We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belaire suite hotel durban”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Belaire suite hotel durban”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a lovely location,not too near or too far from the hustle and bustle of North Beach.
Beautiful view of the ocean.Value for money,clean neat.Staff very friendly.Highly recommendable
for both Corporate and Leisure Travellers.Close to the people mover public bus and the
Rickshaw tourist bus.Whenever travelling to Durban I want to stay at Belaire again.Nice and big rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    183
    89
    31
    26
See reviews for
113
126
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here in March 2013 with my family. The suite's are massive and of a decent quality. We stayed here several times throughout our visit to South Africa and all the suites we were in were great. The restaurant downstairs serves really good food as well. They served a decent cooked breakfast as well as various cold choices which I couldn't fault. Wifi access was a little pricey but being an IT Guy, It wasn't long before I had purchased a local Data Simcard.

They also had parking however it does get busy fast so arrive early to avoid disappointment.

If your looking for somewhere decent to stay in Durban that doesnt cost the earth. I would recommend the Belaire Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Not clean. The floors throughout the room were covered in a layer of dirt. Could not get out of here fast enough. This hotel is not rated appropriately. Reception was less that helpful. There was also loud screaming and crying in the corridor at night, which did not make me feel safe. No nearby dinner options. The negative reviews are all true ... avoid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Saturday 28/12/2013, we disembarked from a cruise and booked a couple of days in Durban just to relax before the drive back to Johannesburg. We were early (08:30, checkout is only @10am) for the hotel and decided to leave our luggage there and then take a walk to pass the time. We went back to the hotel later, sat in the reception area, the staff wouldn't even offer you the passing advise of going to the coffee shop in the hotel section, where it is more comfortable to sit and enjoy something to eat. The porter Kobus came to us after 12 saying that he has told the cleaning staff now to clean our room 412. One o'clock came, we went to reception to ask them whether we can have the room now as other guests are checking in and going up, no the room is not ready yet. We asked them can we have the remote so long so that we can park the car, no they haven't received the remote back yet. By 2 o'clock we were fed up, back to the reception desk either we have the room that we have booked or we leave wanting a refund of the deposit paid, the reception lady with a seriously bad attitude says we can't expect that. After requesting the manager which was absent, we were sent to speak to Elsa, who is in charge of housekeeping. After explaining everything to her, she informed us that reception did not inform her that we were here early other wise she would have dealt with it earlier. we checked in eventually after 2, still no remote for the parking which we booked. The room was not up to standard for a what is suppose to be a 4 star hotel, the couches as torn, there is 1 teaspoon in the room, no additional cutlery or crockery. The spare bedroom had two single beds in, the one right in front of the wardrobe - no access to it. The only room that was in a good condition was the bathroom We went back down to reception around 5 saying we would like to go for supper and wish to park the car before we go. Needless to say, the staff has changed shifts and has not been informed of any unresolved queries. Would not recommend this hotel for more than an evening pass. The breakfast room is to small to accommodate all the guests and there is no variation. We checked out on Monday morning just after breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

For a 4 star hotel there were too many issues in the room:
Toilet had a urine smell upon arrival.
Wallpaper peeling.
Couch damaged.
Small and large dustbins either dented or lid off.
2 chairs for table missing.
Light cover in bathroom damaged.
Kitchen cupboard damaged.
Urine and strong cigarette smell in corridor.
On morning of departure the lock on the door was faulty- We were stuck in the room for 2h30 min before problem was resolved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

First the hotel needs some serious renovation of its interiors and rooms. For the price paid you would expect decent facilities. The rooms were basic with bare minimum amenities in bathroom. The breakfast was the same for all 4 days we stayed here. Also the staff is very lazy would tend to ignore your requests even after repeated reminders. Would not recommend to folks traveling with family.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for three nights. Clean hotel. Service average. Beds uncomfortable. Ample rooms. The view is mice. Breakfast very tasty but the breakfast room small so it gets crowded. The restaurant's food very nice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannelie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing