We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Sea View”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sea View”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

As other reviewers state, the rooms are clean, big and spacious! The buffet breakfast has a variety to please all kinds of guests! A fine four-star hotel - old but comfortable.

Perhaps it is time to consider free wi-fi as a four star hotel!

The check-in and check-out was not a problem at all - the front desk staff are extremely friendly, helpful and sincere. Dudley and Prescious go the extra mile to keep guests happy.

We stayed on the 9th floor and had a spectacular view of the sea, harbour and promenade!

Entertainment re cinemas, restaurants, live shows, cycling, walking, jogging all available around the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better and make sure you have a sea facing room. Noise is limited re the night life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    177
    88
    31
    25
See reviews for
112
122
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Belaire Suites provides very nice clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. :)
It is located just a few steps of the beach and has a very good restaurant.

The only reason I rated de sleep quality as average is because during my stay (two nights) the first night I had a very nice quietness but the second one my room neighbours were just too noisy. They had the music very loud and were shouting to each other (even after midnight) X(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARB_o_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed at Belaire several times. The rooms are big and spacious so plenty of space to stretch out. The bathrooms are also big and spacious. The hotel serves excellent buffet breakfasts. I always ask for a room on the upper floors away from the street noise and it does surprise me each time when I check in to find I am only on the third or fourth floor. A question for management: as a regular guest who has stayed several times, and requests a room on the 9th floor and never gets one, how do we do this in future? I have no complaints and think Belaire on the whole is a good Durban beach location. The Jiran coffee shop on the ground floor does excellent coffees too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed two nights at Blair Suites. Not the friendliest hotel to goto. The rooms are old. We booked what was told to be a two bed room apartment on booking.com. We ended up with one huge room which had another tiny bedroom. The second room was so small.

No free WiFi and the internet rates are ridiculous. The only good thing here was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is great and the dining hall that opens into a zen-style garden complements the dining experience. The rooms are clean and cozy but heating/airconditioning may need to be checked as the unit created clunking noise at times. The family took a two-bedroom suite. One had a flat screen and the other one had that reminded me of my childhood days.

A note in the room touts the hotel as being eco-friendly but I really did not see anything of the structure and the set-up that supports this. Nowadays, hotel clients are starting to give preference to such green-oriented facilities. It might, thus, help discerning guests to know why Belaire Suites calls itself as one.

If you have time to visit the nearby spots, the Ushaka theme park is just about a 30 minute walk away. A good number of restaurants and watering holes that cater to varying budgets and tastes line the beach front or are just close by. The Madhiba Stadium and its SkyCar may also be worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanCastilloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

For one if you book in and you hear the guest complain over the phone and you hear guest complain as they check out, that must be a warning not to stay there! The reception staff were not of the friendliest! and we were told to check in @ 13h00, but the room was nowhere ready! For a 4-star hotel it was definitely not up to scratch! In the room the drain was blocked, the glasses and coffee cups were still dirty! There was not even soap in the bathrooms! Then to complete this the neighbors on top and on the aisles were so noisy they kept us up ALL night??? How can you enjoy a stay with that noise and the staff just pull there shoulders up!!!! They will defiantly not see me again!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, General Manager at Belaire Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Estelle S

Thank you for the feedback from your previous stay at the Belaire Suites Hotel.

I wish to apologise for the poor experience you had at the hotel and wish to assure you that what you have described is certainly not in keeping with our standards.

Since your review we have discussed the matters raised will all staff and further training will be conducted with the Reception and Housekeeping teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This beachfront hotel is a hidden gem. Very comfortable studio rooms, fantastic views and good breakfast selection. Unbelievable value for money. Staff are efficient and friendly. A good bet for both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing