We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out with the kids”
Review of Midlands Meander

Midlands Meander
Ranked #26 of 176 Tours in KwaZulu-Natal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Midlands Meander in the heart of KwaZulu-Natal, is a collection of arranged routes that offer visitors hospitality in truly beautiful surroundings, outstanding accommodation, conference and wedding facilities, fascinating local events, fabulous cuisine and restaurants, revitalising outdoor activities and over-the-top adventure sports, historic landmarks, wildlife conservation, and best of all "shop-till-you-drop" unique arts and crafts. An easy one-hour drive from Durban and four and a half hours on the N3 highway from Johannesburg, there is much to explore and do in the Midlands.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

To really enjoy the meander get a rental car, or borrow one. It's one of the most relaxing ways to experience the wonderful Kwa-Zulu Natal midlands. The scenery is great, the driving can be a little exciting, pot holes galore and local drivers who know the bends and curves of the back roads driving perhaps a little faster than necessary. If you're coming to shop, maybe not, things are a little on the high side. BUT for food and drink along the way you really are spoilt for choice.

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsMeander1985, Public Relations Manager at Midlands Meander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for visiting the Midlands Meander. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the many Meander offerings. And we like your positive attitude; yes, the pot-holes can make the driving somewhat "exciting"!

Hope you'll be back soon. In the meantime, like us on Facebook or email marketing@midlandsmeander.co.za to join our mailing list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

There is no arguing with the beautiful hills and mountains of the Midlands. The scenery is lush, greenery everywhere, horses and cattle grazing. It's a beautiful drive with very narrow roads, not well maintained, and lots "to do" along the route. It really is an anti-climax. The little shops along the Meander are a travesty. The shopping was an incredible letdown, including the antique stores that are highly over priced with nothing interesting to see. There was one antique store in Howick, I think it's called Old things, which had interesting silver and other interesting small antiques. Thabos's antiques was really disappointing, equally so was The Ugly Duckling. It really is as it's name suggests, ugly. It needs a magical kiss to turn it into something beautiful. As for the Junction, nice, but a rip-off. I saw an exact old looking wall clock at one of the stores going for double what I paid in Johannesburg - and they say Johannesburg is expensive. It appears to have become more about the dollars and euros than it is about small stores in small towns sharing their interests and things unique to the area. A real let down! The small town mentality of shop assistants whispering, talking about customers at the homeware store at the Junction, does not help. No hidden gem, do the drive and enjoy the scenery, maybe a horse ride or two. Have some local cheese and save the shopping for the cities. You can probably get it cheaper in the city.

5  Thank Itumeleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsMeander1985, Public Relations Manager at Midlands Meander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear Itumeleng,

Thanks for your feedback and input.

The scenery really is something. We are very blessed! The roads are narrow, and yes, unfortunately not always well-maintained. But such is country living sometimes!

Not all the establishments you mentioned are Midlands Meander members. Did you have a chance to pick up a Midlands Meander Guide? This has a map as well as a directory at the back to help you plan to visit the shops that will interest you.

You are also welcome to give us a call on 033 330 8195 or email info@midlandsmeander.co.za. We will be more than happy to suggest some shops that sell items unique to the area. We even have a special name for them - our "Butterfly Crafters" are establishments where 80% of the products are made within the bounds of the Midlands Meander.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Midlands Meander is a very nice daytrip with a little something for everybody. Lots of little stores with arts and crafts, restaurants and odds and sodds along the way. Throw in some of the most beautiful scenery in Kwazulu Natal if not all of South Africa. Also now on the Meander the Nelson Mandela capture site that is a must see and then continue to the Howick falls which are quite good.

1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsMeander1985, Public Relations Manager at Midlands Meander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Hello!

Thank your for your review. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in this "good place" here in KZN.

We hope you will visit us again one day! In the meantime, Like our page on Facebook to stay updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is an are near Durban with lots of craft/cheese/c;othes/chocolate etc places many with dining facilities.The drive is also quite pleasant in an area known as 1000 valleys.There are a wide range of outlets of all types including some 'touristy' ones but overall a pleasant area to visit and spend a day or two.

Thank recordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsMeander1985, Public Relations Manager at Midlands Meander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Hello!

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your meandering! There is so much to do and see, so please come back and spend a couple of nights with here.

And please stay in touch to keep updated with the latest Midlands Meander events and specials. Like our Facebook page and send an email to marketing@midlandsmeander.co.za if you'd like to sign up for our monthly newsletter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Midlands Meander is a lovely gem hidden away. You can spend the whole day wondering from one little shop to the next. Great cheese, chocolate, wine you name it. Always a good idea to stop at the little stores buy some goodies and find a spot to have a lovely picnic.

1  Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsMeander1985, Public Relations Manager at Midlands Meander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Hello!

Glad you enjoyed your "meandering" and we hope to see you again soon! To stay updated, please like our Facebook page. You can also email us on info@midlandsmeander.co.za to sign up for our free monthly newsletter or so that we can post you our new Midlands Meander Guide.

Yours in "a good place".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midlands Meander also viewed

Merrivale, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Midlands Meander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing