We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #36 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Arinagour, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a terrible stay here. The staff lacked manners and on arrival it seemed like we had stepped in on and crashed their own little party - missing the point entirely that we were the guests. The room was okay - however the pool was incredibly dirty along with expensive Internet. Disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekwenibackpack, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Very sorry you felt that way. A bit of a surprise based on our other reviews. Am looking into the night you were with us so thanks for your honesty. A little confused about the internet being expensive as it is free? Also the pool as my office is right in front of the pool and I thought it has been looking pretty good besides being too cold to swim at the moment. We do value your input however. Thx for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    41
    20
    21
    12
See reviews for
2
23
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here on a last minute decision while traveling with baz bus... What a great decision! We stayed in a double room that was very comfortable and spacious.

The reason we made such a late choice on Tekweni is that we heard it was a very vibey place and that's what we were in the mood for after being cooped up in a bus for 8 hours, we were not disappointed... Every night there's people around the bar and the staff are very interactive, they even took us out one night to check out some more of the hidden night spots.

Located in the heart of Durban's more trendy area Morningside, you have a decent amount of restaurants and nightlife to choose from (Durban doesn't have a huge amount of areas to choose from other than Morningside when it comes to trendy areas)

Tekweni is great for the more adventurous traveller but if you want peace and quiet then I would recommend asking for a room towards the back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alecpooley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deganwy, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed here for several nights whilst backpacking and found this a very chiiled and comfortable place, the rooms were clean and comfy and the staff were loverly. Felt safe staying here and really enjoyed it! the chilled atmosphere was very comforting and it was easy to mingle with people here as there was always something to do be it a bbq, card came or just watching tv

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for the United Nations Climate Change conference and had a wonderful experience at the hostel. We were able to meet young people from all over the world attending the conference- so was great to be apart of that community, share experiences and learn about what was happening "behind the scenes".

The location Florida Road was very convenient, as restaurants, grocery stores, laundromats and bus stops were close by. Cafe Europia was my favourite place to go, with a variety of options, excellent coffee and wonderful staff we went here almost every morning for breakfast.

The hostel was clean and staff were helpful. We booked a four-bunk room for our group and shared bathroom and kitchen space with another room. The place was secure, had cameras at the entrance and we were able to lock our own room when going out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoNotCrossTracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This place really wasn't so great. It'd be good for a backpacker looking for the party, for a very rough place to crash, and willing to be up all night - it's right next to Durban's bars and restaurants (but be warned that Durban's nightlife is pretty damn tame for a large city). I was just overnighting here before flying out the next day and there was loud music from the hostel's bar and from the bar opposite until c. 5am. Room lacked some basics and bathrooms were quite a walk away. We arrived late and the staff were drunk and not very helpful. No breakfast but there's a kitchen, and a shop and cafes nearby. Only go if you're partying.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix8396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekwenibackpack, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Really sorry about that. Yes we are a party place but it appears this particular night got a bit carried away. Sorry about that we have addressed the main issues you brought up. Please try us again if you get the chance. We are pretty sure your experience will be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Tekweni is a very cheap place to stay if you are on a low budget and want to go to Durban for a holiday. It is truly a home away from home where you can just be yourself and relax. You can bring along your laptop because the Wi-Fi connection is for free. Although Tekweni is popular among international tourists you feel like a big happy family. What I also like is the regular Barbies they have (braai's) where you must only supply your own meat. If you want to visit the Moses Mabhida stadium and you feel like it, it's close enough to walk there. They are also close enough to the beach and if you want to gamble a bit is the Sun Coast Casino also close enough. There is now doubt that Tekweni will see me again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Durban sucks, 4 days Durban 3,5 days rain. But Tekweni was really really nice and it didn't get boring. Awesome stuff and I loved both pools :-) (Even though I've missed the Baz Bus :-P )
Everyone enjoy their stay!!!

Room Tip: Dorms down have got the better beds :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
1.8 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#2 of 79 in Durban
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#16 of 255 in Durban
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#6 of 255 in Durban
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambert House
Lambert House
#12 of 255 in Durban
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekweni Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Property: Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing