We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Maslow(Sandton)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (298)
      Filter reviews
      298 results
      Traveller rating
      121
      119
      40
      11
      7
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      121
      119
      40
      11
      7
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsmorningside shopping centrecountry housequiet hotelcomplimentary shuttle servicesmall swimming pooldesk staffconference roomshuttle busnight staycity hotelrooms are largebeautiful gardenreception areasandton areasouth africaenjoyed my staysafe area
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      183 - 188 of 298 reviews
      Reviewed 27 May 2014

      The hotel has a very friendly staff. The restaurant in the hotel was much much than I expected. I had both breakfast and dinner and really enjoyed both of the meals. The rooms are good. Its not a luxury hotel but definitely clean and pretty big. Also free wife is a nice touch. The gym in the hotel is also good.

      • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank baci2003
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

      Dear baci2003,

      Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments and positive feedback are appreciated and will be shared with the rest of our team.

      Experiencing our restaurant with Chef Coco Reinarhz, is one of the highlights of staying at our hotel. Another noticeable feature about our hotel is the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and also our complimentary WiFi and well appointed gym.

      We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the not too distant future.

      Sincerely

      Jaco S
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 April 2014

      Many people may like this hotel but alas I am not one of them.
      Firstly the layout, Walking around the pool and up many stairs to get to the room which overlooked the courtyard and pool. In the morning I was awoken by a number of people taking photographs and inexplicably shouting at each other from 1 meter away!
      The rooms are clean and have most things you will need. For reasons best known to the hotel the TV volume was limited to a very low volume (lower than the shouting family outside). The menu promised much but alas it was between poor and average. Breakfast saw many waiting staff but I don’t know what they were actually there for as the tables were not made up and it took way to long to get a fill up on a cup of coffee. My biggest issue was however with the front desk. On checking in they ran my credit card though through the old school machine that makes an imprint. Next they asked me to sign this unfilled in credit card slip. I refused of course. When checking out they ran the card through a normal machine. I asked for the imprint but was told that it was in the safe and the manager didn’t come into 10:00 ! Great work if you are the manager and don’t star work until 10:00AM.
      Overall not what I expect from a hotel charging this amount.

      Room Tip: Don't sign the credit card slip at check in!
      • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank GastroNinja
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

      Dear GastroNinja,

      Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all feedback from our guests and continuously use it to improve our service to our guests.

      We do apologise if you found the manual imprint of you credit card antiquated and inconvenient. We do this simply to ensure we have a credit card to charge for any extras on a guest account and do not actually charge it until check out, when we then run your card through a card machine. The alternative, like in most other hotels, is to take a pre-authorisation on your card through the machine, but we found that it inconvenience guests even more, as once we release the pre-authorisation, it can take up to a week for the cardholder's bank to release the funds back into the guests account. However, we will review this process again based upon your feedback.

      We have taken note of your comments of the food and breakfast service and taken it up with the proprietor of the restaurant.

      Regarding your comments on the stairs in our hotel, it is actually what makes our hotel unique and sets it apart from other modern-style high-rise hotel buildings. Ours is a homely country-style hotel no more that one floor high with only staircases and wide open passages with no modern escalators or elevators. This compliments the whole atmosphere of our unique hotel.

      Sincerely

      Jaco S

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 April 2014

      I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. Total duration of stay was 2 days. As a conference venue it seemed to be very popular. There were up to 8 conferences on the go at the same time. Our conference room was a bit small for the 25 people but adequate. The catering was good as well.
      I have no complaints about the hotel. Everything worked as expected and it was neat, clean and well maintained. I used the gym which was much more spacious than the average hotel gym.
      We used the shuttle service extensively and this works well. It was timeous ... always available at the time that we had it booked.

      Room Tip: I had room 106 which was tucked away in a corner. I had very little disturbances as there was no passing traffic. Others in my group complained about outside noise in some of the other rooms.
      • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Sajit K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

      Dear Sajit K,

      Firstly, thank you kindly for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

      We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and conference with us and that you found everything clean and well maintained at our property. Our complimentary shuttle service is there for the convenience of our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of this service and found it effective and timeous.

      We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

      Yours in hospitality

      Jaco S

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 March 2014

      This hotel is a very good selection for business people and tourists who are spending time in Johannesburg. Its location is good to main shopping areas of Mandela Square. Also, there are smaller size shopping mall around it where you can very good restaurants. The landscape is very beautiful with good green areas inside and the architectural design of a hotel makes more like a big mansion rather than the model block styles hotels. The restaurant also provides good variety of food and the food is always very nice. The business rooms is very quiet and provides good environment for business conferences.

      • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Mansi66
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

      Dear Mansi66,

      Firstly thank you for taking the time to do a write-up of our beautiful hotel. We pride ourselves on our lush gardens and stylish architecture, creating the feeling of a home, not just another hotel.

      Our location is unique in that it is close enough to all the main attractions in Sandton, but located in a quite neighbourhood, giving our guests the best of both worlds.

      We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant headed up by award-winning chef Coco Reinarhz.

      We hope to welcome you back soon.

      Yours in hospitality

      Jaco S

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 12 March 2014

      Lovely hotel,friendly staff,excellent rooms with wifi and international socket in room.
      Lot of steps due to layout so need to be aware of same, food very good quality .
      Lovely relaxing courtyard and pool also small gym .

      • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ciaran58
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

      Dear Ciaran58,

      Thank you for taking the time to rate out hotel on Tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated.

      We are glad to hear you found out hotel lovely with friendly staff, our well appointed rooms and complimentary uncapped WiFi for all our guests.

      Our guest facilities include two serviced pool areas, a gym, an award-winning restaurant, a library and bar / lounge.

      We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

      Yours in hospitality

      Jaco S

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews