We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stay 4 nights with family. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast good. However, a little more variety on the food selection will be better and free complimentary internet access would have been appreciated.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Enaya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the 10th floor and had a stunning view, really great.
Breakfast was truly excellent.
We were disappointed by several things, though. They mentioned "basic cooking facilities" in the suite. For tem it means one microwave and 2 cups for the tea. No plates, no knives, no forks, nothing to prepare any food or eat it without just your hands...
We bought a ZAR200,00 Internet voucher as it was "illimited". It was truly a nightmare, the connection was terribly slow. Even for free we believe it would have been a shame for South Africa and Durban.
Plus, the housekeeping was not that good, you had everything you need on the first day and on the following days they give you less towels, nothing to put on the floor, you need to constantly ask for everything, including shower gel and shampoo. Plus we were given a really dirty towel and noticed that ours were not always changed (which is ok because it is nonsense to change towels everyday). We noticed that it also depended on the housekeeping lady. The worst one we had watch series on TV in our room and did not even switch off the TV when one of us came back to the suite...
The Jiran café next door is a very good spot for lunch, coffee or dinner.

Room Tip: The higher the better, for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SylvieE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the hotel as a anniversary getaway suprise and was an absolute delight. I didn't get the opportunity to communicate with the staff much as we asked for minimal disturbance and got just that which was perfect. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choices. Excellent hotel very clean too!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boipelo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has an excellent location due its proximity to the beach (it is a front-line beachfront hotel), but sadly we will not be staying here again nor will we recommend it to anyone.

On the second night of our stay we had a somewhat frightening experience here. Whilst relaxing in our room, we were confronted with loud aggressive banging on our door, together with extremely vigorous rattling of the door handle, as though someone was trying to get in (thank goodness we had our security latch on!). We immediately phoned the reception, and were told that someone will come up right away. After some time, when no one pitched up, i contacted reception again...and was told to "have some patience, someone will come up". Shocked at our security concerns being taken so lightly, my husband went down to the reception to resolve this issue. Whilst there, he met another (foreign) family staying at the hotel ( one floor above us) who had experienced the same problem, and who were also quite frustrated at the apathetic attitude of the hotel personnel. My husband observed that there were cameras on each floor and requested to view the surveillance tapes. He was told that the cameras were not working. Huh? This, despite the room brochure/ guideline book stating that there was 24-hour camera surveillance on each floor. He was also told that Manager was busy and could not meet with them ( him and the other family involved). We were quite disappointed that there no feedback on this incident, no acknowledgement, no apologies. Not even when we checked-out. Really, really disappointing service...and no, we will definitely not be back!

Besides this (major security problem), there were also other smaller issues we had to contend with. Because there was a small kitchenette available, we requested some crockery (amongst other things) for our eat-in meals ( the hotel book stated we should request if we needed), but nothing ended up coming up to us. Check in was slow and a bit confused, night staff weren't very friendly or helpful.

So I think we'll probably give this hotel a miss, and stay at the other lovely beach-front hotels

Room Tip: Higher floors for better ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, General Manager at Belaire Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

My sincere apologies for this happening to you during your stay at The Belaire Suites Hotel.

The matter was raised by the Duty Manager that evening and camera footage was viewed by the Duty Manager, in this it showed that there were 2 small children, guest in the hotel, that were the cause of this event.

The cameras are in good working order and we are investigating further as to why you were told they are not working and why you have not had sufficient feedback on this matter.

I can assure you that every possible measure is taken to ensure the safety of our guests during their stay at the hotel.

I apologies once again for this disturbance during your stay at the hotel.

Kind regards

Andreas Schreiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Took ages for staff to work up check in, generally non chalant attitude from them. Whenever queries were made with night staff, they seemed disinterested and were quite rude. Bathroom had a funny smell, seemed to have a mould problem. Breakfast was good, especially pastries. Requested late check in for last day, was told that it was not possible because hotel was fully booked, however the numerous rooms available on the internet seemed to suggest otherwise. Have stayed here before and was impressed with the hotel, however, after this experience, it is safe to assume that this will be my last visit to this place. Definitely not a four star hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Naseem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel - the location was amazing! We asked for a room on an upper level and stayed on the 8th floor - gorgeous view of the ocean! Our rooms were cleaned daily, and all of the staff were friendly. Aside from the great location, the highlight was the free breakfast - tons of choices and it all was delicious! It might be a stretch to call this a 4 star hotel, but we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I didn't stay at belaire suites but ate at Cafe Jiran. Food was awesome. My friend and I both had meat platters. Definitely would eat there more often if I didn't reside in UK. Keep up the good work

Trish Allanson

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Trish527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
2.4 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £46 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing