We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
132
98
21
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
98
21
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel florida road free bar safe street restaurants and bars restaurant district small hotel very comfortable room light sleeper night life fresh fruit stayed for one night nice pool would definitely stay here again central location breakfast was delicious home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I really enjoyed the level of service, the lovely attitudes of every body at this establishment, their willingness to assist with things like adaptors, tooth paste , printing and the clean and comfy rooms.I wish mine wasn't facing the pool because I had to close my curtains to have privacy. The room that I got was a bit smaller than expected but it was well cared for , had good fast wi-fi and offered the basic home from home comforts.Enjoyed the hearty breakfasts ranging from healthy muesli, yogurts, seeds and fruits to omelettes and sausages and bacon and greasy , slap breakfasts!
And truly charming staff and owners who all seem interested in making this a happy experience.

Room tip: corner rooms are better and the ones away from the pool are more private
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liepollo Leboha... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Sadly, we only stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night on our way to a cruise vacation. Taxi from airport R350 (about £25) and to cruise terminal R70 ( about £4), all arranged via the hotel by email in advance. As we arrived over the Easter bank holiday weekend, we were presented with an Easter goodie bag filled with chocolate treats and homemade cookies (what a lovely touch). The room was decorated in the style of an old English country Manor House, with individual dark wood pieces of furniture and lots of space. As silly as it sounds, it was also nice to have a key for your room rather than a plastic card. Our room had two large windows overlooking a small pool and courtyard garden area with attractive planting and shaded areas. There are a few stairs to climb which may present a few challenges for some but the staff are happy to help with this if needed.

A large and comfortable bed with crisp white linen allowed a very good nights sleep and we were pleased to have a spacious shower room instead of a bath.

We loved the breakfast room, furnished in white wood with contrasting fabrics and also looking out to the gardens with large sliding doors to help bring the outdoors indoors. The breakfast team excelled themselves with a extensive range of cereals, fruits, cheeses and meats along with hot options including a delicious omelette which got us off to a flying start. A plentiful supply of juices and good strong coffee helped to make the perfect start to the day.

There were also several public areas to relax in with sofas and armchairs and coffee tables, ideal for relaxing if you were travelling in a group.

For its location, the hotel was very quiet indeed and there were many places to eat and drink only a few steps from the front door, although after a couple of long haul flights, a couple of drinks were all we really wanted.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hudds-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry it was so short. Look forward to welcoming you back one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Was in Durban for a special dinner and was introduced to this lettle gem in the middle of Morningside. From the time you open the front door you can feel the service and willingness of all staff.The dining room always has tea, coffee and fresh water to enjoy. Rooms are not huge but well designed and sufficient even for my size considering that I am 6'7". Breakfast is fresh and plentifull. Cannot wait to go back and you should try it also

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoy our hotel and hospitality. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I spent two weeks at this wonderful and homely hotel on business. The staff made our stay comfortable and enjoyable and were able to respond to every request with a 'yes!' They provided us with
a home from home with comfortable rooms, impeccable cleanliness, delicious breakfasts and best of all every member of the Benjamin team was friendly, happy, efficient and thoughtful. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all staying with us and I am thrilled that we made you feel comfortable and at home. Thank you , Thank you. and hope that we can welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The management and staff at this Hotel are exceptional and make hosting my EQ workshops here an absolute pleasure. The Big Ben room is airy and spacious and the food served at teas and lunches is excellent. Everyone is prepared to go the extra mile to make your experience enjoyable! A highly recommended venue!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Avril
Thank you so much for you comments and for taking the time to do the review. We love having conferences at the hotel and enjoy giving the delegates at great day and a awesome meal experience. See you next month .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews