We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My good stay at Roseland”
Review of Roseland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roseland House
Ranked #12 of 250 Durban B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My good stay at Roseland”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hotel is exclusive, it is good for business poeple to sleep over, however i feel like it is actually a bit isolated, like you have to drive to find a place to buy food. Myb it would be better if they serve dinner as well. but all is excellent, the service is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DOROTHY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi Dorothy
Thank you for the response. Just to let you know that should you wish to have dinners included we do serve a 2 course meal and a cold drink in the evenings but it must be ordered beforehand. Hope we see you again sometime soon
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I consider Roseland House one of the most convenient places to stay in Durban. It is situated at 1 min drive from the N3 Highway, approximately 15 min from the M4 Highway (the one along the coast) and 5 min from the University Campus for those who are interested. Moses Mabhida Stadium as well as Kings Park Stadium (rugby stadium) are 15 away by car. Supermarkets and nice restaurants are very close (some at 5 min walk and others at 10 min drive). One can walk around the area which is quiet, lovely and safe.
Rooms are lovely and breakfast is great. Delia and Warren are very friendly and helpful.
I will definitely stay at Roseland House whenever I go to Durban !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a lovely stay, and wonderful hosts! Highly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zani777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Breakfast is great. The hosts Delia and Warren become like old friends immediately. Warren is very funny! Great stories! They welcome you to their lovely house and take good care of you.
The house is conveniently located in a lovely, safe area of Durban. You can walk to restaurants and shopping. Our room was lovely with a veranda overlooking the pool. I'll always stay there when I go to Durban. It will be like going home!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This place is quiet, safe, and just what you need if your visiting Durban and you have the use of a car. Not being in the city of durban is a bonus and the motorways are close by make getting in, out, and around Durban a breeze. The hosts are friendly and have an excellent knowledge of the local area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fires72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#8 of 250 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland House

Property: Roseland House
Address: 291 Davenport /Helen Joseph Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseland House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated with your comfort in mind these 2 Edwardian homes offer 4 star accommodation to both business and leisure guests. Airport transfer organized for you. Free parking off street. Dinners on request. Free full English breakfast. 2 Swimming pools on the property. Full liquor license allows you to order drinks in your room or on the terraces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Roseland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing