We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”
Review of Roseland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roseland House
Ranked #9 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can I say about my stay at Roseland Guesthouse? It was excellent! Great food and even greater service. Close to good restaurants and to my training. Lovely park closeby! Thank you Warren and Delhia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank czjcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to make such nice comments. It is nice to know that we are appreciated as we try our best to make this happen. Hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The area is very quiet and therefore was able to get a good night's sleep after an exhausting day. The room was beautifully decorated and had lovely views of the pool area. Breakfast was lovely and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thato I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our time in KZN this year included two marvellous return visits to Roseland House in Durban. As always, hosts Delia and Warren were friendly and helpful far beyond the call of duty, and wonderful company, too, with excellent back-up/service from staff members Maureen, Phumzile, Surprise and Wiseman. We heartily recommend a stay in this lovely old house with its attractive leafy and two swimming pools - and it's within easy walking distance of good cafes, galleries and restaurants. We'll certainly come again. Many thanks to all.

Jenny Newman and David Evans (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review. I most certainly will show all our staff what was writen. We are so lucky to have such a wonderful team who go the extra mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dee and Warren are the best hosts ive encountered, they make your comfort their concern. Maureen was also fantastic. Everything worked, everything was clean and they were great company. I absolutely loved it, will definately stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nompumelelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review- it is very much appreciated. I will tell Maureen that her name has come up on the internet and show her your message. She is a wonderful staff member and she will be thrilled with your comment. Thank you cone again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Roseland House is very well located in quiet part of Glenwood, Durban & has good security. Within walking distance to two shopping centres. Warren, Delia and there Staff are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this B & B. Good breakfast and clean and tidy rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed upstairs and it was quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

It is so nice when we get a Trip Advisor response. Thank you for taking the time. We really appreciate it. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I think you may have been in our purple room which as you say is really quiet-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Perfect location, best security, friendly staff and quality services. This place is not far from the CBD, yet is located in a quite suburb. I will definitely be staying there each time I go to Durban.
Thank you for making my holidays memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms by the main pool are my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebohang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Lebohang

Thank you for taking the time to write a revue. It is very much appreciated. We hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Welcoming excellent and the stay was perfect.Locstion of the dining room and surroundings pleasant.Service by the waitor very good.Room cleanliness and replenishment of coffees very good.Bar fridge pls

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Jabu

Thank you so much for your review. It is very appreciated. The waiter - Warren- is always running around like crazy over the festive season as we are full to capacity and so he will be thrilled with your comment. We hope that you will come and visit Roseland House when next you take a break in Durban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,484 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
95 reviews
2.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#70 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland House

Address: 291 Davenport /Helen Joseph Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £52 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseland House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated with your comfort in mind these 2 Edwardian homes offer 4 star accommodation to both business and leisure guests. Airport transfer organized for you. Free parking off street. Dinners on request. Free full English breakfast. 2 Swimming pools on the property. Full liquor license allows you to order drinks in your room or on the terraces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Roseland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing