We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel outside of Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great hotel, friendly service, clean spaceous rooms, great breakfast and if you want lunch and dinner available. Reasonable rates. Stayed on business for 4 nights and worked out great. Only issue I had was with internet but I think it was something in US about my computer as the IPAD worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Pekoehouston,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We take great pride in our friendly service, great food and quiet, cosy atmosphere. Also worth noting is that we are in the process of introducing a new summer menu in our restaurant and should you return to our hotel, you will be able to sample some of the wonderful new dishes on this menu.

Yours in hospitality
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the beginning of Sept. 2013. It is such a cute hotel and the staff are very friendly. The restaurant is beyond superb. I would suggest to just eat there and do not venture out for dining. We made the mistake of eating at The Butcher Shop in The Mandela Square and wished we had stayed at the hotel for dinner. Great, quiet and cozy hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a swimming pool and small gym. No spa. They have free shuttle service to the mall and train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pekoehouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Pekoehouston,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on the Faircity Quatermain Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, Sel et Poivre, with our award-winning celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz. Be on the lookout for his exciting new spring menu to be rolled out soon.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a beautiful little gem situated in the heart of Sandton. A stone's throw away from Sandton City and Morningside, the Quartermain is convenient. It is amenable with the courtyard being a pleasant feature. There is WiFi available which in today's world of connectivity is a must. If you are interested in meeting at your hotel this would be an ideal place as a get-away from the hustle and bustle without leaving the city. It is always the details that distinguish the average from that 'special' place. It was so tempting to test the beautiful orchids in the reception areas I must admit I broke a petal. It's an old world charm that pervades in atmosphere as well as service.The added service of a shuttle is a bonus if you are ever without transport in the city of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear GABCDFreeman,

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique setting and environment at the Faircity Quatermain.

We pride ourselves on offering a secluded bespoke environment with all the extras you will expect from a hotel like ours; free WiFi, good service, complimentary shuttles, the list goes on.

We also take special care of gardens and all orchid plants in our hotels as they are our pride and joy, adding to the homely atmosphere and charm.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

First my rant - this is primarily a business hotel in one of the smartest suburbs of Johannesburg but the wifi connection is positively third world. In the public areas the connection is okay, but from the rooms - where let's face it you'd rather work than in a bar - it's so erratic that on most occasions I just give up. It's deeply frustrating and is the reason I would not stay here again. When you complain at reception (where they always look at you as if you're about to accuse them of something) they say they'll talk to the provider who will contact you. And that's the last you hear of it. A shame, as the hotel is comfortable and most of the staff are charming. It's quiet with a relatively new free shuttle service that will take you to happening places if you need to see some life. The restaurant is "faine daining" and only let down by the sad little dish of damp veg that accompanies every dish and never varies. You long for spinach...yes you do! Rooms are well equipped and beautifully serviced. The phones and phone system ara almost as backward as the wi-fi as you can't leave voice messages and the operator usually waits 24 hours before passing on a phone message. Come on Quatermain...you're so close to being a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shylocktubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear shylocktubal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear you found the accommodation and hotel well serviced and clean.

We do apologise that the IT infrastructure did not meet with your expectations.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Absolutely enjoyed our three day stopover. Beautiful and well set out courtyards, friendly and courteous staff.
Shuttle bus to Sandton ran on a frequent basis and could be booked to pick you up from Sandton at a pre arranged time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Alan B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours in hospitality
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was my second stay at the Quatermain and again, the front desk was freindly and efficient. Last time I stayed in room 102 and was hoping to get a more quiter room this time around however, 204 is as noisy as 102 was. This had however mainly to do with other hotel guest who simply didnt care about others when they arrive or leave their rooms.

The room itself was very clean again and all was in order. The shower had a nice pressure and was hot!

This time around I also had dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent! Lots of fresh cut fruits on the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Sasha K,

A belated welcome back to out hotel! Thank you once again for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms as well as our great food. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Yours in hospitality
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Was quite excited when I arrived the night before a week long conference. Layout etc was really nice. First day of conference, did not have the equipment needed to run visual presentation, did not comeback with a solution. Food was average, took three days to sort out the seating arrangements at lunchtime. Staff need to be more friendly and greet the guest as they walk past especially in the morning a good morning would be nice. Room was clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Difficult - I had noisy neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabieriverbushlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Sabierivierbushlodge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel and its service on Tripadvisor. I really would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your conference at our hotel. We have addressed your issue with the conferencing department.

Your sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 47 in Sandton
163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.3 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing