We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent,Awesome stay, Thank You” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Gauteng
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent,Awesome stay, Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family and I booked in at your hotel over the Easter week-end, we had a fantastic stay. From being welcomed and booking into our rooms, until we departed, we all had the best time ever.
Your hotel is well organized and the hotel staff always friendly and readily to assist us and saw to our every need. Food was delicious and we will be back, alone next time :) without the kids :)

Room Tip: Without a doubt the highest floor and sea-facing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    168
    84
    31
    24
See reviews for
103
117
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for ten days. The rooms are comfy and spacious we had a suite with the main bedroom/sitting area plus kitchenette and then separate bathroom and second bedroom. Lord of room for our family of three. The price is good and the rooms clean and the cleaning staff very friendly and efficient. There were two problems: the fundamental one was poor management. There were plenty of staff but badly coordinated and organized. They couldn't work out if we had paid for instance and became aggressive even though we had! The second problem was a manifestation of this- breakfast was chaos. They cannot cope with the numbers in the hotel coming down for breakfast. Hopeless, not enough space, food ran out and general chaos.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Westy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with some friends for 3 days and the ppl were very kind and helpful. The localization is great. The breakfast was good to and the price was reasonable good. Is one of the hotel I will look if I'll go back there. From the hotel u can walk all the seafront and go to the casino

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have to begin my review warning everyone to please BEWARE OF AUTO THEFT IN FRONT OF THIS HOTEL!!! Unfortunately, our car got broken into in front of the hotel, and we had more than 1000USD in damage. We chose this hotel on hotels.com because of the location, rate and important in our decision was the fact that the description said it had secure parking. When we arrived, at midnight, after a long 9-hr drive, we were told that the secure parking was full and that we should park in front of the hotel, that there is a guard watching the cars. The next morning, to our dismay, the car had been broken into, and the perpetrators damaged our ignition trying to take the car... We were told that the very next night a car was actually stolen from the front of the hotel. It is a pity that 1) secure parking is so limited; 2) there is no real security watching the car, particularly when the hotel knows this is a common occurrence. We were very upset, needless to say. The hotel manager, Andres, was nice and helpful and arranged for a locksmith to come try to help and gave us address for the dealership where we could take the car to be fixed. But this really put a bad taste in my mouth for this hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with a beautiful view, right across the beach, close to main attractions. The breakfast was excellent, and staff friendly. I would not stay there again because of the parking situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEGMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 times (4 night) and used the hotel as a base camp for Drakensberg and Hluhluwe.

The front desk staff we're very friendly (especially Dudley) we had some damp on our first stay but switched rooms straight away. The rooms are large with a small dining table if you want to have lunch overseeing the sea.

The breakfast has a reasonable spread (good for vegetarians) but hot food items are a little cold and it's always too busy; where you sometimes have to wait or end up sitting in the cafe and going back and forth the lobby.

Would not recommend for business as the breakfast can be slow and the wifi is patchy. For leisure it's good value as there is a small kitchenette with a fridge/microwave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the long weekend in March, and had a good stay. The sea views are lovely, rooms comfortable, and breakfasts good. The best part is the close proximity to the promenade which is bustling. We really liked the restaurant which has a selection of fresh juices and smoothies. The negatives would be that the passage ways can be noisy disturbing your sleep, breakfasts can get very busy and the cleaner stole half a bar of chocolate from our room when cleaning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Serg_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yzerfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We (3) stayed in the hotel 08 March 2014. Great value for bed and breakfast. Excellent breakfast. Plenty and tasty food to choose from. Spacy clean comfortable rooms with excellent sea-view. Bathroom was clean. Friendly and helpful staff, always smiling. Safe area. Great location. Will be back and will promote Belaire Suites. Thank you to each and every staff member for excellent services. Antjie Doeks and Joan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giliomee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing