We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaalnest Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Vereeniging B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Service from the staff was amazing.
Value for money gourmet meals served with great care and warmness.
The rooms were very well serviced and equipped for a comfortable stay.
The views from the balcony, overlooking the dam is a sight to see.
Amenities on site is limited to a swimming pool, a little park for short strolls and tables, chairs and sun shades for sundowners and open air cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mervin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt621, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel, we appreciate your support and glad your stay with us was pleasant. Vaalnest has also soon launched Vaalnest Cycle tours which now allow guests to ride around the quiet Holiday Town of Vaal Marina. We will also very soon launch Vaalnest Tours which will allow for those guests to be transported to activity sites. Be sure to visit us again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    39
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
80
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room itself was wonderful, we really enjoyed the balcony overlooking the Vaal dam. Breakfast was top class and dinner was even better. The staff was friendly too, only the pool was too cold, but i would definitely go back and make recommendations

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ZGSithebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt621, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We appreciate your support and please feel free to share your experiences at Vaalnest on our social media platform as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A very nice hotel with excellent rooms and excellent service provided by the staff - can definitely recommend the menue as the food was very good.
I would suggest that clients be informed that closest town is in fact Vereeniging (40 km) with cinemas and shopping centres as there is not must to do in the surrounding areas and no road signs to indicate where and how far Vereeniging is on the road itself or any intersection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JacoLubbe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt621, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your valued input. We really looking forward to welcoming you back to Vaalnest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordview, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We would like to thank Matthias and the other staff for an enjoyable two night stay at Vaalnest.

The hospitality and friendliness extended to us was very much appreciated.

Thank you for going the extra mile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt621, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel, We appreciate your support and Vaalnest is happy to know your two Nights stay with us was very pleasant. Our quality service to guests is our number one priority and we glad Vaalnest lived up to your expectations. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife & I decided to celebrate our 7 year anniversary with a weekend away & Vaalnest turned out to be the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday with its beautiful setting & comfortable accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig Sheldon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us we value your response and looking forward to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The room was a bit small - especially if one - is to stay over for longer than a night or two. - The food and service however, was excellent. Will return again thanks to the food and service. - Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Groves Delegate... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us we do value your response and we excited that your stay was memorable. The room that you stayed in is 25sq metres with your next visit we will recommend our presidential suite which is 68sq metres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is not what we expected at all. The place is lovely. The honeymoon suit is huge, the king size bed was out of this world. The service we got was amazing we loved it to bits. The quality of the food is 100% it's all done fresh to order. The only thing we noticed was the room could do with some loving. All good and all to keep a room clean and fresh. But touch up are just as important. Peeling paint, broken skirting. The patio looked liked it had never been varnished since the day it was put in. Had such a rough surface. The wood was rotting and breaking away. The outside of the rooms were in need of some good touch ups. It was hard to sit there and not notice it. We woke up to the Sunday of the water system fulling up and running as the room above was having a shower or running a bath was not nice at all. They need to sort that system out. Were looking forward to just lying in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timmyandlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias A, General Manager at Vaalnest Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us we really do appreciate your feedback. We so sorry the water that you referring to from the above room was unfortunately a burst valve on the outside of the building, we attend to it and thank you for bringing it to our attention. The balcony in question is scheduled to be re-vanished the first week in June.14 , we do treat our wood twice a year. With the abnormal rainfall we had over the past months we needed to wait for the rain to stop and the wood to dry before we could attend to it. Thank you once again for your input, looking forward to welcome you back to Vaalnest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
23.2 mi away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
22.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#21 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
19.6 mi away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
#1 of 10 in Hekpoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaalnest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaalnest Boutique Hotel

Property: Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
Address: 587 Kob Street | Vaal Marina, Vereeniging 1945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaalnest Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vaalnest Boutique Hotel at the Vaal Dam is a small and intimate hotel in the quaint town of Vaal Marina in the Vereeniging/Midvaal area, it redefines luxurious accommodation with a 4 star rating. We are a number one stop location on route to Durban, Drakensberg and even Lesotho. Our boutique hotel is a popular couples escape, team building and conference venue. Showcasing some of the most spectacular scenic sites perfect for bird watching, fishing and yachting enthusiasts. Come and experience the perfect outdoor base camp with tailored made accommodation packages to suite your needs. Bookings can be made for various activities such as Paint Ball games, River Rafting, Quad Biking, Inflatable Sports, Archery, Boat Cruises and visits to the birding routes. We have our own in-house events organiser who can coordinate everything from accommodation package to the perfect milestone birthday celebration, conference or team building session. Just about an hour's drive from Johannesburg, it is a perfect weekend getaway in one of the scenic sites of Gauteng. "An alluring nature experience with a touch of tranquillity" The perfect Spa boutique hotel... Rejuvenate your body, and get treated to a relaxing body massage facility that features first class service. Vaalnest together with Kalahari brings you a well sort after Spa therapy that incorporates the finest aromatic body oils to help the body relax and let the juices flow. Our Vaalnest Spa incorporates a lavish tranquil experience with nature and feature luxury service with the right advice, from our outdoor gazebo stations that offer various treatments, to our private indoor room service spa therapy sessions when requested. Vaalnest Spa can be ideal for that relaxing getaway you have been waiting for. Because we care for our client's well-being, we have made some products available for purchase once your treatment is done ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Vaalnest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing