We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Durban”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I regularly stay over at this Hotel - The staff are great and I consider it home away from Home - Consistency throughout in all aspects on each return.Breakfast is awesome and the service & quality always tops

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you so much we really appreciate your comments and love having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

A great hotel located on a busy street with restaurants and bars. We were able to walk to an Indian restaurant just down the road and have a drink right outside the hotel. The staff were also fantastic when I left a jacket in the hotel and with no hope of us ever returning to pick it up they agreed to post it on to us. Thank you Michelle!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. There is nothing worse than loosing your favourite clothes and it is a pleasure to be able to help you get it back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The benjamin is a fine hotel, with a great breakfast, excellent service - they really go the extra mile when you need a favour - and fantastic location. The rooms are also good, even though the decoration and the predominance of Kenny G in the ambience music might feel questionable to some.
What i don't get is their obsession to call themselves a boutique hotel, when the hotel isn't small, nor vintage, nor quaint. They're absolutely fine being a city hotel, and you will have a perfectly ok experience staying at the Benjamin, but if you expect something boutique, well, this is not it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback, and we have noted your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at the Benjamin at the end of June 2013. Wanted to stay again in July but it was booked solid for the Durban July horse races. Clean, friendly staff, secure parking and a great selection of restaurants within a block or two.

One weird experience -- sitting in the front lounge, about to go out, when a blond, middle-aged woman came in from the street and tried to sell us TASERs for our safety!? I think the hotel front desk person was busy and didn't see "the TASER lady" enter and make her pitch. I don't think the hotel would encourage such a thing.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing Florida Road might be noisy at night, esp on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Melissa

Thank you for reviewing us , we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry about the lady selling"Tasers", we certainly do not allow this and apologise that you had to endour this.

Hope to see you again when next in Durban

Regards Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at The Benjamin and this is why:

Staff: they were very attentive. The front desk staff provided good information in restaurants and were always smiling when I entered. The wait staff was quite accommodating during breakfast readily available to take your order and always friendly.
Location: quite close/short drive to the beach. On Florida Rd where there are a host of restaurants and bars that you can walk to.
Rooms: I had a lovely room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard. It was well equipped; although, you must request an iron/ironing board from the front desk. It wasn't the most modern room but it was very clean and well taken care of. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting in the room. I always felt that it was not bright enough.
Food: breakfast was included in the pricing and it was awesome! There was a lovely spread of pastries, fruit, nuts, cereal and cold cuts. I filled up the first morning not realizing that I was able to order hot made-to-order breakfast as well! I tried it the next morning..and every morning thereafter and it was always hot and delicious.
Pricing: It was so reasonable. I guess coming from NY where hotels are so expensive, I found this hotel to be a steal!

I always like to try new hotels when I revisit cities; however, my experience was so great that I must return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYEYEDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Jayeyedee

Thank you for doing a review for us and all the lovely compliments, it really means alot to us to receive such great feedback. I have noted the comment on the lighting in the rooms and we will now only use a brighter bulb. Thank you, it is comments like yours that help us improve all the time.

Many Thanks
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My name is Sanjay Roy and i am writing this review almost after a year and half and i might be considered crazy for that reason. I was there in September, 2011. This hotel is located in Florida street, the main happening street in Durban with large number of pubs and resto-bars. Havana lounge is one crazy of a place and a must visit. The beach front is not far from The Benjamin. I will always prefer to stay The Benjamin whenever i am in Durban next time with my family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritualJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Sanjay

Thank you so much all the lovely comments. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for a night as we went to watch a Durban sharks rugby match . Lovely staff, always helpful , especially as we are from the UK and had never visited Durban before. Organised taxis for us and told us where the best tourist sights were.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#9 of 44 in Durban
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £70 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Benjamin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing