft Poached Egg, Sauteed Brown Mushroom, Ricotta Cheese, Avocado & Rocket
On Seeded Bread

Omelettes
Light, Fluffy 3 Egg Omelette with a choice of Filling:
Ham, Bacon, Smoked Salmon, Chorizo Sausage,
Tomato, Onion, Mushroom, Cheddar Cheese, Mozzarella Cheese & Herbs

Or

3 Egg White Omelette

Classic English Breakfast
Selection of Eggs:
Poached, Fried, Boiled or Scrambled
served with a choice of the following:
Crispy Bacon, Beef or Pork Sausage,
Hash Brown, Baked Beans, Tomato & Mushroom

We are hopeful for an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great setting for laid back visit to Johannesburg. Staff friendly, service first class and rooms large if not a little bit dated. Great pool and dining setting. Place has charm, warmth and character which cannot be found in large hotel chain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments with regards to the high level of service you received at the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is highly appreciated, and will most certainly be shared with all staff. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I chose the hotel for a getaway with my partner because of the reviews on tripadvisor and the experience was worthwhile. We stayed in a Villa Suite and enjoyed the jetted bathtub. The food was delicious! We ordered from the room service menu and I must say it was the best food I've had in a hotel here in SA and we have these types of "getaways" often. We will definitely be returning soon to experience the hotel spa and probably stay longer than one night for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettybird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Fairlawns.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. Your kind comments will most certainly be shared with all staff.

Furthermore, we are thrilled to know that you will be returning to experience our fabulous Spa facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to our place of enchantment.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely place. One of the best Hotel I've been staying in.
Beautiful place, excellent service. Stylish yet not glamorous.
Quiet and a bit too formal. I would recommend for any business traveller, but would really like to have a chance to go back on a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fdnfdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am absolutely delighted that you found our Hotel to be one of the best you have ever stayed in. Your kind words will be shared with the relevant staff who will be most grateful.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

We are hopeful for an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival from the California we immediately went to the spa to get a massage. The spa was wonderful. We made oyr reservations in advance. The restaurant was great and so was the service. We stayed in the Marakesh suite and the only issue was leaving my eReader in the bed when I checked out. It was not located.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to use this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

As a recognized 5 star establishment, we pride ourselves in striving for higher standards and better service. It is with great regret that I read your comment about the e-reader not located in the Suite after your departure. I will personally look into the matter and address this particular situation with the relevant staff.

Your kind comments about our Restaurant, Spa and overall service is highly appreciated, will definitely be conveyed to the relevant staff.

We anticipate an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed in many wonderful hotels throughout the world but Fairlawns for us was surely the best. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we can only vouch for our suite but it was fantastic and the bed unbelievably comfortable . The food and service are excellent. We would return tomorrow and we are already recommending it to other people we meet on our travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to hear that you had a truly memorable stay at the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel.

As a recognized 5 star Establishment we strive for excellence, and therefore appreciate your kind words about our service and food. Your positive feedback will be conveyed to all staff.

We are hopeful for an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Once again, thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Should you require additional information or would like to query anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
6.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2090, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing