We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A good weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We decided last minute to get out of Johannesburg for the weekend. Booking was made with ease. Arrived security was on the ball and you felt secure on the premises. Setting is as good as you can get. With the rain of the past few months the Vaal River was full, lush green banks and plenty of water activity taking place. We stayed in room 405, corner unit with a separate bed room and lounge. Ample space. Bathrooms are well appointed but smallish as this is an refurbished hotel. Found staff to be helpful and service quick. Buffet for dinner and breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Dinner roasts were out of this world. Tried to book the Spa buy could not get a booking due to our time constraints. Will have to come back for this experience.

All in all a good experience and we will go back. Affordable weekend away !

Room Tip: 405 and other corner units. Well appointed and ample space with great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    80
    48
    26
    16
See reviews for
59
79
4
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I recently chose to go away for my 50th to the Riviera on the Vaal for 2 nights.

Well it was a disaster from start to finish. We were excited about going away on our own as we rarely get an opportunity as we have a son of 8. The first room we were given was dark and gloomy and the bathroom was pitiful in that it was tiny and there was no separate shower so my husband had to shower in the bath. This was an upgraded room that a friend had organised secretly from Canada for my 50th. How can this be offered at a four-star hotel?

The service was appalling in that we had to get up and call for someone to attend to us. The first night's buffet was an assortment of warmed up food from the day before as it did not look or taste fresh. In fact, I struggled to find something to eat from the buffet and on calling the chef to complain I was told that there weren't many people eating at the restaurant that night so they couldn't make a lot of new things as they would have gone to waste. So on the eve of my 50th I simply had a few pieces of dried out chicken and that was that. I told him he should not have the buffet on such evenings when there will not be enough people eating from it. I was then told that we could have ordered a la carte which I was shocked to hear as in the afternoon on asking a waitress outside what the options were if we didn't want the buffet for dinner, her answer was that there was only the terrace menu to order from (which consists of light snacks). So clearly staff are not aware of what is or is not available at the hotel. And this is a four star hotel? What a joke.

Then the following day it was raining so we decided to have afternoon tea in the lounge. We waited endlessly for someone to serve us and when asking for scones, cake etc we were told that there was nothing available and that there would only be eats available after 5pm as they were busy preparing them for a conference later that day. I have never heard of such a thing in a hotel - let alone a 4-star hotel. Clearly they are only interested in putting effort into large groups like conferences and do not really care about privates who visit the hotel.

I then called the manager who apologised profusely and then scurried off to the kitchen only to return 10 mins later with 2 pieces of cheesecake - but sadly it was the most awful tasting cheesecake I have ever had. It had a margarine taste and was quite vile. We couldn't eat it. We then settled for the small biscuits that are put in the rooms with the tea and coffee.

The breakfasts too were very ordinary and the fresh fruit or pastries didn't look or taste very fresh. All in all a disastrous experience and a sad way to spend a 50th birthday. I could not wait to leave the hotel and feel it was the biggest waste of a few thousand rand. Quite frankly, we should be refunded for the disaster that it was. I will make sure that I tell everyone never to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraonvaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Elana R

We do value your time taken to provide feedback on your stay at Riviera on Vaal. We will set to work on improving and eradicating the aspects of your stay which you mentioned. We depend on your feedback, and do apologies for any discomfort experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vereeniging hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked 3 rooms and there were 5 of us for a different New Year party. Cocktails especially my Pina colada were the 2nd best in the world to date I have tasted. I will go back for more. The rooms although dated were adequate for a 4 star hotel. Bathrooms very small and shower leaked everywhere. Maintenance an issue and quality control.
We booked on the river boat for New year, and that was great fun, meal very good and value for money. I thought there maybe should have been more entertainment on the boat, but at midnight they joined the hotel party for the count down and then we disembarked and joined the hotel party and its live band.
Big disappointment was the Zorgvliet spa attached to the hotel. Service terrible, booked 2 x 1 hour sessions and got a 25 minute massage. Shocking and I will be taking further legal action against them as they still insisted I pay full price although they started 35 mins late.

Room Tip: Rooms dated, we took a suite which was not much different to the standard rooms which had bigger bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraonvaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mr. Rogers

We do value your time taken to provide feedback on your stay at Riviera on Vaal. We are delighted to hear of the aspects which made your stay enjoyable and will set to work on improving and eradicating those which did not. We depend on your feedback, and do apologise for any discomfort experienced.

As discussed with the Zorgvliet Spa Manager, we would love you and your wife to return to enjoy what is due to you, your voucher will be sent to you shortly.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was amazing, rooms clean and service was always with a smile, nothing was ever too much to the staff. The kiddies program was great and kept our kids busy for hours. Great stay overall. Thank you Riviera staff and management. Keep it up :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Refilwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is a lovely get away resort from city life. Less than an hour's drive from Johannesburg, this hotel is beautifully located on the Vaal River. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and we were truly spoilt. Having booked an Executive room at the resort with a lovely view of the river. This property boasts a championship golf course in an excellent condition. River cruises at breakfast and sunset times are available. Staff were always helpful and pleasant. Will definitely re-visit this resort. My overall rating is a 41/2. Only disappointment was the buffet menu variety. We made a special meal request which the chef prepared, was stale. The fish tasted as if it was in the freezer for a long time. Nevertheless, the enthusiasm of the staff more than made up for it. Hotel well worth visiting. See you guys soon.

Room Tip: Consider river facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Since our very 1st visit to Riviera Hotel to celebrate our anniversary in October; we can really just give positive feedback & compliments to management & staff alike.

We returned for a Christmas lunch & stay with the rest of our family incl my parents & what a lovely reception we received.
Lunch was amazing & even with the restaurant busy, service was excellent.

Thank you Desire, Juandrè & team.

Lakey Family

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiox26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had the misfortune of meeting a client for lunch at Riviera on Vaal on Saturday. I waited 30min for a waiter, I then walked to the bar and asked for someone there-they were congregated around a point of sale. I placed an order and received it 15minutes later-a warm coke, no lemon and melted ice! Great start. My client arrived and his cooldrink arrived quickly with ice and lemon-Things were looking up. We ordered a sandwich, this then took 1h and 15 minutes, I then sent mine back as it was wrong, 20min later it arrived again, still wrong but I ate it, I was hungry and appalled and just wanted to leave. I asked for a Manager but was told he was busy- I noticed this as I could see him standing having a smoke near the pool area. There were 9 tables on the veranda and atleast 8 waiters, NEVER will Riviera ever see me or my business again. They should just shut this old relic down! The most beautiful setting in Gauteng(in my opinion) but the Management are clueless!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivieraonvaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear MCS1979

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your visit with us. I have put measures in place that this does not occur again

I would invite you to contact me personally at 016 420 1300, to discuss this with you further. (email is gm@rivieraonvaal.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
6.9 mi away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#1 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
23.2 mi away
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
#1 of 16 in Vereeniging
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Property: BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Address: 10 Mario Milani Road | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1939, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing