We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valley Lodge
Ranked #7 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

It's a great hotel
Good service and friendly staff
BEAUTIFUL views from the room
Average size pool
Nice bathrooms
AIR CON which is a treat
A great small place to relax by the pool
Stunning flowers
Sone loose wires in the rooms
But we'll equipt and a really good place
(Loved the breakfast!)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    42
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
26
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip around South Africa in November 2013 - Lovely place and a refreshing change from chain hotels. Great staff and very helpful, the owner's wife even organising to drop us off and pick us up from a business dinner in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhepneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Small boutique Hotel created by renovating a house and biuilding on number of rooms on the same property. Everything was clean and in order. Decent foot, good accommodation. Nice & pleasant small hotel with friendly staff keen to assist and ensure pleasant stay. Located quite centrally to Hilcrest.

Room Tip: all rooms quite similar. there are 2 types: single story and double story. Double story/loft rooms p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ognjen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our group of six spent three nights here in Rooms 1-3. A very attractive and secure lodge and grounds in Hillcrest, very suitable if you need to stay in this region. The lodge rooms are all themed differently, some of which are quite dark - if you don't like imposing dark red walls throughout ask for another room! Some have a mirror and powerpoint downstairs to dry hair / apply your face etc., others don't have which can be inconvenient for some. The stairs to the upstairs lofts / bedrooms are very steep. Not the best for dickie knees or hearts and there is not always someone to help you up with your luggage if you need it or arrive later.

Don't look at or inspect the fixtures and fittings too closely, as some of the fittings were cheap and in need of maintenance - our taps were secured with string instead of plumber's tape and cupboards in one of our friends' rooms were on the very cheap side. It is comfortable enough, comfy bed and lovely pool and grounds, established trees, and a nice little restaurant attached to reception with decent breakfasts. While we didn't eat any other meals there, the menu looked fine. It is very close to many excellent shops and restaurants along Old Main Road (including MoZamBik, worth a try) nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago for 9 nights as we had a wedding to attend near by. Room was lovely and spacious (room 14) and the staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly.
We didn't make breakfast very often as it finished a bit early for us (7am-9am) but when we did there was a good choice. As it was out of season the evening/lunch meal times did vary from that in the brochure in the room but we were always able to get something when we wanted.
The guest house was fenced with a secure car park, in a quiet residential area. Pool and gardens looked lovey
We had a pleasant stay and would highly recommend

Room Tip: Room 14 was above the reception with its own balcony over looking the gardens and drive. Very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while on business. The fully functional suite (No. 4) was a lot bigger than I expected, would have been a modestly priced apartment in the Midwest. The service was excellent, with the concierge taking my order for dinner at my door every night. The breakfast/dinner menu was a bit lacking for options, but the food was well prepared and tasty. It also never gave me any, ahem, issues later.

The only complaints I would have are these:
-The shower in my suite would not drain properly. I brought it up to the front desk, but it was never resolved.
-The AC/heater unit was fairly noisy, so I had to sleep with it off through the night.

Room Tip: Get the french toast for breakfast, it is quite tasty. Bring your own shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This B&B is located in Hillcrest, about half an hours drive from Durban, or a good hour from the airport. The staff are very friendly, the room we had was excellent, and we had a good breakfast. The accommodation is very central, close to the shops and restaurants, and well fenced with safe parking and sercurity gate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.0 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#81 of 255 in Durban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Lodge

Property: Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Valley Drive Hillcrest, Durban 3610, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing