We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No aircon, no restaurant, cant walk anywhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Durban
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No aircon, no restaurant, cant walk anywhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

I booked into the Belaire Suites for two nights for business in Durban. Instead of sleeping there, I checked out and lost my deposit. Willingly.
Durban is hot, and with refurbishment, there are currently no working airconditioners, there is a single lift working, and the restaurant attached is nither closed nor open, but not funtional at the moment unless its coffee or h=juice that will suffice.

Its situated on the beach, which I did not need, but I thought would be nice to go for a walk. But this is not an area you can walk after dusk, or on the early morning, as the front door is locked and cars are not safe outside, so use the allocated partking.

Once renovations are done, there will be working lifts, aircons, and possibly even the restaurant. But until then - choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innerpeace3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    167
    84
    31
    24
See reviews for
101
117
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Its not located on the main parade, and access to the beach is difficult. When I was there, the air conditioning was down and the rooms unbearably hot and humid.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

I stayed at Belaire Suites for 3 weeks while I was visiting Durban on a business trip and conference. All I can say is FANTASTIC what an incredible place. The apartments are newly refurbished with top quality finishes, the staff very accommodating, my room was spotless and my bed was a welcoming gift after my long day at work. The kitchenette was stocked with all the necessary. It felt like home away from home. Right on the beach what more could I wish for, the sound of the sea was so relaxing, amazing sea view. There were times that I really didn'f feel like cooking, so I popped downstairs to Cafe Jiran (situated in the foyer) and WOW is the only word to describe this coffee shop! I have never had such devine coffee, they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and mostly use local and organic ingredients to prepare their meals, you have to visit this "one in a million " coffee shop.

We had the conference at the Blue Waters Hotel down the road and what a venue for a conference, suberb facilities, lunches and snacks.

Thanks to all the staff - what a wonderful experience, I will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

There was flexible accomodation in 1,2 & 3 bedroom layouts to suit everyone in our touring party. The rooms had been recently refurbished to a high standard, and the self-catering kitchenette in all units was a bonus, with the option of breakfast, lunch and dinner at the excellent 'Cafe Jiran' coffee shop / lounge on the ground floor (best coffee most of us had ever had!). The service was good and the staff courteous and friendly. A wonderful location on the beach-front. Good value for money - would definitely recommend it, either for solo travellers / couples, or for larger touring parties.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Arriving in the middle of a major exibition we could find a room, but 1,5 hour later Belair saved us a return trip to a N3 motel.
Helpful staff, nicely renovated room (work still going on with the outside), crappy elevator but luckly working whe we had luggage to bring.
Breakfast cost extra but worthy.

Next time my wife will force me to book ahead and not just go, at 42 she think i should have grown out of that. (thats what she thinks ;-)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knolre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#8 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing