We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$155
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$255
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$596
US$575
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
121
119
40
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
119
40
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorningside shopping centrecountry housequiet hotelcomplimentary shuttle servicesmall swimming pooldesk staffconference roomshuttle busnight staycity hotelrooms are largebeautiful gardenreception areasandton areasouth africaenjoyed my staysafe area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We actually booked at Faircity Falstaff initially and I was a little uneasy when our reservation was moved to Faircity Quartermain as I chose Falstaff because of their great reviews. My fears were put to rest as soon as we were picked up in the free shuttle from the train station. The service we received from everyone at this hotel was nothing short of amazing. The room was comfortable and elegant with free in room wi-fi. We ate at the hotel restaurant our first night and it was so amazing we ate all our meals for two days at the hotel. I cannot say enough good things about Faircity Quartermain and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank blackendangel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear blackendangel13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really do appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms elegant and comfortable. The complimentary shuttle service and complimentary uncapped WiFi is there to enhance our guests' stay and furnish them with all the extras that a modern day traveller need, albeit for business or leisure.

Thank you also for your comments about our restaurant, operated by celebrity Chef Coco Reinarhz and the great food they serve there.

Your comments about the service are really appreciated and will be shared with all our team members.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Quatermain and had such a peaceful time on a king size bed, beautiful bathroom with a shower and a bath. The hotel has so many places to chill, relax, soak in the sun, or take in the beautifula outdoors of this majestic hotel. The finishings are of a superior quality. The bar has a wide range of drinks, and there is a huge area to relax and enjoy your drink. The free shuttle service to Sandton City and free wi-fi makes this a rare boutique hotel. It is close to Sandton City and the free way. Our room wasn't ready at the time of check in and we got drinks on the house while we waited for about 10min.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from the new wing., further from the dinning area and swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear SwaziQueen,

Thank you so much for your kind comments no Tripadvisor about our beautiful hotel. We really do appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the tranquillity of our hotel, together with its many relaxing areas in our beautiful gardens, as well as our well-appointed rooms and bathrooms.

The shuttle service and complimentary uncapped WiFi is there to enhance our guests' stay and furnish them with all the extras that a modern day traveller need.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a great stay over the weekend. Our stay was purely for pleasure and not business. Rooms very spacious and clean. Hotel very warm and homely.
Staff very friendly. Food in restaurant was top class. Breakfast every day also nice and staff on breakfast duty very helpful and friendly. Definitely not our last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Natasha V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We really do appreciate your kind comments about the warmth and homeliness of our hotel.

additionally we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, as we are quite well known for our food, responsibility of celebrity chef, Coco Reinarhz.

We are certainly looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It was a great stay, exceptional and the lady who was helping there her name is puleng the house keeping lady was also wonderful could use a person like her in the reception area to start the mood with her wonderful smile, bubbly personality, friendliness and chat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Jackie N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will also share your kind comments with our staff.

We do pride ourselves on our friendly service at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon to our beautiful hotel.

Sincerely
Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Modern hotel in Sandton a suburb of Johanesburg. There are steps to all rooms and some rooms are a long way from reception up and down several flights of steps. Room large and clean. Many seating areas in courtyards throughout the property. Small swimming pool. Restaurant service erratic it could be very slow at times but the food was superb. Room service was available but there always seemed to be a lot of dirty crockery, cutlery and glassware in the walkways outside rooms whatever the time of day. Nowhere near the city center and nowhere to walk to nearby, taxi's the only way to get about or there was a shuttle avalable from hotel to CBD and the Gautang train station that goes to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear LesGUk,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, we thank you for your good comments about our room size and cleanliness.

Unfortunately the unique double storey architecture of our beautiful buildings do not allow for mechanised access to rooms on the upper floor. We do however try to accommodate all our guests in a room of their choice, especially if the guest requires easy access to a room on the lower floor.

We also do apologise that you found the food service not up to standard and have addressed it with the relevant department.

Our hotel is indeed located in the beautiful leafy suburb of Morningside in Sandton, 5 minutes drive from the Sandton CBD. Our complimentary shuttle mini-busses will gladly shuttle our guests to and from the CBD and train station.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews