We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Benjamin is not the typical choice for a stay in Durban as it is a a few minutes away from the beach. However, it is very central for business in the area, and also within walking to distance to many restaurants. Service was of a high standard and the rooms were also excellent. I would definitely stay at the Benjamin again for business, however, if staying for a family holiday, I would probably still look for something closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are the better option for those looking for a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    81
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
71
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed for a few nights at the beginning of this year. Great location with restaurants and a "night club" nearby; great place--had a room overlooking the pool; outstanding breakfasts; and extremely friendly and helpful staff across the board!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here on 31 December 2012, and was really pleasantly suprised - having spent years living in Durban literally down the road, I never knew this place existed! Great location on Florida Road if you're spending some time in Durban, room was lovely and comfortable. Staff were very friendly as well. We booked literally on the 31 December, and the hotel could have charged us quadruple their standard rate if they wanted, but still charged us the very reasonable normal rate (which included breakfast). Lovely pool area outside to relax if the sun is shining. Small finishing touches like the Bloody Mary and Berocca C for the hangover at breakfast the next morning were brilliant! Would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our room open to he 8th street. It was quite big with two steps, leading to a bigger living room. A small bathroom with a much to loud AC and a far to short shower curtain. The floor of the room, a carpet was ugly, dirty and had a very used look, so we have a negative point here. Top position: Even at night Floridaroad ,with many bars and restaurants, is a safe place. The stadium and inner city are close to reach by feet. The coffee and breakfast was very delicious and the table service was handsome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

A comfortable guest house in Florida Road that was clean and adequate.
I dont think it would rate "Very Good" but feel ungenerous in not rating it as such. Nothing was poor about it but then again nothing was great. I stayed here because the price was good.
The room was functional and the aircon worked well.
Breakfast was good.
The pool was clean and welcome in the December heat.
The worst (or best) element to the hotel is the location. Florida Road turns into a tacky party venue at night. The din from the locals goes on until dawn during the holiday season and at weekends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel! Customer service was excellent, good breakfast, nice pool, room was very nice for the money. The location on Florida Road is good, right across the street from a wide selection of restaurants. The one downside was that it got pretty loud at night and stayed that way until around 4 am on the weekend - even though our room was in the interior part of the hotel. Also, parking is a bit tight. You don't want to leave your car on the street at night, but not to worry, the hotel has overflow parking across the street.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Florida Road to get away from some of the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent all around from the location of the hotel to restaurants and the beach. Friendly staff with complimentary breakfast and cocktails in the evening. I was there for work and will stay there again when I return to Durban.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#11 of 42 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Benjamin 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing