We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel close to Sandton City with free shuttle service and wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Quatermain and had such a peaceful time on a king size bed, beautiful bathroom with a shower and a bath. The hotel has so many places to chill, relax, soak in the sun, or take in the beautifula outdoors of this majestic hotel. The finishings are of a superior quality. The bar has a wide range of drinks, and there is a huge area to relax and enjoy your drink. The free shuttle service to Sandton City and free wi-fi makes this a rare boutique hotel. It is close to Sandton City and the free way. Our room wasn't ready at the time of check in and we got drinks on the house while we waited for about 10min.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from the new wing., further from the dinning area and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear SwaziQueen,

Thank you so much for your kind comments no Tripadvisor about our beautiful hotel. We really do appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the tranquillity of our hotel, together with its many relaxing areas in our beautiful gardens, as well as our well-appointed rooms and bathrooms.

The shuttle service and complimentary uncapped WiFi is there to enhance our guests' stay and furnish them with all the extras that a modern day traveller need.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a great stay over the weekend. Our stay was purely for pleasure and not business. Rooms very spacious and clean. Hotel very warm and homely.
Staff very friendly. Food in restaurant was top class. Breakfast every day also nice and staff on breakfast duty very helpful and friendly. Definitely not our last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Natasha V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We really do appreciate your kind comments about the warmth and homeliness of our hotel.

additionally we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, as we are quite well known for our food, responsibility of celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz.

We are certainly looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It was a great stay, exceptional and the lady who was helping there her name is puleng the house keeping lady was also wonderful could use a person like her in the reception area to start the mood with her wonderful smile, bubbly personality, friendliness and chat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Jackie N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will also share your kind comments with our staff.

We do pride ourselves on our friendly service at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon to our beautiful hotel.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Modern hotel in Sandton a suburb of Johanesburg. There are steps to all rooms and some rooms are a long way from reception up and down several flights of steps. Room large and clean. Many seating areas in courtyards throughout the property. Small swimming pool. Restaurant service erratic it could be very slow at times but the food was superb. Room service was available but there always seemed to be a lot of dirty crockery, cutlery and glassware in the walkways outside rooms whatever the time of day. Nowhere near the city center and nowhere to walk to nearby, taxi's the only way to get about or there was a shuttle avalable from hotel to CBD and the Gautang train station that goes to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear LesGUk,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, we thank you for your good comments about our room size and cleanliness.

Unfortunately the unique double storey architecture of our beautiful buildings do not allow for mechanised access to rooms on the upper floor. We do however try to accommodate all our guests in a room of their choice, especially if the guest requires easy access to a room on the lower floor.

We also do apologise that you found the food service not up to standard and have addressed it with the relevant department.

Our hotel is indeed located in the beautiful leafy suburb of Morningside in Sandton, 5 minutes drive from the Sandton CBD. Our complimentary shuttle mini-busses will gladly shuttle our guests to and from the CBD and train station.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a well appointed hotel in an excellent location. My husband has stayed here on several occasions. However this time was part if a holiday break and we were underwhelmed. The place is clearly geared to conferences and groups were noisy and intrusive to the extent that we did not feel welcome to sit round or use the swimming pool. Still not sure if the 'trench' in the garden area was a pool or not but it was dirty anyway!
Wifi in the rooms was intermittent so one had to use a lounge with conference visitors. We only ate breakfast here which was ok but uninteresting. Nowhere near as good as at the B and Bs we have stayed in. As a point of interest thus is decidedly not suitable for disabled guests as there are many steps and different levels throughout. Staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room at the back near the garden if you want to avoid conference groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Chris F,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We highly value all feedback from our guests highly.

Firstly, thank you on your comment our hotel being well geared for business travellers. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome because of the conference groups around you. Unfortunately, being primarily a business hotel, November is our busiest month of the year, especially during the week. I can assure you that we value all our guests both business and leisure travellers alike.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the pleasantness and helpfulness of out staff.

Unfortunately the unique double storey architecture of our beautiful buildings do not allow for mechanised access to rooms on the upper floor. We do however try to accommodate all our guests in a room of their choice, especially if the guest requires easy access to a room on the lower floor.

We do hope to welcome you and your husband back to our hotel in future and we trust that we will be able to redeem ourselves then.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Absolutely loved this colonial inspired hotel. Except for a terribly bitter coffee at breakfast (room has better coffee with the capsule machine) and poor WiFi (most hotels in South Africa) I have nothing to complain about. Slept well and surrounded by friendly and helpful staff.
One of the highlights was a stunning sirloin steak in the restaurant. Hard to find better meat anywhere on the globe.
Would certainly like to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Pligs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good food. We have proudly shared your comments with all members of staff at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I have been happy with my stay at the hotel. Efficient staff and shuttle service. Close to all business districts. Restaurant menu was adventurous although under delivered, auper wine list albeit much was unavailable. Small gym and decent wifi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our product and services.

We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located and that you also found our staff, shuttle bus and WiFi efficient.

Thank you also for your feedback about the food, we have just in the last week changed to a brans new summer menu and wish to apologise if the execution is not quite there yet. We are ensuring all staff members are constantly trained on the service and delivery of the new menu.

We trust that when you return to our hotel, you will experience the new and exciting menu to its fullest.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 46 in Sandton
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature Lux Hotels
Signature Lux Hotels
#29 of 46 in Sandton
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing