We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reservation nightmare with Tracy”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“reservation nightmare with Tracy”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Pity we could not book at one of my favorite places to stay, after being abroad for so long. I had recommend belair to friends who will be visiting from abroad , but after the incompetence of Tracy in handling our booking i am greatly disappointed Tracy gave us the run around since Monday the 23rd of September . She kept promising to get back to us after numerous telephone calls and emails , but did nothing !!! On calling back today (29 September ) Tracy said she was too busy to call us back and make our reservation , dispite her having promised on Thursday (26 September ) She would make the booking and call back ,for the rooms we required . During the week there was availability for the three nights we required for 4adults . And a week later after having to chase up after Tracy who promised to call back but was "too busy" suddenly there is no availability on one days . From now on we will look for a customer friendly resort with competent staff , seeing as Belair's standards have drastically declined !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    177
    88
    31
    25
See reviews for
112
122
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and cleanliness of room. Modern furnishings. Great beachfront location along the golden mile-fantastic vibe on sunday mornings.

Only gripe - the shower was not draining well. Had to have a very quick shower before bathroom overflowed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazing place - SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Compared to other hotels of the same standard Belaire is around 25% cheaper, but just as well located. The hotel is clean with comfortable beds. The only criticism is that the aircon units are old fashioned and the hotel could do with replacing them with quieter and friendlily versions.
Wireless is available, but expensive.

Breakfast has good selection, cooked as well as continental, although the breakfast room can get over crowded at around 7am.

I found reception was the only problem in the hotel, polite but very very slow. Also it has those very annoying key cards that get wiped if you have them too close to your mobile phone and you only find out when you get to your room on the 9th floor!

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of a sea view, the higher up the quieter. They have disability friendly ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Hotel is situated perfectly! The entire Durban Promenade is right out front and leads from the Sun Coast Casino and the Moses Mabhida Stadium (With an MUST do ride giving you a birds eye view of Durban) to the north end, till the Ushaka Water park and amazing Aquarium to the South. Mini Town and a theme park also very close by (Perfect for kids)

Breakfast Buffet was included and awesome. A typical English Breakfast.

Could hear the Ocean from the Room (sleeping is like therapy), that has aircon and a nice flat screen TV with Satellite channels (But who wants to watch TV on holiday anyways!)

In hotel Spa was also very relaxing! Weather is nice and warm during SA winter and not crowded at all. I'd say this Hotel is perfect for a winter stay.

Room was always clean and fully stocked with everything you need before marching to Breakfast to fuel up for Adventure!

Room Tip: When Booking, ask for a room high enough to overlook the dune between Hotel and Beach so you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariusJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in the Belaire Suites in Durban on the beach with a beautiful sea view. It was neat, clean, quiet and had everything you need for a night or a week! The staff was VERY friendly and Very helpful. The breakfast was much better than some other 5 star hotels! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying here at this hotel with my wife and we are here for a couple of days. The location is quite good, right on the beach. Sun coast is just 10 min away and good view from the room too. The actual problem is with their air conditioning system . Every night it is switched off due to some load shedding for good 5 hours and all you are left with is the fan. This really disturbs your sleep after a tiring day. Their manager Peter did try to help but couldn't do much as he seemed helpless. Peter kindly get a backup generator else you'll lose your customers.
Breakfast is really nice at the hotel so don't miss on that.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WajihaAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel was clean except for the cockroach on the bathroom floor. I had booked two rooms 3 weeks in advance and asked that they both be next to each other and both have sea views. I had called the morning before check in to clarify if all was as I requested. Only to find that it was not. They then gave us palm tree views with the a slight glimpse of the sea. The entrance of the room faced the park in which it gave a feel of a old flat style building. (Johannesburg town)
The room was spacious but I spent the night worrying about our vehicle parked on the road side parking. Luckily all was safe the next morning.
Breakfast was bland. We only had option of scrambled eggs and the bacon and sausages were cold. Overall I would not go back however its liveable for a short period.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Variksha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing