We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday getaway”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday getaway”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Belaire for my birthday (Feb 2012). It was our first holiday as a couple and boy was it a great place to stay at. The reception was so warm and since i told them that we would be checking in after 8pm and that i booked via Bookings.com, they had arranged everything for us- no hassles!
The room was spectacular! Spacious, luxurious and welcoming. And for our first holiday together, the best part was waking up to the stunning sun rising over the ocean that seemed just meters from us.
Breakfast was a wide variety of EVERYTHING! Eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, ham, cheese, pastry and so on.
We planned to stay just two nights but our stay there was so great and the hotel was so spectacular that on our last day there i rushed down to extend our stay for one more night.

We will definitely be returning to Belaire and since then I have already booked my parents and my aunt and uncle at the Belaire on two separate holidays- which they loved just as much as we did.

oh oh and the room service was great!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kailene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    184
    90
    31
    26
See reviews for
115
127
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Belaire last weekend for five nights. Family of four. Definitely not four star. It was at best two star. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The whole place was tired, and our room was especially so. It wasn't cleaned very well, bits of rubbish left on the floor each day. One of the lamps - the light switch was broken. The corridor lighting outside our door didn't work. We had to queue for breakfast on the first day.
Cafe Jiran on the ground floor served tasty fusion food. Upstairs in the 'fine dining' area, the menu was a lot more expensive. What I couldn't understand was we could order a beef burger in Cafe Jiran, but ten feet away in the restaurant we couldn't. Both area served by the same kitchen.Totally utterly bonkers.
The spa was closed when my wife tried to access this facility. Seems to tie in with other people's experiences. The beaches outside the hotel were stunning. I think you would have to be in the top three floors to get this view from the bedroom.
Durban is fantastic, absolutely loved the place. I will return again, but not to the Belaire. Ta.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in one of the floors from 8 and above. We were on the 2nd floor and had a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shampower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay nice staff , guy on reception was perfect although some of the others were bad and didn't have any details of the spa and no idea of its operating hours. I discovered it should be from 8am although they never showed up before 10... The spa needs sorting out !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were backpacking along the coast, staying mainly in hostels, and decided to treat ourselves to 3 nights in this hotel. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms look like refinished apartments (which they are). Everything was clean and the staff was semi-friendly, although sometimes the front desk could be pretty aloof. The area was a bit sketchy, but there was hotel security outside most of the time to run off the beggars and trouble makers. I suggest to take a taxi directly from this hotel to your destination, but several of our drivers said it was safe for us to walk there during the day. The complementary breakfast was out of this world - most places give you toast, cereal, and coffee.. this place had the works! It's also right on the beach, however, you cant really see it because of the large bushes. We had a room on the 4th floor and we were able to see over the bushes from there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Pity we could not book at one of my favorite places to stay, after being abroad for so long. I had recommend belair to friends who will be visiting from abroad , but after the incompetence of Tracy in handling our booking i am greatly disappointed Tracy gave us the run around since Monday the 23rd of September . She kept promising to get back to us after numerous telephone calls and emails , but did nothing !!! On calling back today (29 September ) Tracy said she was too busy to call us back and make our reservation , dispite her having promised on Thursday (26 September ) She would make the booking and call back ,for the rooms we required . During the week there was availability for the three nights we required for 4adults . And a week later after having to chase up after Tracy who promised to call back but was "too busy" suddenly there is no availability on one days . From now on we will look for a customer friendly resort with competent staff , seeing as Belair's standards have drastically declined !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and cleanliness of room. Modern furnishings. Great beachfront location along the golden mile-fantastic vibe on sunday mornings.

Only gripe - the shower was not draining well. Had to have a very quick shower before bathroom overflowed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazing place - SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Compared to other hotels of the same standard Belaire is around 25% cheaper, but just as well located. The hotel is clean with comfortable beds. The only criticism is that the aircon units are old fashioned and the hotel could do with replacing them with quieter and friendlily versions.
Wireless is available, but expensive.

Breakfast has good selection, cooked as well as continental, although the breakfast room can get over crowded at around 7am.

I found reception was the only problem in the hotel, polite but very very slow. Also it has those very annoying key cards that get wiped if you have them too close to your mobile phone and you only find out when you get to your room on the 9th floor!

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of a sea view, the higher up the quieter. They have disability friendly ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing