We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a B&B feel”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at The Benjamin and this is why:

Staff: they were very attentive. The front desk staff provided good information in restaurants and were always smiling when I entered. The wait staff was quite accommodating during breakfast readily available to take your order and always friendly.
Location: quite close/short drive to the beach. On Florida Rd where there are a host of restaurants and bars that you can walk to.
Rooms: I had a lovely room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard. It was well equipped; although, you must request an iron/ironing board from the front desk. It wasn't the most modern room but it was very clean and well taken care of. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting in the room. I always felt that it was not bright enough.
Food: breakfast was included in the pricing and it was awesome! There was a lovely spread of pastries, fruit, nuts, cereal and cold cuts. I filled up the first morning not realizing that I was able to order hot made-to-order breakfast as well! I tried it the next morning..and every morning thereafter and it was always hot and delicious.
Pricing: It was so reasonable. I guess coming from NY where hotels are so expensive, I found this hotel to be a steal!

I always like to try new hotels when I revisit cities; however, my experience was so great that I must return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYEYEDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Jayeyedee

Thank you for doing a review for us and all the lovely compliments, it really means alot to us to receive such great feedback. I have noted the comment on the lighting in the rooms and we will now only use a brighter bulb. Thank you, it is comments like yours that help us improve all the time.

Many Thanks
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

My name is Sanjay Roy and i am writing this review almost after a year and half and i might be considered crazy for that reason. I was there in September, 2011. This hotel is located in Florida street, the main happening street in Durban with large number of pubs and resto-bars. Havana lounge is one crazy of a place and a must visit. The beach front is not far from The Benjamin. I will always prefer to stay The Benjamin whenever i am in Durban next time with my family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritualJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Sanjay

Thank you so much all the lovely comments. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for a night as we went to watch a Durban sharks rugby match . Lovely staff, always helpful , especially as we are from the UK and had never visited Durban before. Organised taxis for us and told us where the best tourist sights were.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Not travelling as much for business as I once did, it has been about 4 years since I last stayed here and a lot can change in that space of time. I was pleasantly surprised to experience the same top service, friendly staff. The location is excellent with a number of good restaurants and bars located within a few minutes walk. Breakfast was good as always and would without hesitation recommend a visit to this fine establishment.

Room Tip: The inside courtyard rooms are less susceptible to outside traffic and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannesburgBretski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Excellent value for money!
Friendly staff, nice rooms, good breakfast and safe as they come.
Serves as a peaceful retreat away from the buzzling Florida Street night life...but if you want some fun, it's right outside the door!
Business or leisure, this is the one to stay at!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theCookieMonsterPta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I spent two nights at the Benjamin in a comfortable room that felt more like a friend's home than a hotel. The neighborhood is great and I had some good meals nearby. My only complaint is the sub-par coffee at breakfast (not atypical for South African hotels), but thankfully there are plenty of cafes in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights great service nice to see the manager interacting with guests.
Even packed a lunch for us!
Location great with so many restaurants to choose from in Florida Rd.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Benjamin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing