We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay...”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Recently stayed at the Sandton Sun for 3 nights during our S. African adventure. This hotel was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was extremely friendly! Check-in and check-out was a breeze. We stayed on the 19th floor and the rooms were large and beds very comfy! The only things that went wrong was that when I went to take a shower the shower head wasn't facing down and I just about flooded that bathroom because I had the shower door opened and the water came shooting right out. The food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was great!

The numerous shops were amazing! Some a little pricey but others within our budget. Some did close a little early but that was probably a good thing for us since we were purchasing too much as it was! ;-)

I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

With a recent Corporate booking, requirements was made for members to share rooms but all the rooms were left with the beds made up for couples sharing the bed. When I expressed my concern about this, the front desk person left me and went to the backoffice to contact my company to report that I threw "a tantrum" not willing to share a ROOM. While this person was away doing this, another front desk agent who apparently overheard this, ask if it would be fine if they split the beds in two and ACCEPTED that I was happy with that and this was later done. This was also later done to ALL the beds in all the rooms where members were sharing rooms. Unfortunately, due to this and ito our Corporate conduct policy, this resulted in an uncomfortable and unnecessary interview between myself, Management and HR to clarify the matter. As a frequent Business traveller, I sleep out a lot but I have NEVER experienced such poor and irresponsible service (If you also take the pathetic roomservice incident into consideration) from a Hotel where one would expect above-average level of service or staff conduct. Hopefully our Corporate booking office will take my views into consideration next time accommodation is required in Sandton.

Room Tip: Check-in staff should be advised about the saying "Clients are always right", to FIRST ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrevanbb v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to get the absolute pleasure in expereincing the best Hotel service we yet to see. We purchased a romantic package which was superb value for money.
ALL the staff at the Sandton Sun where very accomodating and truely do know how to make your stay one to remember.
The attention to detail in the rooms where to die for. The SPA treatment is a MUST and was the best message we have received. The resturant and bar where outstanding....
Truely could not fault this hotel at all... will be seeing alot more of us in the future months to follow.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Luxary Suite and the corner units seem to be the bigger units and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WezTamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights in March 2012. Facilities in the room were very good and especially the capsule coffee machine. Excellent bed and linen, towels, etc. Restaurants were good, including breakfast, and sitting out on the terrace having a few drinks in the evening was a very pleasant experience.
Staff were all pleasant, smiling and helpful. Special mention for the concierge, Sam, who quickly organised a change in my flight to Australia for the next day. Was really surprised how competent, quick and efficient he was to fix what was in reality a complex booking change, including internal flights in Australia. He was very knowledgeable. Expensive hotel, would stay here on business any time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Not been to the hotel since 1991. Hotel a bit tired but makes up with awesome position and the friendly staff. Guys at breakfast(Themba) was just amazing. Hotel works like clockwork

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I had a suite here overlooking the city. Three good restaurants in the hotel complex so I did not have to travel far when I came back late from work.
On the sixth floor you can enter the shopping area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Overall
I have just checked out of the Sandton Sun and wanted to input this whilst still fresh in my head. I am constantly travelling for work and in hotels 3-4 nights a week clocking up over 180 room nights last year. This was my first trip to South Africa was told that Sandton was THE place to stay to ensure (as much as one can) safety and good amenities. I stayed at the Sandton Sun for 18 nights and was highly impressed from the minute I walked in the door. Upon going to reception I was taken to the 6th floor (business reception) where I was checked in and my bags were stored as the room wasn’t ready yet (I had arrived off the early arriving flight from UK). I was offered a shower so I freshened up and was ready for work.

Once can Imagine that spending 18 consecutive nights in one place could become monotonous. However the hotel is linked to probably THE most expensive shopping centre in South Africa and right next door to Nelson Mandela square so I wasn’t spoilt for choice. There are also plenty of seating areas where one can watch TV (e.g the grand prix at weekends) or you can head out to the open air area where there is seating, a small round pool and sun loungers – sun screen is definitely recommended. You are 6000ft above sea level so the air is much thinner and you will burn faster.

The hotel is basically a large triangle with a hollow middle. The rooms are all around the outside with all the amenities in the middle on the 6th floor which makes for an airy feel to the place (see picture). I have seen reports that it is gloomy and beige – yes the decor is all in brown and gold but the light doesn’t make it feel dark and gloomy at all.

There are 3 restaurants, Vilamoura which is on the ground level and very expensive but has exquisite service, Vin which is more a la carte dining and in a small area next to the open plan kitchen and San which is the main eating area and which is a joined to the outside area – this is also where breakfast is served.

There is a medium sized fitness centre with 3 running machines, 3 cycles and free weights – all have TVs so you can lose time exercising. The hotel is joined by two tunnels one to the shopping cntre and the other to the convention centre (the gym is ¼ way down this tunnel)

Approaching the weekends there is jazz saxophone music played on the outside area with open flame firepits to keep warm – great for a drink.

The hotel offers free wi-fi which is operated by a 7 day voucher so if you stay for longer you need to go back and get another. The wi-fi can suffer at peak times as lots of businessmen are video conferencing from laptops in the lounge.

Service
Generally (90% of time) the service is incredible. There can be a couple of times especially eating in the outside section when food service and general service can be slow but overall it is very good. Very quickly you will spot the good staff and they can’t do enough to help. If you can find and get seated in Sindi’s section at breakfast and Gabrielle’s section at dinner you won’t go wrong. Tipping is between 10-15% and I didn’t hesitate as the service was excellent.

At the business centre (where you will ask most of your questions and need assistance) Abbigail is another example of what service should be like, I never felt like I was imposing and she always managed to assist. I know the manager reads these and I would hope he passes on my feedback to these individuals.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle to and from most places in Sandton such as local offices, or places you are visiting locally. This is essential at night for security and a welcome facility.

Food
The food is very good. Breakfast is open buffet and has what you would find at any Hilton, Marriott etc – cereals, freshly squeezed juice, cakes breads, meats, cheeses, hot food etc. On the weekends the hot food is self service buffet but during the week
Dinner is generally very good although I did have the same meal a couple of times in a row and presentation and makeup of the dish varied considerably. There are two menus to choose from at San, the a la carte and the lounge menu. The a la carte has about 5 things per course and the lounge menu has more light bites etc. All ingredients are ultra fresh and it is encouraging to see the kitchen preparing your food behind you. The prices aren’t too bad either. A three course meal without wine comes in at about 250-350 Rand (about £25-£35). Wine and beer are the same as you would pay back in the UK. Interestingly the wine is cheaper than many establishments in Nelson Mandela square where wine can start at 500 Rand. Beer is about 30-50 Rand a drink.

Value
The hotel is very good value for money. The hotel is classed as 5 star and I would rate it equivalent to most large London Hilton’s or Marriotts. It’s probably 4-4.5 star in reality. This would be a London equivalent of approx £200 per night.

Sleep Quality
My room had a king bed which was very comfortable. The bedding was changed every day. My only gripe would be that because of the shape of the hotel and the fact it has a 20 storey open space up the middle, that when there is large gatherings (at weekends and some evenings) you hear all the noise up on the top floor which could get annoying.

Cleanliness
Overall the hotel was very clean. All the public areas are very well maintained – you will oftern share a lift with hotel staff polishing the brass work in the lifts. The room and bathroom are maintained every day.

Location
As mentioned above, the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the Sandton shopping area and a 5 minute walk to Nelson Mandela square. There is also plenty of things close by such as the Gautrain which takes you right to O R Tambo airport in 15 minutes.

Rooms
I stayed in 2029. The room is quite large – judging from experience of Hiltons, it is probably 25sqm or larger. You have a king sized bed, large wardrobe with digital safe, 20inch flat screen TV, complimentary mini bar which is stocked each day with coke products, water and fizzy grape juice. There is also a Nespresso coffee machine with capsules refreshed every day, a BOSE sound dock for your ipod, an international socket bar so that you can use UK, SA or European plugs (although the reception will give you a SA adaptor for a 100 Rand deposit). If you can get a high floor on the side where the business centre is then you will get a spectacular view across Sandton (see pic). The windows open all the way (sliding) so you need to be ultra careful with anything you stick out there like iphones etc when taking pictures – it’s a long way down. There is a turndown service each night with yet more water placed by your bedside, a chocolate and fresh slippers. At the corners of the hotel on each floor are larger suites which you will see by the door bell outside them. Each of the rooms has a privacy switch which when activated puts a red light on outside your room so the maid won’t catch you asleep or “otherwise”.

General
Given the chance I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor on the side with the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#8 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £131 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing