We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was an perfect one night hotel for us as we started our trip into Africa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was an perfect one night hotel for us as we started our trip into Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We were transferred from the airport to this hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a notice that the water supply was not working, however this was rectified relatively quickly. The hotels rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. The staff we encountered were very helpful. As we were only staying for one night it was a perfect overnight venue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam4453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Liam4453,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our lovely hotel. We appreciate your comments about our hotel, its facilities and staff, even though it was just for one night.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you return to Johannesburg again.

Yours in hospitality,

Jaco Steyn-Venter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    18
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
38
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

situation in a posh area in sandton, the hotel is quiet and provides good rest. the room was comfortable, although the bathroom got wet as the screen meant to block water was not sufficient. wifi works in certain areas but was not strong in the room. toiletries provided were decent for use but certainly not luxurious. breakfast was fantastic, despite the spread not being too wide, whatever was available was amazing, especially the eggs. the best part of the hotel was the free shuttle service within a 5km radius, gets you to sandton city and back. super thoughtful and convenient. overall, for the price i paid, i thought it was excellent value for money. would recommend it if you're looking for a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear aaron0421,

We at Faircity Falstaff would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the effort that goes into a review like this and use all feedback, good or bad, to continuously improve our product and services to our valued guests.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in hospitality
Jaco Steyn-Venter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I am a very loyal Quartermain guest. I travelled with a colleague who prefers the Falstaff. It's very similar to the Quartermain just smaller. Brilliant service. Scrumptious breakfast.

My only gripes were the shower is over the bath which meant it poured water all over the floor. I also called a day before to arrange for my courier to deliver a box for me to use when UTI arrived the staff at Flastaff wouldn't sign for the box, despite being marked clearly "guest". This was highly inconvenient and frustrating. Also the WiFi didn't work in my room. I had to go to the restaurant/ lounge. This also wasn't ideal.

This being said. I would stay again if the Quartermain couldn't have me!!

Room Tip: As far as possible from the restaurant. It was very noisy. I was in 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessetami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Princessetami,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you also for your constructive feedback on our hotel and its services and apologies for the challenges you experienced during your stay.

We also appreciate the comments about our sister hotel, the Faircity Quatermain.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at either of our hotels during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great surroundings, beautiful gardens, safe and secure. Great breakfasts. Large bedroom, fantastic bathroom. Attentive service while not too stuffy or formal. I'd actually stay here if visiting friends in the area and not on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear VeeVee07,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to hear that this is your favourite business hotel.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is located in the safest and richest area probably of the whole continent.
There are no nearby attractions, however consider you're in Johannesburg so, overall, there's not many attractions anyway.
The hotel itself is very pleasant. Unlike other big business hotels no long corridors with endless rooms but a dislocation throughout the area, around a lovely swimming pool area.
Rooms are clean, fairly big and classically decorated.
Gym is small (2 tapis, 1 cyclett, 1 rowing machine, 1 eliptic, and weights until 10kg). Could be improved, but good enough for everyday workouts. Unfortunately outdoors activities are not especially recommended so you need to cope with what you have in the gym to workout.
Restaurant is great. Fair prices, very high quality, makes in room dining a pleasure. Could be improved the light meals selection as they're not that light :) Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of pastries, cereals, and salted food.
The bar area is fantastic, with a fire place for the winter, TV to watch sports, couches to relax.
Staff is extremely friendly and serviable.
The whole for a fair 90€ a night!

Room Tip: Avoid room close to the road, given the traffic of Sandton in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear AndreCdC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback on our services and facilities is highly appreciated.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel during your next visit.

Kindest regards
J Steyn-Venter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Faircity Falstaff turned out to be a little gem. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is quite fun and the accommodations were certainly adequate. Loved the breakfast buffet and enjoyed one dinner there at the restaurant. They really cared about us and meeting our needs! Wi-fi while free was a little inconsistent at times.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaddyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Gaddyx2,

Thanks you for your kind and positive review of out beautiful intimate hotel. We really do pride ourselves on our friendly, caring and helpful staff and thank you also for acknowledging this fact.

We are delighted to hear that you also enjoyed our Food and Beverage facilities and services.

We hope to see you back at the Faircity Falstaff Hotel soon.

Sincerely

Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here two nights ago....reception, bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely.Great value for money compared to Australia. Cannot comment on location as we don't know the J'burg area well and were only staying one night

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Andrea B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our lovely hotel. We appreciate your comments about our hotel, its facilities and value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you return to Johannesburg again.

Yours in hospitality,

Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.3 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#19 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Property: Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Address: 223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Falstaff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen satellite TV. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant with a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available on site. A minibar and an iron are in Faircity’s spacious rooms. Each comes with a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Wooden furniture and white linens are part of the modern classic décor. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant. Room service, including breakfast, is also available. Guests can relax with a drink by the fireplace in the lounge or on the terrace. Sandton City is just 2 km from Faircity Falstaff Hotel. The O.R. Tambo International Airport is 27 km away, and a shuttle can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstaff Hotel Johannesburg
Faircity Falstaff Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing