We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping with the De Beers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Before finding the Fairlawns hotel, i had asked friends to help me find a hotel in Joburg that met these criterias : " Any recommendation on a hotel in Johannesburg, where design is inspiration, where staying 11 days away from home feels like you would make of this place your second home, where comfort and pampering are just what is recommended after 14 hours of intense work, where beds are so comfortable and welcoming that sleeping for few hours is enough to give you energy in the morning, where excellence is so inspiring you take it with you to work, where the gym is just a step away so you can keep in a healthy mind in a healthy body in the sometimes insane world of advertising..."....and i found it. The Fairlawns hotel answers this brief perfectly well. It was exactly that, and more. If the few glitches here and there did not come in the middle of perfection, i would have given it a top review. My final bill was wrong, but we ended hop settling it with a refund. The room amenities and service where not always perfect, so i had to wait many times for sugar, or lotion..which is not a big deal after all, as what you remember is how this place made you feel. And this place made me feel i had slept with the Oppenheimer family as this was their mansion at the time of the gold and the diamond rush in Africa. Thank you. Danielle

Room Tip: The big original rooms in the garden are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Langoustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments with regards to our spacious Suites is much appreciated. With regards to the amenities and your final invoice, we would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard, and will therefore address your feedback with the relevant staff.

We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The staff is very friendly and knew our names, even with 8 in our group. We stayed here 2 nights and will stay here again when we return to South Africa. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and very tasty. The dinners were excellent and a variety was offered to satisfy all appetites. The presentation of each dish was great!
Our group of 8 took up one whole building behind the main building. The rooms were beautiful and beds comfortable. Each room had it's own air control. We didn't hear anything from the other rooms either. The wi-fi was very good and nice to have.
Two in our group had a massage at the spa and enjoyed it. We also checked out the gym and were amazed at the equipment available. Cocktails by the pool were nice before dinner too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HS-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

As a 5 star establishment, we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our Guests return home with fond memories of the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments with regards to our Breakfast Buffet and the presentation thereof will be conveyed to all the staff. We are absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed your appointed Suite, and take pride in the fact that all 40 of our suites were individually decorated.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Staff was outstanding offering their assistance and continually asking if we needed anything. The grounds and room were gorgeous and the location was quaint and quiet. Enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay there the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind comments with regards to our well kept grounds and highly individual suites. Most of all, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Fairlawns is one of those special Hotels where the staff call you by name. As a businessman who travels extensively for over 5 months a year, I can honestly say that it has become my favourite destination, so much so that I will again be bringing my family to spend the New Year here. The rooms are wonderful, the service is courteous, attentive and discreet, my clients are delighted to come to the hotel as it is so conveniently located, and there are ample facilities for private meetings. A real home from home that I could not recommend higher.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind comments with regards to our Service and facilities, and will share your feedback with all the staff. As a 5 star establishment, we strive for excellence and continue to improve our standards where required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our place of enchantment.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the most magnificent hotel and if there were six stars to award I would give it. An oasis of peace and calm and security in the middle of Johannesburg's northern suburbs. And it is spacious too both the rooms and the grounds. After a two hour traffic jam on the N1 the Irishman helping me to my room immediately knew that I was desperate for tea! Rooms are magnificent Food is good. Staff very welcoming. Would recommend it for all business travellers to Sandton area and it is great for a romantic getaway as well. Easy to find and accessible and not far from the international airport

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest's stay with us truly memorable and nothing is too much for our staff and Management.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward excellence and improve our standards where required. I will certainly share your kind comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want to celebrate something or do do something romantic & wow for your better half, this would be a good option. This is not your week long sea-side get-away but rather a one or two night get-away to remember.

We stayed in the Villa suites that included a fire place and bubble jet bath.

The hotel upgraded our room and gave us a complementary bottle of champers on arrival.
(The small things that make it even better)

Dinner was great due to the tranquil elegant atmosphere that offered an opportunity for talking and eating for hours.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing due to the limited variety in food but the luxury, service and setting of the restaurant made up for the food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liezel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward excellence and improve our standards where required. Your kind comments with regards to our efforts to make a special celebration at the Fairlawns more memorable, will be conveyed to all staff.

It is however with great sadness that we acknowledge your comment with regards to our Breakfast selection. Our A la Carte Breakfast is quite extensive, and do apologize if you were not properly informed of the selection by your waiter. Please see our selection below (we would appreciate your feedback):

A la Carte Menu
(Inclusive of Continental Buffet)

Your choice from the Continental Buffet & one of the following:

Apple & Cinnamon Rolled Oats

Old Fashion Pumpkin Fritters
With Vanilla Sugar & Madagascan Vanilla Yoghurt

French Toast
With Baked Grand Brie, Black Forest Ham & Maple Syrup

Sweetcorn Oatmeal Crumpets
With Streaky Bacon, Banana & Lavender & Orange Infused Honey

Soft Scrambled Egg
With Franschoek Smoked Salmon Trout & Lemon Segments

Eggs Benedict
With your choice of Bacon, Hickory Ham, Smoked Salmon or Florentine
Served with a Poached Egg on an English Muffin
With Hollandaise Sauce

Egg Milanese
Poached Egg, Sauteed Spinach, Parma Ham
With Basil & Tomato Relish

Healthy Option
Soft Poached Egg, Sauteed Brown Mushroom, Ricotta Cheese, Avocado & Rocket
On Seeded Bread

Omelettes
Light, Fluffy 3 Egg Omelette with a choice of Filling:
Ham, Bacon, Smoked Salmon, Chorizo Sausage,
Tomato, Onion, Mushroom, Cheddar Cheese, Mozzarella Cheese & Herbs

Or

3 Egg White Omelette

Classic English Breakfast
Selection of Eggs:
Poached, Fried, Boiled or Scrambled
served with a choice of the following:
Crispy Bacon, Beef or Pork Sausage,
Hash Brown, Baked Beans, Tomato & Mushroom

We are hopeful for an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great setting for laid back visit to Johannesburg. Staff friendly, service first class and rooms large if not a little bit dated. Great pool and dining setting. Place has charm, warmth and character which cannot be found in large hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments with regards to the high level of service you received at the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is highly appreciated, and will most certainly be shared with all staff. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our place of enchantment in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#10 of 47 in Sandton
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £207 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing