We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paying for convenience”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paying for convenience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

great hotel and service!the rooms not up to standard.The wallpaper was peeling off.The carpets were stuffy.Had a rhinitis.
The bath is also old and tired.For the price we pay per night it is not up to stsndard


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Lebo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    254
    86
    21
    20
See reviews for
137
143
49
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our room was excellent as were all the facilities we experienced. Food tick, location tick, service tick, overall experience tick. The only downside was being told we had to pay for tap water at the dinner we attended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun.

We are continually looking for ways in which we can improve and any feedback back is appreciated.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalsnes, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location is perfect! Just next to a super shopping center! The rooms are a little on the old/tired side, but clean. The view is stunning from the top floor rooms. Amazing breakfast and excellent service. Super friendly employees! Definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 4 nights there me and my wife. The hotel is very beautiful and from the moment we stepped out of the taxi were warmly welcomed by the employees outside. My check in was quite swift and they also quick to find solution for my wife who had checked in a day earlier. There were lots of airline crews check in at the same time as her and they just shifted her to the business center counter where she checked in. All the employees are very well mannered and offers their help. Food at the San restaurant is very good. They have the American t buffet on some days(mainly during week ends I think) and their array of fresh juice and pastries are just fabulous. The hotel is also well located for business and it have a large shopping mall next to it. You can have access to the shopping from the hotel itself from the 6th floor. Nelson Mandela square is also at walking distance or from the hotel 6th floor go through the Sandton conference center and exit through Micheal Angelo shopping mall. A special mention to Vinnie the concierge who helped us a lot. Thanks buddy you made our stay as smooth as possible. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashboy1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent one night at this marvelous hotel to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and staff absolutely terrific.From the moment we arrived, we felt wellcome.The room was beautiful,clean, with a large bathroom and crisp linen.
We even received a bottle of MCC and strawberries dipped in chocolate for our celebration.
The breakfast was outstanding, with so many choices, even MCC and oysters available.
We have stayed at 3 other hotels in Sandton before, but will definitely return to Sandton Sun in the future!!
It is also conveniently close to the shopping area as well as a number of wonderful restaurants.
At the moment, renovations of the entrance to Sandton City are underway, but the staff and security personel were very helpful in directing us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your positive feedback.

I am delighted that you were happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

May stay at Sandton on the 07/06/2014 Sun was excellent,the staff is was so professional and forever helpful,Its place where I was treated like a king.The food is excellent and variety of food was nice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager
Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Sandton Sun was an outstanding relaxation and breathe away from the busy world. An oasis in the heart of Jozi!
We were treated with the utmost courtesy at all times and blown away at how friendly the staff were. A definite return destination!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing