We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"2 Stars!"”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"2 Stars!"”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Not good value for local travellers. The breakfast on the first day gets a 5 out of 10 rating, the second day the piece of hair that came out of my omelette was nauseating and I did not even attempt any further breakfast thereafter. The reception area is horrid, the desk is unwelcoming and the staff are unfriendly. Rooms are marketed as "suites" with a mini kitchenette, however no crockery or cutlery is available should one need to use the microwave. I will not pay R100 deposit for an iron in a *4 star establishment. The establishment requires a class make-over!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gairoenisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, General Manager at Belaire Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very disappointed to learn of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. Friendliness and approachability are two core attributes of any reception staff member. I have taken your comment on board and will share your feelings with my Front Office Team.

With regards to the buffet breakfast, quite a number of our guests rate our buffet breakfast as excellent and every effort is made to ensure quality and consistency of this product.

Please note that we provide Crockery and Cutlery to rooms on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    182
    89
    31
    25
See reviews for
112
125
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Compared to the other places on the Golden Mile, this place is good value for the area. The views are nice and the rooms are spacious. Some things let me down though. I paid for wifi, but the signal in my room was so weak, it was barely functional. And there was no hot water in the morning to shower. They said it was a problem with the pump and that it would be fixed shortly, but it wasn't ready by the time we had to check out. But if you want a more affordable and comfortable place to stay in this area, this fits the bill. And the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location is ideal but the walls are paper thin. When our neighbours were taking a shower it sounded like they were in our room and same with watching tv. I loved being able to watch the sunrise and being right on the ocean is ideal.

Room Tip: If you are there in a slow season ask to get a room that isn't inbetween two people. They had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pacific
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a 10 night stay over valentines in february. We had a room on the 6th floor with a nice sea view. Room was clean, spacious and nice bathroom.

Very satisfied with what was provided, the air con was good but loud. The walls are thin though, you can hear next door having a conversation.

What let the hotel down is the customer service.

We ordered room service, I ordered a fillet steak with cafe de paris. This arrived after an hour, with peppercorn sauce and they gave me a tbone steak. I told them they must have got me mixed up with someone else. They apologised and went away. another 30mins later they came back and gave me a tbone steak with the right sauce... I told them again this was wrong. They told me they were still going to charge me!!! So I called up management who eventually reversed the charge....and offered me a glass of wine as an apology. Even though I had just purchased champagne!

Breakfast was a buffet. Simple set out with staff to help serve you. Nothing to really complain about.

However, we were waiting for the hotel attendant to check us into breakfast in the morning (they have your name on a list to confirm your staying there and have access to the breakfast buffet) when a gentleman came from outside the hotel, walked straight upto the attendant and simply said "I am here with (name) do you mind if I have some breakfast now? he will be down in a minute" the attendant then ignored us, looked at the list, explained that they were not eligible for the breakfast anyway "I will pay don't worry" said the gentleman. The hotelier said ok and let him through.... then turned to us and told us breakfast was now full and we had to come back in 30 minutes!!!

That was disgusting! We went to reception to complain and ask for the manager, but they were not available. We left a message to say he must contact us.

Through out our stay, repeatedly we asked to speak to the manager but they were never available.

Do not rely on reception to call you a taxi either, they usually forget. Or they don't tell you as promised when it arrives.

Yeah the rooms are cheap, good location, clean. But do not expect any standard of service whilst you are there.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you are looking for a perfectly located hotel with friendly helpful staff and a great attitude towards making your stay comfortable then the Belaire Suites is great. Adequate clean and functional facilities in the room and everything else close by including the amazing Jiran restaurant on the ground floor. I have already booked my next business trip.

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter and the better the view. Try to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Do you like large hotels with a pool, fitness center, spiffy bars, three restaurants and everything charged extra - then the Belaire Suites are not your taste....
Nicely located at North Beach (some steps from some of the largest beach hotels in town) this 7 story hotel offers very good accommodation at an extraordinary price - actually about the best value for money I have seen around.
The price for the four star hotel is very low so we expected some flaws and there are, but very minor considering the saved money. I had a couple of small issues upon arrival (safe closed, wrong plugs on the bedside reading lights) and they were solved within a few hours. We have seen faster reception staff in other hotels, but staff is very friendly, knows you and is helpful, so what more to ask. The room was spaceous with all amenities you expect in a hotel of that rating - however, had not had fresh air for some time.... opening the sea side window (all rooms are seaside!) for a couple of hours did the trick.
A very good if not perfect experience at a price that makes you read it twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Input_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing