We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a different design !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week and really enjoyed the hospitality. The breakfast is fantastic and staying at a hotel with old style layout was an altogether different experience. Lots of greenery and a very nice gym. Will definitely stay again....give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_sameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear sam_sameer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your week-long stay at our hotel and our hospitality. As you know we pride ourselves in the beautiful design and lay-out of our hotel as well as its lovely gardens and calm atmosphere.

Furthermore we are glad to hear that you found our gym to your satisfaction.

Our restaurant, headed by celebrity chef Coco Reinarhz, is always one of the highlights of a stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst travelling to watch the South Africa v Australia cricket series.

We arrived mid to late afternoon, helped inside with bags, check-in fairly slow. I was a little surprised by the style/layout of the hotel, it is quite large but most/all of the rooms closer to reception open off open corridors and onto a large courtyard.This in itself is not a problem, however the passageways are paved/tiled and as such passing traffic from people arriving and leaving wheeling suitcases makes quite a lot of noise.If you are given room 103 and you are a light sleeper I suggest you ask for another room as this a next to a passageway through to rooms at the rear of the property and the meeting rooms and gym, and where a computer terminal for guest use is located, so there is constant traffic and people standing around talking which can be very annoying. Whilst the rooms/bar/restaurant are non smoking, smokers congregate around the entrance door to the bar and reception, management condone this by providing ash trays etc. the Restaurant is quite nice, breakfast is ok but not a lot of choice, dinner is quite good with a large menu, service is a but hit and miss but overall it is ok. Would I go back and stay again, probably not, it is in a residential area with no restaurants in walking distance and judging by the high walls topped by electric fences I would guess it is not particularly safe outside at night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103, from what I saw all rooms are off paved passageways so passing traffic will always b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnthepom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Johnthepom0001,

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel on Tripadvisor. We always value all guest feedback, which enables us to improve on our product and services.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Room 103 in our hotel. The layout of our hotel is one of the distinguishing features that sets us apart from other high-rise hotels in the area. The hotel is open and airy, with many passages and beautiful gardens. It is a pity that you were bothered by passing guests in your room - we are always more than happy to move any guest who wants to be moved to another area in our hotel.

We are indeed a non-smoking hotel and only allow smoking in the designated outdoor pool and garden area. Once again, apologies if this inconvenienced you in any way.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a very friendly staff. The restaurant in the hotel was much much than I expected. I had both breakfast and dinner and really enjoyed both of the meals. The rooms are good. Its not a luxury hotel but definitely clean and pretty big. Also free wife is a nice touch. The gym in the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear baci2003,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments and positive feedback are appreciated and will be shared with the rest of our team.

Experiencing our restaurant with Chef Coco Reinarhz, is one of the highlights of staying at our hotel. Another noticeable feature about our hotel is the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and also our complimentary WiFi and well appointed gym.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Jaco S
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Many people may like this hotel but alas I am not one of them.
Firstly the layout, Walking around the pool and up many stairs to get to the room which overlooked the courtyard and pool. In the morning I was awoken by a number of people taking photographs and inexplicably shouting at each other from 1 meter away!
The rooms are clean and have most things you will need. For reasons best known to the hotel the TV volume was limited to a very low volume (lower than the shouting family outside). The menu promised much but alas it was between poor and average. Breakfast saw many waiting staff but I don’t know what they were actually there for as the tables were not made up and it took way to long to get a fill up on a cup of coffee. My biggest issue was however with the front desk. On checking in they ran my credit card though through the old school machine that makes an imprint. Next they asked me to sign this unfilled in credit card slip. I refused of course. When checking out they ran the card through a normal machine. I asked for the imprint but was told that it was in the safe and the manager didn’t come into 10:00 ! Great work if you are the manager and don’t star work until 10:00AM.
Overall not what I expect from a hotel charging this amount.

Room Tip: Don't sign the credit card slip at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear GastroNinja,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all feedback from our guests and continuously use it to improve our service to our guests.

We do apologise if you found the manual imprint of you credit card antiquated and inconvenient. We do this simply to ensure we have a credit card to charge for any extras on a guest account and do not actually charge it until check out, when we then run your card through a card machine. The alternative, like in most other hotels, is to take a pre-authorisation on your card through the machine, but we found that it inconvenience guests even more, as once we release the pre-authorisation, it can take up to a week for the cardholder's bank to release the funds back into the guests account. However, we will review this process again based upon your feedback.

We have taken note of your comments of the food and breakfast service and taken it up with the proprietor of the restaurant.

Regarding your comments on the stairs in our hotel, it is actually what makes our hotel unique and sets it apart from other modern-style high-rise hotel buildings. Ours is a homely country-style hotel no more that one floor high with only staircases and wide open passages with no modern escalators or elevators. This compliments the whole atmosphere of our unique hotel.

Sincerely

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. Total duration of stay was 2 days. As a conference venue it seemed to be very popular. There were up to 8 conferences on the go at the same time. Our conference room was a bit small for the 25 people but adequate. The catering was good as well.
I have no complaints about the hotel. Everything worked as expected and it was neat, clean and well maintained. I used the gym which was much more spacious than the average hotel gym.
We used the shuttle service extensively and this works well. It was timeous ... always available at the time that we had it booked.

Room Tip: I had room 106 which was tucked away in a corner. I had very little disturbances as there was no pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sajit K,

Firstly, thank you kindly for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and conference with us and that you found everything clean and well maintained at our property. Our complimentary shuttle service is there for the convenience of our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of this service and found it effective and timeous.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is a very good selection for business people and tourists who are spending time in Johannesburg. Its location is good to main shopping areas of Mandela Square. Also, there are smaller size shopping mall around it where you can very good restaurants. The landscape is very beautiful with good green areas inside and the architectural design of a hotel makes more like a big mansion rather than the model block styles hotels. The restaurant also provides good variety of food and the food is always very nice. The business rooms is very quiet and provides good environment for business conferences.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Mansi66,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to do a write-up of our beautiful hotel. We pride ourselves on our lush gardens and stylish architecture, creating the feeling of a home, not just another hotel.

Our location is unique in that it is close enough to all the main attractions in Sandton, but located in a quite neighbourhood, giving our guests the best of both worlds.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant headed up by award-winning chef Coco Reinarhz.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Lovely hotel,friendly staff,excellent rooms with wifi and international socket in room.
Lot of steps due to layout so need to be aware of same, food very good quality .
Lovely relaxing courtyard and pool also small gym .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Ciaran58,

Thank you for taking the time to rate out hotel on Tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated.

We are glad to hear you found out hotel lovely with friendly staff, our well appointed rooms and complimentary uncapped WiFi for all our guests.

Our guest facilities include two serviced pool areas, a gym, an award-winning restaurant, a library and bar / lounge.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 46 in Sandton
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature Lux Hotels
Signature Lux Hotels
#29 of 46 in Sandton
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West South Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing