We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel but if you're looking for boutique this isn't it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel but if you're looking for boutique this isn't it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Benjamin is an all around great hotel, but it isn't a boutique hotel. The rooms are well-appointed and clean, only wish they had provided an in-room safe. The breakfast, with both hot and cold options is one of the nicest I've had; options included a smoked salmon omelette. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, and the location, right on Florida Road is a safe area with lots of restaurants and nightclubs. The only major complaint is that it is quite noisy. I think the rooms farther away from the road are much quieter, but the hotel was also doing loud maintenance which started at 8am on Friday morning, and made our wake up on Friday less than pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room far away from Florida road because with the bar scene, it can be quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We really do appreciate all feedback. You will be pleased to know that the painting of the hotel is complete and the hotel looks lovely so no more maintenance ! I am so sorry that you were woken up so early on the Friday. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Sourth Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    81
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
71
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived early for our check in and were shown straight to our room. A very attractive,quiet room at the back of the property. We had three nights here and would recommend it as a place to stay. The breakfast menu is huge and delicious. All the staff we dealt with we're very pleasant and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Hope that the rest of your stay in South Africa was great .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
252 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I regularly stay over at this Hotel - The staff are great and I consider it home away from Home - Consistency throughout in all aspects on each return.Breakfast is awesome and the service & quality always tops

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you so much we really appreciate your comments and love having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A great hotel located on a busy street with restaurants and bars. We were able to walk to an Indian restaurant just down the road and have a drink right outside the hotel. The staff were also fantastic when I left a jacket in the hotel and with no hope of us ever returning to pick it up they agreed to post it on to us. Thank you Michelle!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. There is nothing worse than loosing your favourite clothes and it is a pleasure to be able to help you get it back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The benjamin is a fine hotel, with a great breakfast, excellent service - they really go the extra mile when you need a favour - and fantastic location. The rooms are also good, even though the decoration and the predominance of Kenny G in the ambience music might feel questionable to some.
What i don't get is their obsession to call themselves a boutique hotel, when the hotel isn't small, nor vintage, nor quaint. They're absolutely fine being a city hotel, and you will have a perfectly ok experience staying at the Benjamin, but if you expect something boutique, well, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, and we have noted your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at the Benjamin at the end of June 2013. Wanted to stay again in July but it was booked solid for the Durban July horse races. Clean, friendly staff, secure parking and a great selection of restaurants within a block or two.

One weird experience -- sitting in the front lounge, about to go out, when a blond, middle-aged woman came in from the street and tried to sell us TASERs for our safety!? I think the hotel front desk person was busy and didn't see "the TASER lady" enter and make her pitch. I don't think the hotel would encourage such a thing.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing Florida Road might be noisy at night, esp on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Melissa

Thank you for reviewing us , we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry about the lady selling"Tasers", we certainly do not allow this and apologise that you had to endour this.

Hope to see you again when next in Durban

Regards Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at The Benjamin and this is why:

Staff: they were very attentive. The front desk staff provided good information in restaurants and were always smiling when I entered. The wait staff was quite accommodating during breakfast readily available to take your order and always friendly.
Location: quite close/short drive to the beach. On Florida Rd where there are a host of restaurants and bars that you can walk to.
Rooms: I had a lovely room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard. It was well equipped; although, you must request an iron/ironing board from the front desk. It wasn't the most modern room but it was very clean and well taken care of. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting in the room. I always felt that it was not bright enough.
Food: breakfast was included in the pricing and it was awesome! There was a lovely spread of pastries, fruit, nuts, cereal and cold cuts. I filled up the first morning not realizing that I was able to order hot made-to-order breakfast as well! I tried it the next morning..and every morning thereafter and it was always hot and delicious.
Pricing: It was so reasonable. I guess coming from NY where hotels are so expensive, I found this hotel to be a steal!

I always like to try new hotels when I revisit cities; however, my experience was so great that I must return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYEYEDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Jayeyedee

Thank you for doing a review for us and all the lovely compliments, it really means alot to us to receive such great feedback. I have noted the comment on the lighting in the rooms and we will now only use a brighter bulb. Thank you, it is comments like yours that help us improve all the time.

Many Thanks
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 42 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Benjamin 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing