We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Route 66 motel”
Review of Hill Top Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill Top Motel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Route 66 motel”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Hill Top was not to best, nor worst, motel. It is a classic Route 66 stop and we met other fellow roadies who were also staying here. The rooms were decent, although I did note that the area under the bed needed better cleaning--but I have seen this at much fancier places too. The price was reasonable. If you want a modern corporate motel, then this is not for you. If you want a Route 66 experience then stay here. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
46
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Real deal 50s "mom-n-pop" type motel. Clean pool, clean yet tired rooms, but it's an old place. Great view. Some road noise, but not terrible.

My previous room here was kinda crappy, but thing time it was OK. AC worked, shower was good, and I slept well. Nice owner. Cool cat and dog live here too, so helps when you're missing your pet.

I'll certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first, then choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I spent last night at this motel. The owners were great from our first phone call to hold a room, to checking in. We had car problems 40 miles east of Needles, CA. I called to see if they had a room and told them we might be late. While checking in, they not only gave me directions to Ford, they also told us not to worry about a late checkout and then gave me tickets for free admission to Local museums if the repairs were to be all day. (Ford will shuttle you to a museum if the repairs are going to take too much time)

The room itself was clean, sound proof (couldn't hear passing freight trains), lot's of hot water. It was just what I hoped for in picking out a motel in Kingman. There is a lovely cactus garden on the grounds. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The motel is a nice family run establishment that benefits from its route 66 location... although my girlfriend and I managed to miss that and just came to Kingman on the way out of Vegas.

The room was, as other reviewers have said, basic but we found it clean and everything worked just as well as other motels we experienced through 2 weeks in California and neighbouring states.

The motel excelled by going the extra mile when it turned out we had a slow puncture... firstly they pumped it up so we were able to drive to (one of the number of) garages and also recommended their 'local'.

All in all I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived here in the dark, late after a long drive. We had mainly stayed in chain motels, this was our first independent. we pulled in, to be fair it did look like the kind of place u see in horror films in the movies. We booked in, it was cheap as hell. The family that ran it were very friendly. The room was very dated, brown, but clean, the restroom very clean and lots of towels. In all honesty me n my other female friend were a little spooked out, but our male friend just thought we were being stupid (which we were!) we woke up fine and alive in the morning, with the sun beaming through the windows we saw the place in a different light, and it didn't seem half as spooky. I am glad we stayed there, it looked how motels look in the movies, and we were on a road trip from the uk, so this was what we wanted. I'd defo stay there again if I went back. Very cheap, and comfy, as long as your not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheese86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I really wanted to like this motel. As part of our Route 66 trip, we stayed here. I love the old 50's mom and pop places, and I know what to expect. This one is in serious need of a good scrubbing and TLC.
The owner acted like we woke him up when he came out to greet us. (It was the middle of the day), so much so that I wouldn't have been surprised if he was in his boxers and white undershirt. We literally saw him get up off the couch in the adjoining owner's area from lying down.
The carpet was threadbare in patches and pretty stained, that gave the overall feel of the room a sense of unclean, although the actual room wasn't dirty. The bathroom was clean and there were enough towels. The pool really needs some care. The bottom was dirty, like it needs to be painted, and the tiles were coming off the walls around the pool.
The view though... That is the thing saving this from being 2 stars or less. It really is one of the best views in Kingman.
It just seems like the owners are tired of caring for the place. There is a way to restore and update rooms without losing that old time charm, if only they would take the time and do it this would be a great place to stay again.
I would pass on this place on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel66More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Not the best hotel we stayed at but ok, had a pool which was a bit run down but refreshing. part of route 66 trip, a good stop off.
Owner gave us some retro postcards which was good as i'm a postcard collecter

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingman hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Kingman
Ramada Kingman
#4 of 28 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#11 of 28 in Kingman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#23 of 28 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Trovatore Motel
El Trovatore Motel
#7 of 28 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus A Wayfarer's Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel

Property: Hill Top Motel
Address: 1901 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401-6256
Region: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hill Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Kingman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing