We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Many people may like this hotel but alas I am not one of them.
Firstly the layout, Walking around the pool and up many stairs to get to the room which overlooked the courtyard and pool. In the morning I was awoken by a number of people taking photographs and inexplicably shouting at each other from 1 meter away!
The rooms are clean and have most things you will need. For reasons best known to the hotel the TV volume was limited to a very low volume (lower than the shouting family outside). The menu promised much but alas it was between poor and average. Breakfast saw many waiting staff but I don’t know what they were actually there for as the tables were not made up and it took way to long to get a fill up on a cup of coffee. My biggest issue was however with the front desk. On checking in they ran my credit card though through the old school machine that makes an imprint. Next they asked me to sign this unfilled in credit card slip. I refused of course. When checking out they ran the card through a normal machine. I asked for the imprint but was told that it was in the safe and the manager didn’t come into 10:00 ! Great work if you are the manager and don’t star work until 10:00AM.
Overall not what I expect from a hotel charging this amount.

Room Tip: Don't sign the credit card slip at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear GastroNinja,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all feedback from our guests and continuously use it to improve our service to our guests.

We do apologise if you found the manual imprint of you credit card antiquated and inconvenient. We do this simply to ensure we have a credit card to charge for any extras on a guest account and do not actually charge it until check out, when we then run your card through a card machine. The alternative, like in most other hotels, is to take a pre-authorisation on your card through the machine, but we found that it inconvenience guests even more, as once we release the pre-authorisation, it can take up to a week for the cardholder's bank to release the funds back into the guests account. However, we will review this process again based upon your feedback.

We have taken note of your comments of the food and breakfast service and taken it up with the proprietor of the restaurant.

Regarding your comments on the stairs in our hotel, it is actually what makes our hotel unique and sets it apart from other modern-style high-rise hotel buildings. Ours is a homely country-style hotel no more that one floor high with only staircases and wide open passages with no modern escalators or elevators. This compliments the whole atmosphere of our unique hotel.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    105
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
73
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. Total duration of stay was 2 days. As a conference venue it seemed to be very popular. There were up to 8 conferences on the go at the same time. Our conference room was a bit small for the 25 people but adequate. The catering was good as well.
I have no complaints about the hotel. Everything worked as expected and it was neat, clean and well maintained. I used the gym which was much more spacious than the average hotel gym.
We used the shuttle service extensively and this works well. It was timeous ... always available at the time that we had it booked.

Room Tip: I had room 106 which was tucked away in a corner. I had very little disturbances as there was no pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Sajit K,

Firstly, thank you kindly for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and conference with us and that you found everything clean and well maintained at our property. Our complimentary shuttle service is there for the convenience of our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of this service and found it effective and timeous.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is a very good selection for business people and tourists who are spending time in Johannesburg. Its location is good to main shopping areas of Mandela Square. Also, there are smaller size shopping mall around it where you can very good restaurants. The landscape is very beautiful with good green areas inside and the architectural design of a hotel makes more like a big mansion rather than the model block styles hotels. The restaurant also provides good variety of food and the food is always very nice. The business rooms is very quiet and provides good environment for business conferences.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Mansi66,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to do a write-up of our beautiful hotel. We pride ourselves on our lush gardens and stylish architecture, creating the feeling of a home, not just another hotel.

Our location is unique in that it is close enough to all the main attractions in Sandton, but located in a quite neighbourhood, giving our guests the best of both worlds.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant headed up by award-winning chef Coco Reinarhz.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Lovely hotel,friendly staff,excellent rooms with wifi and international socket in room.
Lot of steps due to layout so need to be aware of same, food very good quality .
Lovely relaxing courtyard and pool also small gym .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Ciaran58,

Thank you for taking the time to rate out hotel on Tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated.

We are glad to hear you found out hotel lovely with friendly staff, our well appointed rooms and complimentary uncapped WiFi for all our guests.

Our guest facilities include two serviced pool areas, a gym, an award-winning restaurant, a library and bar / lounge.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this absolutely lovely, non pretentious hotel in Sandton. The pub lounge was very comfortable, the rooms were roomy, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The courtyard around which everything derives has a nice pool and the fragrance of nice fauna. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were nice as well Located near business but in residential estate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padrepadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear padrepadre,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms comfortable, clean and well appointed.

We do indeed aim to create a comfortable, homely environment for all our guests in our lounges, at the pool area, indeed all over the hotel.

We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our food, masterfully prepared by celebrity chef Coco Reinarhz.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacky, Slovakia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel provided everything I needed for my stay in Johannesburg. Safe location, very nice building and surroundings. Nice selection of meals for breakfast, good WIFI everywhere in hotel and very practical shuttle transport. Thanks to very helpful staff, my stay was enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this place. If I will go to Joburg again, this is hotel of my choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip_Furian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear fillip_furian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really do appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel safe and well located. The complimentary shuttle service and complimentary uncapped WiFi is there to enhance our guests' stay and furnish them with all the extras that a modern day traveller need, albeit for business or leisure.

Thank you also for your comments about our restaurant, operated by celebrity Chef Coco Reinarhz and the great breakfast they serve there.

Your comments about the friendly service you received are really appreciated and will be shared with all our team members.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely
Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebank, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Thank you Quatermain.. We had a romantic night for two and it really was romantic. The room was perfect and had everything we needed. The suttle service also assisted to make our night unforgettable.
Had amazing dinner and breakfast. Loved the look of the hotel, it made us feel like we are far away..:)
Will go there again soon...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monette111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Monette111,

Thank you for taking the time to review Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a romantic evening in our beautiful hotel and that you found our hotel rooms to your liking.

We are also delighted that you found our shuttle service helpful and that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Property: Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing