We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$160
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$296
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$339
US$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
610
93
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
93
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb brivonia bbunderfloor heatingbird lifehome away from homeself cateringbeautiful gardengreat place to stayfantastic stayan oasissafe locationcomfortable staybreakfast was excellentcomfortable roomseasy accesssouth africabusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had previously traveled to Johannesburg but this was my first stay at Rivonia B&B. What an experience: from check in to check out, my stay there was superb. I would rate the overall appearance and comfort level of the room as exceptional. It was tastefully decorated and had a lovely patio in which I drank my early morning coffee. The breakfast offered by Rivonia B&B was also a winner. It offered a full array of cereals, juices, pastry's and breads as well as a hot breakfast cooked to order. Outstanding. The grounds were lush and well kept and it was a pleasure to just walk around and enjoy all of the colorful plants. The facility was outstanding but it would mean nothing if the staff were not up to par. And they were. I truly felt that my well being and comfort was their concern. They were responsive whenever I ventured into the office with a request or a need. Would I recommend Rivonia B&B? Yes, Indeed and I will book there again on my next visit to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: There are rooms on ground level as well as on the 2nd. floor. I prefer the ground level rooms due to my bad knees.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m4644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Your comments are much appreciated. Praise makes us glow. The fact that you loved the rooms, the breakfasts, our gardens and our staff really motivates us to try even harder. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely. Jill & Gerard Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We planned to arrive in JNB several days before beginning our twenty day Grand Circle Tour. Wanted to find a place in a nice neighborhood where we could relax and get used to the 11 hr. time difference. We had friends who had stayed at Rivonia B & B and highly recommended it. We could not have been more pleased! The staff was amazing. They all made you feel right at home. Girard and Filltah suggested places to visit and arranged for private tours for us.
Their breakfasts were fantastic--such a wide variety of delicious food. We enjoyed the one dinner that we had there (they don't serve dinner on weekends). Girard recommended a nearby restaurant and arranged for transportation.
The gardens are quite beautiful and are designed to attract local birds which added to the charm.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet.
All in all, we loved our stay and would highly recommend the Rivonia to anyone. It would be good for families as well. Girard and Filltah could not have been more friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rivonia B&B. Thank you for your warm recommendation. The bird-life in the garden is quite spectacular some mornings. We feed our feathered friends daily. Greetings to California and do visit again! Very best wishes from Gerard, Jill and the Rivonia B&B team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

my husband and i recently visited South Africa for a 2 week holiday and we stayed at the Rivonia B & B it was lovely great rooms staff excellent and breakfast was yummy we live in New Zealand and will definately be back again in SA in the near future and will most definately staff at Rivonia B & B thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imlk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We look forward to your next visit. So pleased you enjoyed your South African stay and that we contributed to making it memorable. We have 7 new luxury rooms (freshly built & superbly furnished) just waiting for your arrival. Sincerely. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here last year on our way to Malawi with our 4 kids. Been meaning to post a review about how good it was, only just got round to it. What a fab place. It feels so relaxed and chilled out, and the staff are soooo welcoming and will go out of their way to help. Nothing was too much trouble. And the food was brilliant, the breakfasts are the best I've had anywhere in the world. If you're staying for the evening, you MUST have dinner there too, lovely homecooked food.

It was so good we booked on our return through Joburg 3 months later - the staff were so welcoming on our return, we were greeted with "welcome home" and it truely felt like it. They even threw in some upgraded rooms!

Could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

What a lovely surprise! Our staff are thrilled with your comments. We agree, Zani & Trust do rustle up the most awesome dinners. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Gerard & Jill Marais and the whole Rivonia B&B team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stay for three nights and I wish to compliment the staff on their friendliness and professionalism in dealing with myself .
The rooms are clean and airy and offers the traveler all the necessities required for a relax and comfortable environment.The garden setting is beautiful and relaxing after a hard days work.Fellila arranged that I use the lounge area to conduct some business interviews which I thought was more than adequate and she went out of her way to ensure that the B&B met my requirements
Will definitely return and recommend this establishment to friends and business associates.

Regards
Joao de Freitas

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Garden Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We value your kind words. Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff, our rooms and our gardens. We take pride in our establishment and it is most encouraging to receive enthusiastic feedback. Muito Obrigada. Jill Marais, Gerard Marais and the whole Rivonia B&B Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews