We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belaire Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$180
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
119
200
95
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
200
95
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe jiransmall kitchenettebreakfast arearooms are spaciousexcellent breakfastsuncoast casinotop floorother hotelssea viewlocation is excellentdurban beachfrontmoses mabhida stadiumushaka marinesafe areagolden mileindian oceancomrades marathon
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 times (4 night) and used the hotel as a base camp for Drakensberg and Hluhluwe.

The front desk staff we're very friendly (especially Dudley) we had some damp on our first stay but switched rooms straight away. The rooms are large with a small dining table if you want to have lunch overseeing the sea.

The breakfast has a reasonable spread (good for vegetarians) but hot food items are a little cold and it's always too busy; where you sometimes have to wait or end up sitting in the cafe and going back and forth the lobby.

Would not recommend for business as the breakfast can be slow and the wifi is patchy. For leisure it's good value as there is a small kitchenette with a fridge/microwave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for the long weekend in March, and had a good stay. The sea views are lovely, rooms comfortable, and breakfasts good. The best part is the close proximity to the promenade which is bustling. We really liked the restaurant which has a selection of fresh juices and smoothies. The negatives would be that the passage ways can be noisy disturbing your sleep, breakfasts can get very busy and the cleaner stole half a bar of chocolate from our room when cleaning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Serg_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We (3) stayed in the hotel 08 March 2014. Great value for bed and breakfast. Excellent breakfast. Plenty and tasty food to choose from. Spacy clean comfortable rooms with excellent sea-view. Bathroom was clean. Friendly and helpful staff, always smiling. Safe area. Great location. Will be back and will promote Belaire Suites. Thank you to each and every staff member for excellent services. Antjie Doeks and Joan

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giliomee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Well, what can I say about this place. Okay...I went here with my partner and two others for a quick bite to eat in their...shall i dare to say...fine dining area. Well...all I want to say is...we ordered salmon and cucumber and if i blinked and sneezed I am sure it would have gone. It was so small you could not even see it in the humongous bowl it was placed in. The service was terrible. It was as if we were not meant to eat and have a drink in the place. The waiter was ignorant and all he was bothered about was disappearing from the 'fine dining area' and having a chat with his male colleagues. At the end of our 'meal'..harr harr, we paid a bill of around 490 rand and left to search for another restaurant that would fill the gaping hole in our nit so full tummies. Would not reccomend this place to anyone unless you like to waste money on waiters who expect to be tipped for showing us how miserable they are. The only good thing I will say about the place was that it served a nice glass of wine. End of

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unique186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is average. We stayed for a week there after the Christmas holidays. The staff is fine, helpful. The breakfast buffet is better than your usual motel cuisine in the USA. The rooms are a good size but even with the renovation this hotel is showing its age. It fronts the beach and there is a long stretch of walkways with vendors, etc along the way so if you like walking no problem. When we were there it was windy so it made for sunbathing a bit difficult. There are designated spots on the beach for swimming with life guards- apparently there are shark nets in only some places. The surf seems to be a bit rough but not much in the way of ride-able waves. This hotel dos not have a pool. Taxis are readily available and there is an airport shuttle service.

Room Tip: To do laundry, walk behind the hotel, through the park and you will find a self service laundry in a small strip mall where you can do your own clothes washing and drying. Also, a small grocery store is there..
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews