We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location. Average hotel.”
Review of Riverside Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Sun
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vanderbijlpark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hotel has been rebranded a few times as I have been a regular guest over the years primarily because of it's location. Rooms have been pleasantly refreshed but bathrooms remain a feature from yesteryear! Staff & management are rather un-interested & sometimes arrogant but it seems this hotel has alot of government business so they can't really be bothered with the occasional leisure traveller. Also, rates are not on par with the quality of the establishment. If I had to pick a single reason for visiting, it would be location as the hotel in literally on the river!

Room Tip: If u can't get a river-facing room, don't go! Also 'leisure' superior' & ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

With lots of activities and facilities, the Riverside Lifestyle Resort was fun for the whole family. This resort provides for all ages, with the poolside a haven for playtime for the "River Rascals" the resorts kids activity program as well as for parents to sit down and relax alongside. The River Rascals program provides kids with hourly supervised activities throughout the day as well as a playroom housing various games and things to do. Kids ,and kids at heart, can enjoy the sturdy swing set and jungle gym.The bar provides guests with well made drinks all day but this is overridden by the slow and unfriendly service. There are great fishing spots alongside the riverbank. There are also exciting water-sports for an additional cost. During my stay we took a speed boat trip that was very exhilarating but dangerous as we were not given life jackets and two of the seats were broken. This was extremely disappointing considering the hefty fee we had to pay. My biggest problem with the resort was their pathetic service and unfriendly staff which was painfully slow but this could have been due to the fact that it was New Years and they might have been understaffed. The rooms were basic and livable but the bathroom lacked privacy as it had no locks on the doors. In the three days of my stay, the resort failed to fix the faulty lift which kept breaking. On of the good parts was that the resort provided halaal meals making for delicious convenient meals. The scenery was spectacular and unspoiled. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rumannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel has just been rebranded but looks like they only managed to increase their rates and lower their service offing’s. Too bad as the location is amazing but the general staff are incompetent and not willing to assist to help while all management can do is apologies for all the mistakes and mishaps that occur.
Not really impressed by the offerings of Southern Sun Lifestyle resort as this is my second visit to this brand. I feel you would be happier at a Garden Court hotel and would not regret spending the money you have at the Lifestyle brands.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a a river facing rooms and rather spend a little more and take a room with a quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My stay in the so called "Deluxe Room" left a lot to be desired. Nothing about this room suggested that it had recently been upgraded & there was definitely NO modern amenities & the carpets looked old & dreary! To sum it up, I was terribly disappointed!

It certainly wont be my first choice in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Mary731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It was the perfect getaway I have experience in a long time. As I am going through a very sad loss, I found the perfect peace for my soul on your river banks & the friendliness of your staff brought a smile to my face when ever they passed you or assisted you. As a family we found it ideal as my kids could entertain themselves while I sat & watched the river go by! We as a family will most ceartanly come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed over at the Riverside Lifestyle Resort during the weekend leading to Valentines Day. Had opted for their Romance Package which included Sparkling Wine (J C LeRoux Le Domaine) and a small box of assorted chocolates in the room and the buffet dinner. The drive from Jo'burg along the N1 and then the R57 was easy and the route to the hotel is clearly marked once you reach Vanderbijlpark. The hotel itself is fairly old, the architecture pretty unspectacular. But the interiors are comfortable, if a bit staid. It lacks the sophistication or chic feel of other Sun properties like the Sandton Sun or the Hyde Park Sun. Nonetheless, there's not much to complain about. The rooms are spacious and but the bathrooms pretty small. We stayed in a river facing room, and the view is well worth the premium they charge. The hotel is right on the banks of the Vaal river and its expansive grounds offer lots of space to play, lounge or just sit on the riverside benches. The pool is kinda small though. The buffet dinner had lots of options but was rather mediocre. Breakfast was much better. The hotel grounds has a boat ride operator called the Boathouse and we took a cruise of the river Vaal, which was very nice too.

Overall, this hotel is a good place to have a weekend getaway from Johannesburg. Just be sure to have a relaxed stay and enjoy the riverside lifestyle.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nayaksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed in the Hotel for 3 days. The gardens leading to the Vaal River was beautiful and restful. The staff was very friendly and helped me with all that I needed to know. They first had my booking incorrect as I got a carpark facing room instead of a river facing room (according to my booking), but quickly corrected it. Do ask for a river facing room - high up- it is much nicer!. The room was a superior room with a King size bed. The matrass and bedding was excellent! Clean and soft. Our room had only a shower. The only drawback is that one has an interlocking door to the room next door. At times we heard the people next door. The breakfast was superb. Over weekends I heard it can be very busy and noisy at the rivers end but in the week it was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagluiperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
1.8 mi away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#2 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
260 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
5.0 mi away
Ingwe Guest Lodge
Ingwe Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Sun

Address: Cnr. Wenning & Emfuleni Drive, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa (Formerly Riverside Lifestyle Resort)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: £129 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travellers to Johannesburg the Riverside Sun is located on the banks of the majestic Vaal River. Only 40 minutes from Johannesburg this hotel offers spectacular views, a range of sporting and leisure activities as well as several fully equipped conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Lifestyle Hotel Vanderbijlpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing