We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpromise and under deliver”
Review of 305 Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
305 Guest House
Ranked #1 of 26 Amanzimtoti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpromise and under deliver”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I enquired over the weekend for a place at the guesthouse. The Manager who answered the phone was VERY impatient, but confirmed that there was space on the weekend we were looking to book. I requested at the time that she send me a booking confirmation, where she replied that this is not possible as I firstly had to send a request online. I did this and received no response. Did it a second time, and no response. I followed up this morning (Monday after enquiry) and the ONLY room left (as described by her) was TAKEN!!!!!! When confronting the Manager... her words were merely: It's been booked out and there is nothing more that I can do.

Is this customer service? Is it fine to merely overpromise and then NOT deliver? I think not.

This is terrible, but based on this I am happy that we did not get space at this guesthouse. If this is the treatment you get before-hand? Imagine when you actually stay there???

PATHETIC, to say the least!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admin305, Marketing at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our Guest House. We have taken your notes on board and we have taken them with a serious understanding.

Many people like yourselves give an honest opinion and we have to thank you for that. We read your comments and make an overall judgement. We work on answering problems instead of hiding behind them. Because we have heard comments voicing the attitude of the previous manager, she is now no longer working at our establishment. We, as a team, believe in giving our guests an excellent service and have a willing and helpful group of people working continuosly towards customer satisfaction.

305 Guest House is a lovely place to stay and we are now expanding our hotel which will give us 8 more sea view rooms, a golf driving range aiming out towards the Indian Ocean, a self contained flat for long term guests and a nail and beauty salon!

I do hope that my words bring some comfort to you and if you do decide on coming back to our establishment please ask for myself and we will guarantee your next stay a rewarding one!

UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT
WE WELCOME SALLY GLADMAN

Rose Watson
Marketer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    94
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
137
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stilbaai, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was the perfect place to end off our holiday. It is a beautiful B&B with a beautiful view. The rooms are beautifully decorated and make you feel right at home. They have a nice pool area as well and plenty hammocks for everyone.
The breakfast was great as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. We only noticed the gym area when we left, so please ask if you feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here for a total of 3 wks, and I have to say I was blown away by the hospitality, service, and staff!
The rooms were kept clean, laundry done for myself on a daily basis, and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty in making this experience a home from home affair!
Stephanie the manager was an amazing host, she couldn't do enough for me, as were Julie, Rose and the rest of the ladies who worked there!
A truly exceptional stay and I would strongly recommend this to anybody thinking of staying in Toti.
I can honestly say I have made great friends here, and if I go back, 305 on Ipahla would be my choice of accommodation again.
10/10

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room to guarantee a separate seating area, spa bath, and separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for a Night and 2 days on this Beachside resort. An absolute marvel with breathtaking views into the Ocean. Got a Nice cosy room on the rear close to the Breakfast area.

Fantastic Place,Nice warm reception and a very homely Breakfast. Wonderful experience at an attractive price

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinchillRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights at 305 on Ipahla and had such a wonderful, relaxing time. The location, service, amenities, staff etc are second to none and I cannot recommend highly enough a stay here.

The hotel is within easy distance of the airport and a transfer service was provided which made this very easy. Also within easy reach of Durban. On arrival the first thing that strikes you apart from the friendliness of the staff, is that you can see from the front door, right through the hotel and the lovely gardens, to the Indian Ocean. The location of this hotel is in such a beautiful setting, you'll be inclined to spend all your time here, despite having a wealth of things to do right on the doorstep.

Our room was ocean facing, which as the name suggests has a balcony with seats that provide magnificent views of the Indian Ocean. There is floor to ceiling sliding glass doors between the room and the balcony that when opened make the living space vast. I got up early the first morning and was rewarded with one of the most beautiful sunrises I'd ever seen.

The room was very spacious with a huge bed, tea and coffee facilities, safe, fridge, mini bar and its own lounge area, which was great for having snacks etc. The bathroom had a great rain shower as well as a jacuzzi bath, a good stock of complimentary items and was immaculate as was the rest of the hotel. There is a good flat screen TV but with views like that, I doubt you'll ever use it.

The dining/breakfast area is lovely, again with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors that are opened the majority of the time, allowing you to daydream with views of the gardens and ocean while you eat. Breakfast had an extensive range of hot and cold food on offer, as well as fruits and cereals. I can highly recommend 'The Dutchy' which I'd never tried before. We had breakfast every day as well as two evening meals which were as good, if not better, as eating in a very nice restaurant.

The gardens are very big, with a pool and lead down onto an extensive decking area with hammocks, tables and chairs. I spent a lot of time here as the views are stunning. I'd say you can see about 5km of unspoilt beach front from this area and on several occasions I saw pods of up to ten Dolphins swimming, usually at dusk and dawn. I know from speaking to the owner Ian (lovely, helpful guy with a wealth of knowledge and stories) that you can often see whales passing by, particularly during the sardine run.

There is also a pool, gym and conference facilities within the hotel, if you can drag yourself away from the great views.

The staff were all just great and made you feel so welcome that you didn't want to leave. Ian, as already mentioned helped us loads with where to go and what to do. We went on the most amazing one day safari to Tala Reserve where we saw Rhino, Zebra, Giraffe, Water Buffalo, Hippo, Springbok and much more. It's also within easy reach of snorkelling, diving and less energetic activities such as shopping.

Stephanie, the Manageress, is just fantastic. So helpful and always there, nothing is too much trouble, very professional yet gives the hotel a great feel good factor. Julie was very kind and helpful to us also and it was great to get to know them both. Thank you!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at 305 on Ipahla and would love to go back some time. Whether it's for business or pleasure, you will not be disappointed at your stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had a lovely, comfortable room with a great sea view. We enjoyed the fact that the room had separate sleeping and seating area with an honesty bar. The room had air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refresh especially to renew the sealant and grout around the shower and bath area. Breakfast was lovely but the first day we had a late breakfast and the fresh selection was finished with no more being offered to us.
Outside areas are great for BBQ and sitting in the sun in hammocks watching the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had an amazing stay at 305 on Ipahla. Great location, overlooking the ocean, very big garden and wooden deck to chill outside. The rooms are spacious, very well equipped and comfortable (we had a luxury seaview room); the same can be said for the bathroom: delightful spa bath, nice shower, 2 sinks and there's still a lot of space to move around.
Breakfasts are quite good and in very sufficient quantity.
On top of that, Stephanie the manageress was extremely kind and helpful with all the guests that were there.
305 on Ipahla is a great guesthouse to relax and get away from the city buzz. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibsDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanzimtoti
7.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
23.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Alante Lodge
Alante Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amanzimtoti
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tuscan View
Tuscan View
#4 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 305 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 305 Guest House

Property: 305 Guest House
Address: 305 Ipahla Road | Athlone Park, Amanzimtoti 4126, South Africa (Formerly 305 on Ipahla)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Amanzimtoti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Amanzimtoti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 305 Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
305 Guest House is an AA & TGSA accredited 4 Star luxury accommodation with unspoilt 180 degree sea views, facing natural forests and the Indian Ocean. Situated in the heart of South Durban, you can while your time away by relaxing on our deck looking out onto the sea & watching dolphins and whales! All our rooms are individually designed with unique colours and natural stone floors. Numerous choices of beverages for you to choose from. Your stay at 305 Guest House includes a variety of fruit, muffins, snacks and freshly made fruit salad & yoghurt at our Buffet Table for your breakfast. Choose either a scrumptious continental breakfast or a variety of other dishes such as an omelette with flourishings of cheese! Our dinners are cooked daily in our kitchen using quality AND quantity as a perk to your stay! PLEASE NOTE: Dinners are ordered at reception and either delivered to your room or served in our dining area. Our prices beat our competitors. We offer a quality service with a friendly atmosphere from all our staff! A Massage and Nail Spa on the premises allows you to be spoilt on your door step by our professional technicians. Gym to work out in whilst facing the Indian Ocean watching ships pass by and whales frolicking in the sea! WE do have an on site coffee shop that is open 7 days a week from 7am to 3pm. WE also do offer 2 x golf driving range nets for our keen golfers. 305 Guest House is one of the most talked about hotels in the area and a short walk to The Galleria Shopping Mall allows you to shop till you drop and see South African Culture. The Tala Game Reserve and the Lion Park is only a drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your 305 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing