We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improvement from last year !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Improvement from last year !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Attended annual conference, and am happy to say there was a marked improvement overall when compared to my last stay. Breakfast buffet was superb. Room was fine although the shower wasn't working properly and I had to use the hand shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffordius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for noticing the improvements from your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    242
    85
    21
    19
See reviews for
123
140
45
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Sandton sun was typical of a well established hotel in a very central location in Sandton. It is right next to Nelson Mandela square but then again , so are other hotels like the intercontinental which are connected with a flyover between the buildings. It is maybe a 5-10 minute walk across the indoor access walkway into the shopping mall next door. I was staying there for almost a week so it was important to have the amenities and services required for a comfortable stay.

Here we go the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Large sized, clean rooms with comfortable furnishings and some modern amenities e.g.
coffee machine, large electronic in room safe, etc
- Friendly staff , quick responses to requests made at any hour of the day.
- Wifi was fast but allocation needs upgrading, as mentioned in the cons later on.
- In room dining was great, food was well prepared
- Business suites on the 6th floor gave a good venue to have meetings, but only 1 hour per
day is allowed free of charge. Additional time is charged at ZAR 300 per hour which is
expensive. I did use the room for a meeting and it was well setup, so would recommend it.
- Bar with an outdoor patio had good entertainment (music, live music , DJ) in the evenings,
large fireplace setup due to it being winter it was helpful as nights get cold in Johannesburg
then.
- Location is excellent, close to shopping. The hotel provides free shuttle service within a few
hotels in sandton so guests don't have to walk around at night.

Cons:
- EXPENSIVE :-) The breakfast in room dining option is not well designed because you can only buy a set menu, instead of A La Carte options so it becomes overwhelming for a morning breakfast if you just want eggs and toast to have to order options from a set menu

- the Wifi is actually not free as it only gives 750 MB per day as an allocation free of charge, anything above that is subject to charges so the guest needs to buy the extra usage.

- The indoor design of the hotel is built like a hollow shell with 20 floors of rooms so the sounds from the lobby carries up at night. If its a busy night then the noise might be an issue as i could hear the guests talking and laughing at a higher floor on 2 nights i was there.

All in all, a good stay but definitely expensive so if i was staying for longer than 4 days, i would plan to spend some additional cash on the dining and amenities. The pros' outweigh the cons so i would rate this hotel as a place i would stay again if i visited Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid noise from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank movin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is vitally important for us to hear your views as it is through this that we are able to make changes and improve in the direction our customers' desires.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaubassin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'm so pleased with my stay at Sandton Sun. It's a very good hotel. Will recommand it strongly. The breakfast was really good. The people were very friendly and I received a warm welcom. The hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 35Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The property had excellent accommodations for business/group travelers. As a female traveler i felt very safe in the accommodations. The open center atrium was a delightful and energetic space to enjoy dining and meeting with colleagues. The only negative aspect was the lack of lighting in the room.

Room Tip: no adjoining rooms so ask for rooms that are on the same floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryVail2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice classy hotel. Comfortable, spacious rooms with friendly staff. Breakfast is really good and I especially enjoyed the variety with smoked salmon, fruits, pastries and even oysters! The hotel is close to the Gautrain station as well. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevator if you can, it can be a long walk if it is on the other end as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheerfulJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family of 5 went during the June Holidays to Sandton Sun. The staff were really wonderful and the breakfast was excellent. Alhough the hotel is more a corporate hotel, we loved the atmosphere and the hotel is linked to the Sandton Mall and Nelson Mandela Square. Breakfast was excellent and my 3 kids ate for free. The rooms were absolutely comfortable. I will go back to Sandton Sun any day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very good a overall. Thank you for allowing me to focus on my work.
I visited Johannesburg for business. And insist on Sandton sun. In addition to being close to Mandela square. A plaza with many restaurants that is relatively safe. The service is great compared to what I have experienced in Johannesburg. Staff are courteous as long as you are kind to them ;-)
South Africans in general will not let anyone get away with disrespectful attitudes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Georgesdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service that we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Property: Sandton Sun
Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing