We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful yoga retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julinki
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful yoga retreat”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My expectations were more than met. Jen and Lee are incredibly nice people who take amazing care of their guests. I was there for a 1 week yoga retreat about Stress Management and 1 german girl and I were the only 2 participants. Jen likes to keep the groups small so it's more personal and I really appreciated this approach. The farm is in the middle of huge sugar can fields and I loved being in such a remote and quiet area. The house itself is lovely, the rooms are beatiful as is the surroundings with gardens and lakes. Jen was challenged with all our different food allergies but managed to make super tasty lunches and dinners for all of us. The program was amazing, first sometimes sceptical about some of the yoga philosphy approches they all eventually made sense. I learned so much and yoga is now becoming part of my daily routine. Also I could take with me a very appealing mindset and many tools how to deal with daily stress. I really enjoyed my time at pathways yoga retreat and am very thankful to Jen for teaching me and sharing her experience and wisdom with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you Julie it was an absolute pleasure having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tigersima...
Nottm
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful retreat, we felt like part of the family. Delicious home cooked food in a beautiful tranquil setting. Jenny is an excellent yoga teacher. Would highly recommend. My husband came too, he didn't do much yoga but enjoyed fishing on the dam every day. Excellent hosts indeed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you Jules it was an absolute pleasure having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltam...
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“intimate yoga teacher training”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Pathways country retreat is a fab place to do teachers training. I completed my 200 hrs here. With a lot of options to choose from it became overwhelming. I decided that I wanted to spend the 3 weeks in relative comfort and not be sharing a dorm type room with 6 other people etc. This was the perfect place. It was a home from home, beautiful comfortable beds & pillows, large baths & showers along with towels & soaps provided. Every little last detail was thought of from supplying lots of candles with different aromatherapy oils to burn in the rooms, to bath salts to add to your bath for the aching muscles after all the asana practices. There is never usually more than 6/7 people on a training making it a lovely intimate setting and great bonding opportunities with other students.

The retreat is located on a farm quite far from anywhere, there isn't a local shop to walk to etc however this didn't matter as everything was catered for. The farm is beautiful overlooking the dams and you are surrounded by nature, the sounds of all the different birds, its very picturesque. There are also four loving, beautiful dogs named Sadie, Saber, Zulu and Asia who are the sweetest bunch. They demand hugs a lot especially Zulu and are all adorable. You can walk with them out on all the fields, a great way to clear the mind.

Jen & Lee are a loving, genuine, authentic couple who go above & beyond for you. They try to cater for everyones dietary needs ranging from vegan to not being able to eat poultry, no gluten etc and nothing was too much or complicated for them to take on. The food was home cooked, not having to worry about breakfast, lunch or dinner was a real treat. Including the stashes of chocolate Lee would often bring home, once we we had eaten his!

Every detail of the course is thought out and is broken up throughout the week to make sure that the information is sinking in. There are also trips to the beach every Friday to do yoga in the morning, trips to a huge farmers market, local outings meeting some of the community and a game drive! This again is how Jen & Lee lovingly make sure that everyone is happy & getting the most out of the stay.

The course itself is far more than Asana. It delves deeply into spirituality and meditation. We learnt several techniques for visualisation and yoga nidra. Whats more the environment and energy of the place seems to create immense change for the students. I witnessed myself the turnaround of several of the other girls on the course who's mind & hearts had opened to possibilities which they never thought possible in their everyday lives. The course gives a fantastic foundation for delivering all that is Yoga, the physical, mind and emotion. It provides the tools needed to then go out and build on what you know.

Jen also gave us a card reading at the end which was really sweet. I can’t emphasis enough how much Jen & Lee put into this place, they truly love what they do & the passion & love shines throughout the retreat. We were all truly blessed to have been able to partake in a course there. I wish them all the best with their future students, retreats & trainings. Namaste.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you Tam Tam it was an absolute pleasure having you. Namaste x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Early morning views from the deck
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reno80201...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“25 - 27 Dec 2014 Stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Group of 12 family members, traveling from Johannesburg and some from Durban. Needed bit of extra guidance to get to the place(other the directions provided), just a tip from Durban use the Camperdown off-ramp and follow to Umbumbulu R603, 5 mins after the Caltex garage will see a small board on the left, follow unpaved road to retreat center, would advice a high raise car as there is approx 2-4 kms drive on the unpaved road filled with low grass and ditches.. sugercane farm on both sides... following the white arrows should get you to the place.. if raining a challenge to use the unpaved road esp with low clearance vehicle. We checked in to the yoga retreat center(where Lee and Jen, the host stays) as well as the Managers quarters on top of the hill.. the host have 3 pet dogs, they were intimidating at first but got used to our family and was quite protective ..esp when walking from the retreat center to the house on top.. if travelling with kids not used to dogs, give them some time to getting used to.. perfect hideout place.. come here to be disconnected to the outside world.. just chill...self catering venue(facilities for braai and poitjie).. we thoroughly enjoyed.. recommended...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery, quietness, hosts, pets, accommodation and facilities
Liked least: remoteness, dogs can be intrusive sometimes
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing