We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silent Place in Busy City”
Review of Roseland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roseland House
Ranked #10 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited Durban for the First Time. Rodeland House was for us an excellent Place to Star. The Service was outstanding, the breakfast Great, we loved all the Rosés they had in and out of the Rooms. We also enjoyed the Restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms St the poolside are good for edler couples like us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt & Getraud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

It is always our pleasure to assist our overseas guests like yourselves. This is what makes guest house ownership so much fun for us. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. I agree with you about it being a very quiet place to stay yet you are so close to all the amenties and the fun places in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Its a great place , safe, clean seem-less housekeeper who are professional in every details, breakfast was simple but tasteful.
The Location is perfect for those in leisure but not great for those doing business in town, us is a drive to the place, nothing great us connected to local people..they are sweet but not all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Asheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for the lovely write up - it is much appreciated. I am sorry that the Durban transport system is not too good if you do not have your own transport but our concierge and taxi services are usually very good. Perhaps you may have found difficulty as you booked at a really busy week in Durban when there is a huge increase in overseas travellers in the same position as yourself. I am happy that this did not trouble you too much however and hope that you will come back to Durban again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I visited Durban for the first time this year and i manage to find Roseland House here on Tripadvisor. At the same time i had conference that i had to attend and i needed a comfortable place and also very close to the Convention Center, and they definately come highly recommended. Very good comfortable beds, space, and close within walking distance to some shops and restaurants with good food. Breakfast is brilliant and very tastefull. I will make sure that i book my stay for next year again and looking forward to see you guys again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for the fantastic revue. You came at one of our busiest times and it is nice to know we handle well under pressure! The chef is particularly please to be mentioned as serving a delicious meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can I say about my stay at Roseland Guesthouse? It was excellent! Great food and even greater service. Close to good restaurants and to my training. Lovely park closeby! Thank you Warren and Delhia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank czjcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to make such nice comments. It is nice to know that we are appreciated as we try our best to make this happen. Hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The area is very quiet and therefore was able to get a good night's sleep after an exhausting day. The room was beautifully decorated and had lovely views of the pool area. Breakfast was lovely and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thato I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our time in KZN this year included two marvellous return visits to Roseland House in Durban. As always, hosts Delia and Warren were friendly and helpful far beyond the call of duty, and wonderful company, too, with excellent back-up/service from staff members Maureen, Phumzile, Surprise and Wiseman. We heartily recommend a stay in this lovely old house with its attractive leafy and two swimming pools - and it's within easy walking distance of good cafes, galleries and restaurants. We'll certainly come again. Many thanks to all.

Jenny Newman and David Evans (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review. I most certainly will show all our staff what was writen. We are so lucky to have such a wonderful team who go the extra mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dee and Warren are the best hosts ive encountered, they make your comfort their concern. Maureen was also fantastic. Everything worked, everything was clean and they were great company. I absolutely loved it, will definately stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nompumelelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee830, Owner at Roseland House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review- it is very much appreciated. I will tell Maureen that her name has come up on the internet and show her your message. She is a wonderful staff member and she will be thrilled with your comment. Thank you cone again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#23 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
97 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 44 in Durban
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#73 of 258 in Durban
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland House

Address: 291 Davenport /Helen Joseph Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseland House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated with your comfort in mind these 2 Edwardian homes offer 4 star accommodation to both business and leisure guests. Airport transfer organized for you. Free parking off street. Dinners on request. Free full English breakfast. 2 Swimming pools on the property. Full liquor license allows you to order drinks in your room or on the terraces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Roseland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing