We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights at Belaire Suites. We had a great time. Before we arrived I had e-mailed and always got a very fast response. The room was large and clean and very attractive. The breakfast every morning was wonderful. It is nice to have a fridge and small kitchen area in the room. The location was great. You can just walk out the door and explore and walk around. In wrapping up we would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planningvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    174
    88
    31
    25
See reviews for
111
120
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran-Iran
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb. the location of the hotel is perfect right in front of Indian ocean on a nice street close to Sun Casino and seems to be safe to walk around . it has a nice lobby and nice staff easy check in and all . rooms however stirred a mixed feeling in me . we had 2 rooms one on 6th and ion on 7th floor . the hotel is generally run down , a bit dated but really clean . if you are looking for luxury definately not the right choice but if you are travelling on a budget value for money .
in the room there was no water and you should buy water from hotels coffee shop . i asked for a tothbrush and they said they don't have it . so if you want to go there don't forget to take your tooth brush . another problem that i had was the morning noise from the maids who were cleaning the rooms , they were speaking loudly and shouting to eachother .
one more thing you should condider is the fact that after 5-6 pm all shops around you are closed , so if you need anything make sure you have them before 6 pm.
i had an ok experience but i might choose another place if i go to Durban again .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had stayed in the Belaire Suites for a 2 week period in January and was pleasantly suprised twith the level of service offered.

The reception were friendly, and the breakfast chef was helpful and chatyy, which made it welcoming.

Good sized room with microwave oven a d fridge.
Snacks and meals were tasty and plentiful.
Better value than other hotels that i have stayed in whilst in South Africa.

One minor point, the fridge for the beer was not working fully and the beer was not at its best for a couple of days, but glad to say was corrected.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murdothejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed for two nights on my first ever visit to Durban. The room was very spacious, well fitted and comfortable. The service throughout was friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was extremely good and offered a wide variety.

The cafe/restaurant deserves special praise. As I was in transit and had no real chance to discover other places to eat I chose to stay in for both evening meals. I think I would have been hard pressed to find better food and service anywhere else in the city - really very good.

The location by the ocean is great and gives easy access to the rest of the city even on foot.

The only minor faults I found were firstly that the Wifi simply would not work in my room - it was fine in the communal areas on the ground floor which was sufficient for me but this could be a real problem for anybody staying on business. Secondly my second floor room didn't really have the sea view as advertised and the thick anti-glare film on the windows made it seem quite dark on what were admittedly a couple of rather dull days.

Those minor points aside I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody

Room Tip: If you want a true sea view you nee to be higher than the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

What a fantastic appartment. Staff cannot do enough for you, nothing is a problem and they certinly go the extra mile. breakfast was good and had a wide variety, both cooked and continental. rooms are extremely spacious and spotlessly clean

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki_84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great location, the sound of the sea puts one to sleep. Bedroom functional, very clean with nice linen.and comfortable beds.
Bathroom OK and breakfast excellent with great croissants.
Staff very friendly and helpful. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Service was good and no requested "extra" was ever a problem. Rooms spotless and spacious. Amenities good and room decor and bedding of good quality. Stunning views and even though only 2 lifts, we never waited more than 3minutes.
Food is excellent and value for money. Best coffee in Durban!
Friendly staff from the chambermaid to the general cleaner to the manager. The hotel has developed since we last stayed and it was all improvements for the better. I look forward to seeing it again in the next few months. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing